Autopsy Round 3 - Saints v Lions

• Thread starter Thread starter Hubnester

This team is ridiculously unfit. I dont understand why we look this knackered by the 4th quarter every game in comparison to every other team? Especially with all the fluff pieces put out about our "running work". Collingwood, then GWS and now Brisbane again.

Also, im sick of the amount of one-note players we have. Garcia, Phillipou and Windy dont really offer anything at all around the ground
Wasn’t Garcia on Neale all game and had him on toast?

21 touches to Flanders after 23 last week. I'm not as hard on him than others here on his use, but he needs to find a lot more of it based on what was promised. Especially when Nas is copping a tag.

We gave up capital to get him in but seem to be praying his 2024 numbers were not just the result of playing next to rowell and anderson

I think for my own sanity I need to step away.

For all the effort of 3 quarters the last was a capitulation.

We are four weeks in. All four matches we've run out of gas. For all this talk of a running team we only had it for 3 quarters a game.

Our skills are substandard.

There seems to be a direction to move the ball on at any cost even if the bloke is standing still.

Teams know that if they keep close or there abouts in the first half that they have a good chance of a win.

Ryan can hold his head high.
TDK wasn't as bad as some make out but there are going to be rightly massive questions about that contract, as well as JSOS, Flanders has not shown anything that values him at our first round pick - plenty of time to go but early doors we've been bent over-

There are massive concerns. I think the GWS win papered over the cracks.

If we cant win one out of the next two the drums will become very very loud.

What do you mean by “one-note”?
They lack versatility. They occasionally go hard at a stoppage and come out with a handball, but we cant use them anywhere else. They suck at marking their man, providing an option at half forward, providing an option on the wing, etc

Well effort ok.

But sadly ball skills and decision making is probably only ok with 25% of our players...

If we keep up what we have shown in the first 4 games we are in for a world of hurt this season.

This team is ridiculously unfit. I dont understand why we look this knackered by the 4th quarter every game in comparison to every other team? Especially with all the fluff pieces put out about our "running work". Collingwood, then GWS and now Brisbane again.
It’s very clear that we’re putting a lot of our eggs into the first quarter basket (I mentioned this a few minutes ago, and Dunkley just said it in his current interview as well), but it means you really have to put the score on the board in that first quarter, or you’re super-vulnerable in the last.

Today we just missed too many shots early, when we had most of the play.

In some ways I’m happy in hindsight we butchered our early changes as I would have been Filthy watching Brisbane storm home if we had a decent lead.

Still a fairway off it. Seems like we may of stagnated abit.

Just seem to lack belief and panic when the heat comes.

Brisbane got on a roll and everything went there way, which we helped by dropping our heads.

I just don’t know how this team will ever be competitive if we have no confidence. Been like this for a decade.

Wasn’t Garcia on Neale all game and had him on toast?
just because Neale had 19 disposals doesnt mean Garcia had him on toast. Neale was the 2nd highest clearance player of the game with 8 clearances, our highest was 5...
He doesnt care about cheap touches, just the important ones. 8 clearances and 7 score involvements. "had him on toast"

And by the way, the right player to tag was will ashcroft....

Lack of ability to execute. We end up working harder than we should have to and then run out of gas.

I'm not as sure as others here that Pou is going to be a star.

Marshall was very poor. I don't care if the stats say otherwise.

I don't know if it's time to move past Wood.

Flanders was better early but I'm not sure he's the level of midfielder we needed.

Coops was great today. Same with Wilkie. I reckon Jsos is a good addition.

TDK seems to get first hands to the ball in most hitouts but it's not going our way.

I'm really disappointed to see the game finish that way. I'd hoped we'd closed the gap on the gun teams. Yes we were right in it for 3 and a bit quarters but it's not good enough.

I can definitely see some things to like but it's same shit different day with our composure.

Here's a plan - lets kick it high, long and slow to Higgo in a two on one situation - that should give opposition time to get another couple of defenders back to help out.

Cannot believe that 23 players don t know how to handball so its safe to assume that a two metre handball to another player in congestion is part of the game plan.

Said all along that Marshall/TDK would not work. About three weeks away from being proven to be absolutely right. Should have traded Marshall and picked up any tall fwd who knows how to lead.

Also, im sick of the amount of one-note players we have. Garcia, Phillipou and Windy dont really offer anything at all around the ground
A bit harsh mate lol
Neale ashcrofts fletcher berry experienced premiership players first rd dp's against young kids who havent plyed heaps of footy together.its disapointing to loose but they had a fair dinkum crack and were beaten by a better team at this stage .

Can’t believe we have 1.6 tied to TDK.

I don’t care if we had the money to spend.

That was straight malpractice.
I tried to tell that to everyone here and, for the most part, I got relentlessly shouted down by the troupe of fanboys frothing at the mouth because an A-Grader finally chose St Kilda.

Except as we've found out, he's not an A-Grader.

Far from it.

We aren’t far off it. Pies will play finals, Brisbane will play finals.

We matched with both teams, and if we played with a little less skill errors - we win both games.

Once again, had all the chances to win the game - but didn’t take them.

It suggests to me that the gameplan is indeed working, it’s just the players skill issues around goal which is killing us.

And I know it’s sour grapes, but there is a major issue with the umpires. Even the commentators couldn’t believe how bad they were.

A bit harsh mate lol
Neale ashcrofts fletcher berry experienced premiership players first rd dp's against young kids who havent plyed heaps of footy together.its disapointing to loose but they had a fair dinkum crack and were beaten by a better team at this stage .
yeah it is i guess. but we were like this against melbourne too...

Our midfield is awful.
Marshall and Howard are beyond cooked. SLOW
TDK isn’t fit, surely.
Our skills are pathetic. Have been for as long as I can remember.

just because Neale had 19 disposals doesnt mean Garcia had him on toast. Neale was the 2nd highest clearance player of the game with 8 clearances, our highest was 5...
He doesnt care about cheap touches, just the important ones. 8 clearances and 7 score involvements. "had him on toast"

And by the way, the right player to tag was will ashcroft....
Agree to disagree.
Young inexperienced kid takes on one of the most elite players in recent history and keeps him quiet for 75% of the game.
Take that every day