Preview Round 3, 2025: Hawthorn v GWS Giants, 29 March 2025, 7.35pm @ UTAS Stadium

The Hawks have started the 2025 season strongly with three consecutive wins, but face challenges with injuries to important players, including Connor Macdonald, who has been sent for scans after suffering an ankle injury in Hawthorn's win over Carlton on Thursday Night Football to start Round 2. The Hawks will already miss James Worpel (ankle) and Jack Scrimshaw (concussion and suspension) from their best 22 to take on the Giants.

The Giants have started the 2025 season well, posting two wins from two games, demolishing Collingwood by 52 points at home and then squeaking by Melbourne at the MCG in Round 2 by three points.

Hawthorn has long enjoyed the fortress that is York Park (UTAS Stadium), with a 75% win-loss record at that venue (82 games played for 61 wins, one draw and 20 losses). The Hawks and Giants have met at York Park on four separate occasions for two Hawthorn wins, a draw and a Hawthorn loss.

The Giants have had the wood over Hawthorn recently, winning four of the last five games played between the two teams, with Hawthorn's only recent win coming in round 14, 2024 when the Hawks defeated the Giants by six points (12.13.85 to 12.7.79) at York Park. Hawthorn kicked poorly for goal in the first half, trailing the Giants by 19 points at the long break after kicking 2.7.19 in the first half. But a six goal to two third quarter saw Hawthorn take a three point lead into the final quarter. Both sides kicked four goals each in the last quarter, but Hawthorn had eight scoring shots (kicking 4.4) to the Giants' five (kicking 4.1) that proved the difference. Jack Gunston kicked three, Breust, Chol and Macdonald two each, while Calsher Dear, Jiath and Weddle kicked a goal each. Day had 26 disposals and laid 10 tackles, but Worpel got the three Brownlow votes with 20 disposals and eight tackles.

Preview the game here.

Note that the capacity of UTAS stadium has been reduced due to the upcoming works…

‘The stadium has a spectator capacity of 14,871 people, comprising a seated capacity of 13,106 and a standing capacity of 1,765.’

Capacity last year was around 19k and was previously 21k. Will probably be even lower new season.

Hopefully Hawks can sellout v GIANTS.

IN: Breust

OUT: MacDonald (Injured)

B: Amon, Barrass, Impey

HB: Sicily, Battle, Weddle

C: D’Ambrosio, Day, Jiath

HF: Hardwick, Gunston, Moore

F: Watson, Chol, Ginnivan

R: Meek, Newcombe, Nash

INT: Ward, Morrison, Maginness, MacKenzie, Breust (Sub)

EMG: Frost, Serong, Hustwaite

Breust would seem the obvious inclusion on a like for like basis. But if we are going to play Gunston next week I would resist that temptation. It would be a recipe for GWS to waltz the ball out of the back half, like they did in their comeback in our last encounter. I’d bring in an extra midfielder to help spread the load.

Out: MacDonald

In: Hustwaite

9 Day break will do wonders for the players, some sore bodies out there last night after three hard physical games in a row.

I was at the ground for the infamous draw between GWS and the Hawks. What a crazy game that one was!

Logical inclusion would be Bruest in for Macdonald but it's a question as to whether we can carry both Gunners and Bruest against such a hard running team in GWS?

We win this one and go 4-0 and that's a hell of a platform for a top four spot.

As others have said, 9 day break is much needed - albeit we are coming up against a side off a bye. Think it will be a typical Tassie arm-wrestle, they are a strong team. 4-0 would be amazing given we haven't even got out of second gear thus far.

This game is shaping up to be brilliant! Two teams with great ball movement and skill.
Tasmania a major factor.

From a Giants perspective we finally get to see our best forward line with Hogan + Stringer + Riccardi all available.

Barrass and Battle have been an epic pairing.

Can't wait.
Extremely relieved we only play GWS once and also pretty happy it's in Tas.

Our inability to deal with Hogan would have been a major factor in the Barrass acquisition, so I think over here we're all excited to see how it shakes out.

Gut feel is this is going to be tough to win.

Had three slog games with extended periods of pressure over 200. We have a 10-day break but GWS are coming off a bye. They play a similar run and gun style which can be difficult to stop if the intensity is lacking.

Injuries have started to accumulate now. Missing some important players while GWS will basically be at full strength with Hogan, Briggs, Riccardi and Stringer all returning. We've recruited defenders to stop the high ball but it will be coming in fast. Will be interesting to see what effect three talls + Stringer has on their forward pressure.

They have a strong team at stoppage which we've struggled to adjust to so far. We will need to play a tier above what we have to win this.

Grand Final preview!

Last 4 games vs GWS:

4 different venues (Manuka, Norwood, Tassie, Western Sydney)

Head to head:
Giants 3
Hawks 1

Final scores...
77 vs 75
85 vs 72
84 vs 82
85 vs 79

This is one of the best current match-ups in footy, and this game should be an absolute ripper! Not much separates these two teams.

I really liked how Gunston straightened the team up when he came on. I'd be tempted to start him and bring in either Breust as sub or whoever puts their hand up at Box Hill into the rotation. Bailey McDonald is one I'll have my eye on. Hust seems to be next in line going by emergency selections but I don't know how difficult it would be to integrate him into the team given he seems to need to be around the ball and likely would have his TOG% managed.

All comes down to our midfield. Need a big lift to match them. They have too much firepower up forward to stop if they are getting lots of opportunities.

Will also need to be smart when going forward. They are as damaging as us on the rebound.

Grand Final preview!

Last 4 games vs GWS:

4 different venues (Manuka, Norwood, Tassie, Western Sydney)

Head to head:
Giants 3
Hawks 1

Final scores...
77 vs 75
85 vs 72
84 vs 82
85 vs 79

This is one of the best current match-ups in footy, and this game should be an absolute ripper! Not much separates these two teams.
Gonna be a cracker !!!

Will be tough with Croc likely to miss. Would be tempted to bring in BMac or Mitchell because the Giants are the only other side who can match us for pace. Frosty is the other possible inclusion to help cover their tall forwards.

Barrass won’t allow Hogan to dominate like he has previously. Greene is a tough match-up and I reckon Dimma starts on him with Weddle forward. Nash needs to be attached to Tom Green as he is their barometer in the midfield. Finn to stick with Whitfield.

Bedford will likely tag Day or Newk and it would be good to see them use the tactic that Cripps did for passages last night where he manned up one of our mids to free up his team mate. Similar tactic to last night where we play around Taylor would be smart.

9 day break will be huge and with home ground advantage we are a good chance. They don’t have the small defenders to contain us if we win our share and apply enough pressure to their runners.

Morrison sub this week unless BMac plays

Dimma Barrass Impey
Sicily Battle Amon
Ward Newk Mass
Moore Gunston Ginni
Wiz Chol Finn
Meek Nash Day
CJ Weddle Frenchie Frost/Morrison
Sub: Morrison/BMac

Can you play both Breust and Gunner in the one fwd line?

I'm ok bringing in Breust as a sub for this.

I think we found out last year that it results in too little pressure.

The round 21 game we subbed off Dear and had both Bruest and Gunston on the ground. GWS (especially Whitfield) waltzed it out of defensive 50. It was a big contributor to their fourth quarter resurgence. This is a game where we must shut down their slingshot.

I’m not against Breust being the sub, but it means you have to sub out Gunston and I’m not sure you want to do that when he’s been really effective at limiting Taylor in the past. And an injury would result in the aforementioned lack of pressure.

With Box Hill playing tonight, and with the unfortunate injury to Croc, there is a bit to play for for a few players.
Punky is always an option to come in, but he has been playing some limited game time.
Someone like Serong who is always in contention to come in due to his consistency.
Frost didn't play last night and was the carryover emergency who won't play tonight. We all know what Frosty brings to the team.
For a Seamus Mitchell or Bailey MacDonald, a huge opportunity to perform tonight as both have speed to burn and could play a role in the backline, which allows Dimma to play forward for the majority of the game.
The other outside the square option could be someone like a Cody Anderson who brings huge tackling pressure and speed to the forward line.
If Croc is unable to get up for the game, it will be fascinating who replaces him as his role is so valuable to the team dynamics.

Not reading much into the doco but it looks like Sam is trying to find ways to get Hust in the team.

If he has a good outing I wonder if he gets the call up