Autopsy Round 22 vs St Kilda - Roast/Toast/Changes

• Thread starter Thread starter DrMike

Heaps of sides play three tall forwards - Vickery and Griffiths play different roles.

Vickerys best spot is inside the forward 50 - leading from the goal square and rotating in the ruck.

Griffiths best spot is running up the flanks and wings and creating a link up option.

For those that don't know- Vickery, Griffiths, Ivan and Jack have only played 1 game together all year.

The debate isn't about Vickery vs Griffiths the debate is whether we take the punt against Sydney and play them all.

We are going into the game with everybody asking how are we going to contain their tall forwards, which seems to be the case.
Would be good to get them thinking about the tall defenders they are going to need to curtail our tall forwards.

Even hardwick was disspointed ffs. His facial expression said everything. Our 1st and 3rd quarters were great. 4th was abysmal. There is no such thing as taking your foot off the pedal because if you flirt with form it will bite you on the arse. I'll eat my words next week of we win but Jesus Christ its a long shot if that's how we are going to play. Consistency is the key. Easing off the week before we play the top side is stupid. All just my opinion of course.
You know what else is stupid? Playing your best footy against the Saints after the game was already won. All that means is the team would be more likely to get injured and be more tired/sore for next week.

Batch had a great game...well done on 50 games !
Houli is not soft
Ellis had a poor game but kept at it to slot through a great goal in the 4th
Miles is a machine

Next week...
IN Jackson, Dusty
Out Lennon ( not at AFL level yet )...Gordo
pressing...Lloyd, Ty
Gordo should get the buddy verdict, and if he does we need his run and we don't have it in spades.......

Selection will be fascinating .
Jack and Griff is working , but will it be enough?
Griffs inability to get involved much is a concern for me and I reckon they'll go with all 3.

Will be suspended plus Dusty and Jackson are better players
Dusty is better yes, but the incident is no different than Buddy so it should either be a not sufficient force or reprimand due to not bad record and an early plea. He brings run to us and is a point of difference we need that jacko doesn't have.

Let Sydney play a full strength side and then we hit them hard, Rance gives Franklin a corkie and sends the fear of god through the Sydney coaches box as to whether to sub him or not, can you imagine Franklin limping towards the bench, but most importantly we jump them at the start, teams assured of a home final don't really fight hard to get back into games that has no bearing on their ladder position in the last game of the year.

I'm toasting Brett Deledio for his efforts in this game and over the past couple of weeks. He's got the zip back, it seems. And that run and goal, just beautiful. Ben Griffiths certainly made his case to stay in the side ahead of Vickery, but if it's goals we need against the Swans (and it may be if Tippet starts getting over Chappy) Vickery might get the nod.

Heaps of sides play three tall forwards - Vickery and Griffiths play different roles.

Vickerys best spot is inside the forward 50 - leading from the goal square and rotating in the ruck.

Griffiths best spot is running up the flanks and wings and creating a link up option.

For those that don't know- Vickery, Griffiths, Ivan and Jack have only played 1 game together all year.

The debate isn't about Vickery vs Griffiths the debate is whether we take the punt against Sydney and play them all.
It all comes down to if we can keep the ball running out of our fwd line to easily.

Saturday twilight mate.
C7 will be ecstatic they chose the Geelong/Brisbane dead rubber as their sat night game and also foxtel have the riveting Nm/Melb blockbuster in their 7.40pm timeslot while the biggest game of the round is at the friendly time of 4.40pm, a time when most people will still be at suburban finals, in the shopping centres, in the local park, etc smart thinking AFL, did you just assume Richmond was going to be out of contention.

and the rest will be in Sydney packing out ANZ in yellow and black....tipping this one goes close to breaking the crowd record there...

I reckon Griff also provides an Oh crap matchup with Tippet if he gets off the leash.
This is a really good point I hadn't thought of. Bring in vickery and start with all three forward if Tippett runs riot send griff to him

As much as I have been one of his harshest critics I would be taking Ty into this game...but it all depends on the conditions on the night too. At the end of the day, we all pretty much know that its going to be won by who can spread the fastest for longer...;)

and the rest will be in Sydney packing out ANZ in yellow and black....tipping this one goes close to breaking the crowd record there...
Not so sure about that, only 36,000 rolled up to watch a 4th placed Sydney take on a 1st placed hawthorn in round 23 last year at ANZ.