Autopsy Round 21, 2019: St.Kilda v Fremantle

Acres' hesitancy was on full display in the last. When Lonie had the shot from 50 and Acres was on the line, he just had to either sheppard or go for the mark. Instead he stood and watched Logue jump and get a hand on it. I get that he would've been wary of giving away a free but he had to try harder than that.

I get that we feel Acres should have done more here. But that miss is more on Lonie for me.

Acres is deep in the goal square and he’s got the sit. Logue is protecting the space in front and watching the ball nicely while running back to find Acres. Lonie HAD to kick that ball 15m to the backside of Logue and short. It would have been an easy lead out to space for Acres and Logue would not have been able to change his run and cover.

His kick in the end was more shot than pass and it was weak enough to give Logue every chance to make the play.

On the same issue how hard is it to have a super slow motion camera there that allows a HD frame by frame view of the ball crossing the goal plane. Honestly believe that the review was so quick because the fourth umpire just saw the ball blur and said ‘yeah, nah. Whatever the goal ump said.’ It’s an indictment on the AFL that they haven’t invested the money in getting the technology right.

Acres' hesitancy was on full display in the last. When Lonie had the shot from 50 and Acres was on the line, he just had to either sheppard or go for the mark. Instead he stood and watched Logue jump and get a hand on it. I get that he would've been wary of giving away a free but he had to try harder than that.

Ratts mentioned in his presser Acres was playing injured and was on the ground to give others a breather since we were already one down (Coff).

Carlisle had two touches til three qtr time. Nine in the last. That is pretty amazing. Shows both how redundant he was for most of the game and how crucial he was in the last.
He was certainly quiet, but we don’t know what his instructions were. Being the only genuine tall key back, he may have been asked to completely sacrifice his own output to focus on defending.

This was a classic space cadet Acres play. It's such a shame, he can be so much more but at this stage I'd be ok with him being traded for the right price.

GOAT status should officially be handed to Hunter from now on.

This was a classic space cadet Acres play. It's such a shame, he can be so much more but at this stage I'd be ok with him being traded for the right price.

GOAT status should officially be handed to Hunter from now on.

Specifically mentioned by Ratts. Acres was injured and was on the ground to allow other players to rotate off the bench.

I get that we feel Acres should have done more here. But that miss is more on Lonie for me.

Acres is deep in the goal square and he’s got the sit. Logue is protecting the space in front and watching the ball nicely while running back to find Acres. Lonie HAD to kick that ball 15m to the backside of Logue and short. It would have been an easy lead out to space for Acres and Logue would not have been able to change his run and cover.

His kick in the end was more shot than pass and it was weak enough to give Logue every chance to make the play.

On the same issue how hard is it to have a super slow motion camera there that allows a HD frame by frame view of the ball crossing the goal plane. Honestly believe that the review was so quick because the fourth umpire just saw the ball blur and said ‘yeah, nah. Whatever the goal ump said.’ It’s an indictment on the AFL that they haven’t invested the money in getting the technology right.
The decision by the the fourth umpire was right and the decision to go for goal by lonie was right. The work by acres to block was kids stuff.

Ratts mentioned Acres had a corky and played out the game to help with rotations. Yes he should have done better but maybe this time there was a reason.

Specifically mentioned by Ratts. Acres was injured and was on the ground to allow other players to rotate off the bench.
stands to reason ... he was out with a shoulder issue from the Crows game so if he had for arguments sake hurt that again there may have been a bit of self preservation going on... but judging from his acial expression i think he was just expecting Lonie to have that 15 feet in the air sailing over both their heads not floating across

58 to 18 hitouts... and I still wouldn’t change our Ruck setup in hindsight.

It really is a pretty pointless part of the game for the most part whereby we end can up with comfortably more inside 50’s despite a -40 hitout differential.
Most overrated stat in footy.

stands to reason ... he was out with a shoulder issue from the Crows game so if he had for arguments sake hurt that again there may have been a bit of self preservation going on... but judging from his acial expression i think he was just expecting Lonie to have that 15 feet in the air sailing over both their heads not floating across

I checked the presser again and Ratts said a corky. No mention of had bad but he did highlight it in the presser.

Pluggs your an umpire what was your thoughts on the Mundy non holding the ball ? i kinda feel he needed to be held a bit more solidly for it to be holding the ball as it wasnt technically a tackle but getting spun round 360 by it does mean he had heaps and heaps of time to dispose of it much more than normally given ...
Initially yelling at the ground thought it holding the ball. Watching after on the screen it was the correct decision. Carlisle didn’t really impact Mundy. Happy for that not to be paid or paid. 68/68 call.

yeah thats the one ..
i agree i would love the opportunity to learn off someone like Michael.. i think the issue i have with the comp is around the ownership of the non winning photo's and for you as a person who makes a living out of taking fantastic shots do you feel as if it under values the work you do somewhat ?

Haha, I wish I was good enough to make a living out of it.

I actually volunteer my time to the club (not only on games days) - hopefully providing something useful as a way of providing support.
The club has a great media team, but like every sporting club it needs help in various areas.

I occasionally sell the odd photo - but I only do that to cover the web hosting costs each year.
I don't get too worried personally about the ownership thing - good photos deserve an audience and this competition will no doubt provide us with some crackers.

Cheers,
Dave.

He got lost because mentally he switched off or his body didn't let hm do what he wanted to do? Only Blake knows the answer to that one.
he looked pretty disapointed in himself after it so i reckon the first option with maybe a bit of the second

Initially yelling at the ground thought it holding the ball. Watching after on the screen it was the correct decision. Carlisle didn’t really impact Mundy. Happy for that not to be paid or paid. 68/68 call.
i feel had Jake kept hold and fallen to ground that momentum would have taken Mundy down with him and thats a clear and easy free kick but i dunno if he keeps his feet its not reall a tackle ... that said he had it a long long time

Lonies indecision made it hard for Acres. Lonie either should have run in and made it a certainty or kick it to acres advantage.
Seriously Lonie is a weak kick as a forward and makes silly plays constantly.

Autopsy Round 21, 2019: St.Kilda v Fremantle