Round 6: Geelong vs Brisbane

• Thread starter Thread starter ScouseCat

S

ScouseCat

After a very disappointing loss against St Kilda, Geelong face the daunting task of playing the Brisbane Lions at Skilled Stadium on Sunday.

Brisbane are on top of the ladder with 4 wins and a draw from their first 5 games, and should start red hot favourites against the bottom of the ladder Cats.

Brisbane has had the edge over Geelong in recent times. In fact, the Cats haven't beaten Brisbane in a game for premiership points since 1995 when Brisbane were still known as the Bears.

Joel Corey will be one to watch on the weekend. Corey was taken out by Michael Voss in the round 21 game last year and will be keen to put in a good performance against the best midfield in the competition.

James Kelly will also be one to look out for on the weekend. Kelly returned to form against the Saunts after a fairly quiet start to the season, so lets hope he can continue on from that and show why he was one of the AFL's most promising young players in 2002.

Hopefully we'll regain the services of Tom Harley for this game. (I'll keep saying this until he comes back!)

It would take an extremely brave Geelong supporter to tip the Cats with any confidence in this game. Brisbane are clearly the best side in the competition and if they play to their potential, they should win quite easily. However, football is a funny game sometimes and you just never know what can happen.

Go Cats!!

Originally posted by JUBJUB
Its because 9 are showing the Geelong thrashing live against the gate

Geelong agreed to that?

If we did, there'd want to have been a sizeable payoff included.

Honestly, how many Melbourne based supporters are going to make the long trip down the highway when they can prop up in front of the TV?

Originally posted by Catman
Brisbane (should) win by about 140pts but they will ease right off and allow us to get some soft goals. Brisbane by about 80-100pts.

On paper, Brisbane should beat Geelong by the best part of 100 points on Sunday, especially when you look at the quality of players in their side. However, recent history shows that once the Lions get about 10 goals in front, they ease off.

I was talking to a Brisbane mate of mine here at work and he told me that Brisbane are instructed to do this.... they still stick to their gameplan but just dont go as hard once the game is in their control.

They are that good that they can switch on and off whenever they want.

Originally posted by ScouseCat
They are that good that they can switch on and off whenever they want.

I miss the days when we could do that, lead by 12 goals and ease up, knowing we had the quality of players like Ablett, Brownless, Bairstow, Couch, Hocking, etc to fire us up when needed.

Those were the days.

Originally posted by JUBJUB
Its because 9 are showing the Geelong thrashing live against the gate,followed at 3.15pm by live coverage of the Frockers v Essendon in Perth.

First game from Perth into Melbourne since 2001.

Cameron Ling was suspended tonight by the AFL Tribunal for one week despite him saying he wasn't guilty and the AFL having no video evidence of the incident with Nick Riewoldt.

Ah what the heck, they probably did Ling a favour.

Would you endorse the blooding of rookies in this game? I reckon just leave the team as it is. i wouldn't like to see Playfair line up against Jonathan Brown this week, might be a bad move.

replace the suspended ling with Hunt would be my move. Or Steven Johnson if he is fit. Those two stood out from the first half of the VFL match

Originally posted by Mattster
Would you endorse the blooding of rookies in this game? I reckon just leave the team as it is. i wouldn't like to see Playfair line up against Jonathan Brown this week, might be a bad move.

replace the suspended ling with Hunt would be my move. Or Steven Johnson if he is fit. Those two stood out from the first half of the VFL match

I'd promote some of the players, young and otherwise, who have done well enough in the VFL to warrant a call-up. And youngsters like Finnin, Playfair, and others-- yes, let's see how they do against the cream of AFL.

Mark Thompson should make no fewer than five changes for this game, to drop those whose form isn't up to snuff, and promote those who deserve it. This team needs some fresh, hungry blood, no doubt about it. But whether Thompson actually does go ahead and blood some more players is another matter altogether.

I could be mistaken about this, but didn't he say he was going to stick with the same 22 players against Brisbane? In other words, the same 22 players that quit together as a unit against St. Kilda in the final term when the game was reasonably close?

If that's the case, please make some changes, Thompson... for the love of god. :rolleyes:

Hunt for Ling sounds like a reasonable option, too, IMO.

All this, bear in mind, is to keep the score as close as possible. That would be a moral victory. However, the highest of moral victories would see Geelong losing the game anywhere between 1-30 points.

As much as I'd prefer to be optimistic, I can't see us winning. I'll say Brisbane by 30, that would be the next best thing.

Here's what Thompson said afterwards on Sunday... I'm only re-printing this for the sheer audacity of his statements. :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

http://gfc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=88127

Cats will not swing the axe on experience

Matt Burgan
afl.com.au
6:44:32 PM
Sun 27 April, 2003

Geelong coach Mark Thompson says he will be sticking with his core group of senior players - particularly with the relative youth of the rest of the side - despite the Cats’ 45-point loss to St Kilda at Telstra Dome on Sunday.

Thompson believes he won’t have to make the tough call on some of his senior players, despite the Cats winning just one game from the opening five rounds.

“No I wouldn’t of thought so, because they’re the only ones I’ve got left – the senior players,” Thompson said.

“They just need to play well – that’s all we need.”

“How I do that is the art of coaching and that’s my job.”

Thompson admitted he had spoken to his leadership group after the loss, as it was important to address them for the immediate future of the club.

“I just wanted to have a chat to them, because they’re (the senior group) a fairly important part of where we go and how we handle this and what happens from here in the future,” Thompson said.

“There’s a lot of direction that’s got to be given to a lot of boys and it’s firstly got to come from them (the senior group) and they’ve got a big part to play.”

When asked about the performance of former skipper and oft-maligned key tall Ben Graham, Thompson said: “He’s just had another downer. He got goals kicked on him.”

“I don’t know how long I had him off for – a quarter or something … he had a few goals kicked on him.”

Thompson also spoke about key forwards Kent Kingsley and Cameron Mooney, who both had a day to forget, although he added praise for some of his smaller forwards.

“You’d expect Kent Kingsley to play more of a role and Cam (Mooney) will eventually get it right. If he’s up and about and in form, he’ll be alright for us, but we’ve just got to get that to happen pretty quickly,” Thompson said.

“There’s not much else we can do, he (Mooney) declared himself fit and when he trained he looked alright, but he just didn’t mark the ball inside 50.”

“I think (Gary) Ablett will be a forward for a while and I think (Paul) Chapman has shown he can play forward and (Peter) Riccardi kicked a few goals there last year.”

However, Thompson was optimistic about several of his younger charges, including Corey Enright, Joel Corey, Cameron Ling and James Kelly.

“I thought he’s (Enright) had a couple of pretty good games and I think Joel Corey’s been fantastic and Cameron Ling’s been fantastic.”

“I thought Kelly today was good and there are a whole group of young boys that are playing pretty good footy.”

But Thompson was adamant about his thoughts on St Kilda’s exciting group of youngsters, when he said: “I think the whole competition’s envious of the quality on St Kilda’s list.”

Might as well make some changes, Bomber, even if it's for a game or two... you have absolutely nothing to lose...

[Bluey] I took the italics off the article - italics make text harder to read. [/Bluey]

Originally posted by you_idiot
All this, bear in mind, is to keep the score as close as possible. That would be a moral victory. However, the highest of moral victories would see Geelong losing the game anywhere between 1-30 points.

As much as I'd prefer to be optimistic, I can't see us winning. I'll say Brisbane by 30, that would be the next best thing.

I have an idea.... lets give the Lions players some of those vitamins before the game. That should even things up a bit. :p

You mean, the ones made by Pan Pharmaceuticals? :eek:

I'm not on any vitamins... just the damned painkillers. :(

Originally posted by you_idiot
You mean, the ones made by Pan Pharmaceuticals? :eek:

Yep, they are the ones!! :p

Seriously though, Geelong need to get back to basics... develop a gamplan and team rules and start learning how to stick to them no matter what. As Mark Thompson said, we have a lot of young players who need a lot of guidence and this would be a very good place to start.

Geelong line up:

Here is the side to take on the might of Brisbane. Note the Sunday game, there are 7 interchange players.

GEELONG
B: Wojcinski, Scarlett, Sanderson,
HB: D. Johnson, Rooke, Milburn,
C: Hunt, Enright, Kelly,
HF: S. Johnson, Grgic, Chapman,
F: Ablett, Riccardi, Chambers,
FOLL: King, Corey, Bartel,
I/C: (from): Slade, Kingsley, Mooney, Graham, McCarthy, Harley, Clarke.
IN: S. Johnson, Harley, McCarthy, Hunt,
OUT: Ling (Suspended)

Re: Geelong line up:

GEELONG

I/C: (from): Slade, Kingsley, Mooney, Graham, McCarthy, Harley, Clarke.

I reckon the bench might be Slade [the only definite],Kingsley,Mooney,Graham.

Harley needs a run in the magoo's & McCarthy did bugger all last week to earn a recall.

Great to see Josh Hunt back.Now I'll bet he starts on the bench this week.