Autopsy Round 15 - Collingwood v St Kilda

beside the seaside

Premium Platinum
Jun 7, 2023
Shall we get a game day thread going?

Kinda pumped even though I'm pretty sure we'll get pumped.

Too many holes in too many areas at the moment for us, but keen to see Phillipou get back to some form in the second half of the year and excited for a Viking debut.

Should be a great atmosphere albeit thanks to the Pies home crowd. Really strange that the game is at Marvel actually, would have been a great one to have at the MCG.

Go Saints!

Sorry but the quicker we replace Byrnes the better .... he is too small for the position he plays .... no aerial presence .... a headless chook for most of the time
Needs to reinvent himself as an inside mid while we're light on for them or he's going to become your classic list clogger.

Look thought our boys tried. Ran out of steam which let the mistakes really impact late.

Have some questions of our defence and forwards. We cannot play a marking game with our current set up. We showed by playing the dirty ball that we had more luck and looked more potent.

Not too upset with the loss. Collingwood are ridiculously skilled.
Upset about the stupid decisions being made.
Whatever the medical team is doing. Byrnes being dropped then emergency then being played over trav.
Hill given licence to consistently be shit. Subbing keeler off when we need height.
Owens being misused in the forward line.
we really just shoot our selves in the foot before the games even begun

Honestly biggest downer about tonight is Pou. All the chat about him leading the way in pre-season and I reckon he's played maybe 2 games this year? Sucks. That on top of King needing a 3rd surgery again this year. Would love all of the under 25 lads out there getting games together.

There's enough signs, forward line lacking a genuine key tall, midfield lacking a burst goal kicking mid.

Just scraped in for the honourable loss in the end. Never really a threat of winning they held us a at bay with their class.

In the rare event Max King can ever make it on the park, Sharman will go another level. He's so clean but just copping the best defender each week.

They're a high quality side, it actually kind of went better than I expected.

Great signs from Keeler. Has improved out of sight. Also thought Sharman was really good tonight. And I liked Hammer down back.

We had some great ball movement and at one stage it looked like we had them on the ropes but they went up a gear and we couldn't go with them.

Concerns are some of our older guys are starting to look past it. Love Hill but his turnovers are killing us. Steele really poor. Marshall fought back but Cameron had a monster game.

The team just looks so disjointed in terms of leaders and youngsters etc. So much being left to so few, eg Wilkie who is just battling away, Macrae in the middle.

Think we're a bottom 3-4 side this year sadly.

Firstly, collingwood fans have to be the scumiest , filthy grubs I have seen at the footy in a long time.

Now I’ll start with negatives
- Pou I thought he was fine so very frustrating to not see him there.

Trav Sub
Like why Ross. Stop putting our young players as subs pls.

Our tackling and chasing. Some of our kicking into the 50 continues to be dreadful.

Marshal early

Umpiring just dumbfounds how marshal continuously gets wrestled and held but nothing.

Our goal kicking accuracy.

Our non use of guys like max hall , Darcy Wilson

Pros
Coopers skill level at ground level is serious.
Keeler is starting to show his skill now. Will only get better

Taru had moments
- still want us to develop him as a forward. Will better for it.

Idk, it felt like we weren’t that bad but also not good.

Anyways hate those grubs.

The effort was there and some of the younger guys stood up and gave us something to look forward to.

Unfortunately whenever we started to look like getting a run on, the momentum was killed by some simple errors, which would result in a goal for Collingwood. You only need to give good teams like the Pies a sniff and they'll get their belief back and play accordingly. It's all well and good if a team takes back the momentum but we are our own worst enemy at giving it away off our own bat.

Autopsy Round 15 - Collingwood v St Kilda