From the GFC website...

King looks forward
Richie Pace
gfc.com.au
10:42:15 AM Tue 15 April, 2003

http://gfc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=85218

Geelong captain Steven King has flagged a possible move up forward and the introduction of another ruckman as the Cats prepare to take on Melbourne this Saturday at Skilled Stadium.

058652aw.jpg

King, who has shouldered the ruck load virtually on his own over the first three weeks of the season said that he would welcome the opportunity to spend time up forward as another tall option.

"For the team’s benefit it is better sometimes to go forward and have a spell to freshen up and have more influence when I do go back there," he said.

"I’d like to spend time up forward as well and try to provide an option to kick some goals as well. At the end of the day it is whatever the match committee decides. I am just happy to do my part."

King said that while opponents have thrown different match ups his way in an attempt to wear him down, he has been able to see out games.

"From a fitness point of view I don’t go too badly aerobically so I try to run the game out," he said.

As for the possibility of another ruckman getting the call for this week’s match against the Demons, King said it all depends on how the match committee view the match ups and the form of players such as Peter Street and Paul Chambers who are pushing for selection.

"It is something for the match committee to have a look at," King said.

"Providing one of the two boys (in the VFL) puts their hand up, they will come under consideration, especially this week with White and Jolly. It depends on the match ups and how I feel I can shoulder the responsibility and who I am coming up against each week. With White and Jolly, they are good ruckman so it’s going to be tough again this week."

Originally posted by ScouseCat
Mitchell White isn't up to it anymore mate, he could hardly keep up with the pace of the game on the weekend, was too slow and while he was on the ground, the Collingwood defence were able to run off him. Add to that he can't run out a whole game which makes it very hard to justify his place in the side.

Yeah, your right with most things, but if we drop him who is to play up forward. At least with White up there we know we have someone who can play up forward.

BTW, the limited time Mitch was on the ground he had his opponent run off him, well so did Kingsley and Mooney and Riccardi's opponents. Face it, it is a weakness of our forward line and a laziness where they let their opponent do what they wish.

I believe Hunt would be a worthy inclusion to the senior side. He has shown a great deal of promise in the VFL team, and a spot in the AFL side wouldn't be too far off.

Foster played a fair game too, but I believe he needs a few more in the VFL before being recalled.

Clarke was unlucky to be dropped, and showed his form in the VFL on Sunday, and would be back in contention for a recall.

McCarthy showed he's getting better, and took great pack marks in the wet, windy, and wild conditions at Bendigo. He is in good form.

Ben Finnin did some good things. He threw his body at the ball to stop his opponent getting easy goals. Those little things didn't go un-noticed. He does a good job on his opponents down back, sticks to them well, but maybe needs to bulk up a little more.

Peter Street was pretty close to best on ground for Geelong. He had a dominant game in the ruck, and won most of the day. Still not totally sure he's up to AFL standard, but another shot at the big time will do him well, as he has to break in eventually.

I reckon Grigic should be removed from the team, but maybe he has been given an ultimatum; perform in 6 weeks, or you're gone!

Go Cats!! :)
CatAttack

Originally posted by catattack
I believe Hunt would be a worthy inclusion to the senior side. He has shown a great deal of promise in the VFL team, and a spot in the AFL side wouldn't be too far off.

Clarke was unlucky to be dropped, and showed his form in the VFL on Sunday, and would be back in contention for a recall.

McCarthy showed he's getting better, and took great pack marks in the wet, windy, and wild conditions at Bendigo. He is in good form.

Peter Street was pretty close to best on ground for Geelong. He had a dominant game in the ruck, and won most of the day. Still not totally sure he's up to AFL standard, but another shot at the big time will do him well, as he has to break in eventually.

I think Hunt, Clarke, McCarthy, Street and Bartel will come under strong consideration in the coming weeks. How did Bartel play in the VFL on the weekend, Catattack??

Bartel will come under strong consideration in the coming weeks. How did Bartel play in the VFL on the weekend, Catattack??
I did actually miss Bartel in my report before. He was amongst one of the best for us. Did his job as he always does, and will be placed on the selection table. The only problem would be that our midfield is quite packed with youngsters, and there isn't a place for him. He could be played off the bench.

Go Cats!! :)
catattack

Bartel is a lot better than players like Gardner. Is it starting to irratate you that these kids don't even have to earn a game.

Originally posted by raiderman00
Bartel is a lot better than players like Gardner. Is it starting to irratate you that these kids don't even have to earn a game.

Charlie Gardiner had played well during the pre-season and deserved his opportunity in the seniors.

James Bartel picked up an injury in the pre-season which held him back. I would expect that when he is fit, he will be picked in the side.

Originally posted by raiderman00

Bartel and Gardiner and completely different players. Bartel might have a case for getting a game ahead of a couple of midfielders, but to compare him to Charlie is folly.

James Bartel picked up an injury in the pre-season which held him back. I would expect that when he is fit, he will be picked in the side.
Bartel was named emergency on the weekend, and played half the games (11 games) last season.

Has been pretty consistent in the VFL, and isn't too far away from selection. Being an emergency has proved that. Another one or two solid displays in the VFL will pretty much have him in the team.

Geelong have included Bartel, Hunt, Foster and Clarke for Saturday's game against Melbourne. Noone has been dropped from the squad as yet.

I wouldn't put too much faith in that squad, more then likely we handed in a squad of 30-32 and then Eddie merely picked a team from that.

Originally posted by phatandphreaky
I wouldn't put too much faith in that squad, more then likely we handed in a squad of 30-32 and then Eddie merely picked a team from that.

And bearing that in mind, that was an unchanged side from the Collingwood game. I think Thompson would be an absolute fool if he wasn't bound to inject some fresh, hungry faces into the lineup.

Does anyone out there believe that will be the lineup, again or otherwise? I certainly dont.

What we saw tonight was just something to meet deadline for The Footy Show staff (and not just Eddie), and we won't know anything definitive until the normal unveiling time of 7 p.m. Thursday night.

Originally posted by you_idiot
inject some fresh, hungry faces into the lineup.

Do we have any?

I hope that the likes of Bartel, Playfair and Foster can make an impact, but i ain't holding my breath.

Originally posted by phatandphreaky
Do we have any?

I hope that the likes of Bartel, Playfair and Foster can make an impact, but i ain't holding my breath.

Those would be the ones most likely.

Even at this rate, Peter Street should get a run-out (as sarcastic as that sounds)-- against Melbourne, I think we need as many "talls" in the squad as possible.

I reckon Big Ben might have a big game this weekend. Hope so anyway.

Come on Cats!

The only way is UP!!!!

Originally posted by gocats
I reckon Big Ben might have a big game this weekend. Hope so anyway.

With all the flak that he's copped this week in the aftermath of the Collingwood game, I hope he has a big game. That would get a monkey off his back, in the size of a gorilla, that is.

But then again, his on-field confidence is so low right now, he's in danger of bringing other players down with him, IMHO. In his current form, Ben Graham's presence is hurting the cause of the team rather than helping it.

I said this on the "Ben Graham" thread on the AFL forum here, but it bears repeating... I would much rather see Ben go down to the reserves for at least a fortnight, get his form and his confidence back in the 2's, and then bring him back when he shows that he can play better. Just my opinion, folks...

***THE TEAMS***

These are the official teams, from the afl.com.au site...

http://afl.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=86077

GEELONG
B: Grgic, Scarlett, Sanderson
HB: D. Johnson, Graham, Milburn
C: Riccardi, Enright, Rahilly
HF: Rooke, Mooney, Chapman
F: Ablett, Kingsley, Clarke
FOLL: King, Corey, Ling
I/C: Slade, Bartel, Kelly, Wojcinski
EMG: Hunt, Gardiner, Chambers
IN: Bartel, Rahilly, Slade, Clarke
OUT: Gardiner, S.Johnson, Spriggs, White

MELBOURNE
B: Brown, Ferguson, Carroll
HB: Williams, Bizzell, Ward
C: Heffernan, Johnstone, Walsh
HF: Yze, Robertson, Bruce
F: Green, Neitz, McDonald
FOLL: White, Whelan, Godfrey
I/C: Rigoni, Jolly, Leoncelli, Vardy
EMG: Thompson, Moorcroft, Smith
IN: Vardy, Carroll
OUT: Armstrong (bruised shoulder), Smith
NEW: Carroll (Claremont)

Re: ***THE TEAMS***

Originally posted by you_idiot
GEELONG
B: Grgic, Scarlett, Sanderson
HB: D. Johnson, Graham, Milburn
C: Riccardi, Enright, Rahilly
HF: Rooke, Mooney, Chapman
F: Ablett, Kingsley, Clarke
FOLL: King, Corey, Ling
I/C: Slade, Bartel, Kelly, Wojcinski
EMG: Hunt, Gardiner, Chambers
IN: Bartel, Rahilly, Slade, Clarke
OUT: Gardiner, S.Johnson, Spriggs, White

Good to see James Bartel back in the side this week. Hopefully, JB will be able to play well and make a difference in the midfield.

Originally posted by Catman
Steven King will be burnt out by Round 9 because they refuse to bring in some backup for him.

ND said today that he expects Chambers to come in for Rahilly who hasn't trained so maybe your prayers will be answered.

As for the outcome, I have no idea if we will win. Who knows which team will turn up. History says the pathetic one but I hope we can break the hoodoo. I am glad White was dropped and Grgic retained:D. If they line up like that side, I think we will match up pretty well with the cats. We've got Williams, Ward, Walsh and Brown for the small forwards, White and Jolly for King and a forwardline that is functioning very well so on form we should win. But I wouldn't bet a cent on it.
Is there any chance Graham will move forward?