Adelaide Utd,Liverpool, WWT Eagles.
Given that Biglands and Johnson are fit

I think we should make the following changes

In Johnson Biglands Gallagher

Out Burton Fitzgerald and Marsh

Whilst Marsh played well it wouldn't be fair to drop Clarke who has been great in his two games back.

Burton could be unfit anyway but I think he has been pretty poor for a lot of the season. A run with the Eagles may just liven him up a bit.

Fitzy is woefully out of form and hasn't done at thing since the swans game.

James Gallager has been on fire in teh SANFL and I think he is a great AFL player as his disposal is very good. He was a real find last year and can play in the wing or in a forward role.

Other matters

Doughty has been fantastic this year. I previously didn't rate him as a player at all and have therefore been very pleasantly suprised this year.

Matthew Bode is a real ball winner. He spends time on teh bench yet still managed 20 possessions on Saturday night. Its only because our midfield has been so good that he can't get a full game

Smart and Bickley - club legends - play on one more year at least for both of these two

Massie -going to be a very good player for us I reckon - great strength awareness and disposal.

Disapointments

Fitzy and Schell have not given us a lot and need to lift their game. Best to look long term in this regard though and not expect too much

Ricciuto - some will not agree with this I know but I think he has been pretty poor so far this year

Satruday night was a prime example

Whislt he got a bit of teh footy -his disposal was atrocious and he does not seem to be his old self. Handballing directly to the opposition when he could have kicked is not a Roo trait normally.

As captain I think he needs to pull his finger out.

Thoughts anyone?

Can't disagree with your ins & outs. I would have played Marsh as a backman if we needed more tall defenders if we were playing say a Collingwood, but no need this week against the Roos.

Burton could be unfit anyway but I think he has been pretty poor for a lot of the season. A run with the Eagles may just liven him up a bit.
Totally agree. I posted last week that I would have started him on the bench to give him a good kick up the arse. With other players performing (eg. Massie, Bode & Nelson, & Gallagher for Norwood), he needs to go back to the Eagles to find some form. He is playing dumb football at the moment- eg. when he played on around the mark & got caught - Burton thinking he is McLeod when he clearly isn't!

Fitzy is woefully out of form and hasn't done at thing since the swans game.
I mentioned last week that he is badly lacking confidence & should be dropped. He needs to rediscover how to mark the ball for South. At least Schell provided a leading option, & if he kicked straight & had leads honoured would have kicked a few.

Doughty has been fantastic this year. I previously didn't rate him as a player at all and have therefore been very pleasantly suprised this year.
I completely concur - I wondered what the heck the coaching staff saw in him before this year. IMO, the find of the year - just in front of Johncock.

Smart and Bickley - club legends - play on one more year at least for both of these two
Both are arguably having their best seasons. Bickley seems to be getting under the guards of the opposition concentrating on our gun midfielders. Smart seems to be enjoying the challenge of playing on the oppositions best forwards (BTW JLo is going to be a great player).

Massie -going to be a very good player for us I reckon - great strength awareness and disposal.
Yeahh, I would like to see him get more game time, even if it means a few rotations of the bench. Could be a possible matchup for Pickett this week.

Ricciuto - some will not agree with this I know but I think he has been pretty poor so far this year
On the whole has had a disappointing year, culminating with the showdown. I thought his effort levels were up against Freo, but still nowhere near his best. Maybe he is still recovering from his injury (looks a bit propy at times), but did the team things across HF in the 2nd half. With Sugar returning, I would like to see him spend more time isolated one out @ FF. Goodwin has been more of a disappointment for me, as he has only played one decent game.

A few randon responses.

Bickley is getting better and better. His ability to break tackles and in particular find options up field is the best it's ever been.

Burton is frustrating me no end. He always looks likes producing champagne and keeps coming up with Tooheys light. Having said that our tall forwards as a whole are not living up to promises. Throw Fitzy back to the SANFL for a wakeup. Burto not far behind.

I don't mind Roo's form. He does a lot of the 1%'ers. If he could occasionally pull out a few 99%'ers then my joy would be complete.

Id give Fitzy one more chance, He did give off a couple of goal; and surely he needs more rossin on his hands:mad:
While we are winning, Id stick with him.

Drop Burton - Totally agree, hes not consistent, you never know if youve got him or not.

Keep Marsh, hes played OK particularly last week and showed mobility at ground level I didnt know he had

Ricciuto, Needs to lead by example ala the Carlton Game last year.

Bickley is like old Portpirie getting better by the year:D

Smart just loves the big game opponents and is playing some good running footy

I agree with most of what's been said so far.

I think it might also be an idea to give Burton more time in the goalsquare...I know he wouldn't be effective there all the time, but he has played some great footy in that position and could offer a bit more there than we're getting now....just for a quarter or two here and there...because his disposal in the midfield isn't the best, I reckon he'd be more dangerous deep in the forward 50. Or maybe play him in the Jars role of starting as a midfielder then drifting down forward...I dunno, but it might be worth it considering what he's been producing now.

Overall, so far, so good....another tough test this week when we encounter some angry Kangaroos...

Originally posted by ant
Overall, so far, so good....another tough test this week when we encounter some angry Kangaroos... [/B]

Hope you don't mind me popping in to discuss the game?

We've had some good battles and are buiding a mini rivalry. We've been off the boil the past few weeks, so I hope that you're right ant. Selection could be interesting this week with many expecting Pagan to make an example of one (or three) of the senior players.

Bickley would be one of my favourite opposition players and his form has been exceptional this year. The midfield will have a huge influence at Manuka, so our guys will want to pull their finger out. If they do, it should be close game. I don't want to think about the other option!

North have been doing well in the ruck with Spider and Porter (midfield haven't capitalised), so Clarke will need to have a big one. Who's his back up?
Sav hasn't been setting the world on fire, but may be due for a big game. Who will get the job?

Does anyone else think it might be an idea to run Marsh in the position that Fitzy has been playing and drop Fitzy back to the SANFL for a couple of games. Marsh has done nothing wrong in the last couple of games and deserves a spot in the team.

Plus if he doesn't work out there we could always put him in the ruck and put Biglands or Clark forward (Clark could take a few pack screamers :D ).

Garth

Definitely worth giving Marsh a go up forward, remember in 99 or 2000 in Sydney? He kicked 3 or 4 and was more than useful.Fitzy needs to go back to the SANFL for a week or 2.

Originally posted by sapaul
Definitely worth giving Marsh a go up forward, remember in 99 or 2000 in Sydney? He kicked 3 or 4 and was more than useful.Fitzy needs to go back to the SANFL for a week or 2.

Yes his only good game apart from last week

Its worth a try though as he can't be any worse than Fitzy

I still say Ottens took him to the cleaners against Richmond.

Ben Marsh, gee how often in the past has he promised so much & delivered so little, it's like having a few $ on a horse that always doe's enough to keep you interesed & back it next time,

The one who could miss out this week & who does not deserve to might be Ben Nelson, but we have to make way for Biglands & Johnson so some one is going to be unlucky,

Brett Burton, must be coming close to a return to the sanfl 1 more chance, same for Ryan Fitzgerald.

tough one guys!

Stevo for Club Champion in 2002!

Don't drop the Birdman, while not being outstanding I think is season has been ok. I think we expect him to take high flying marks every week but it just won't happen. Yes he likes to play on but he has always done that. He got caught a couple of times but I reckon he is coming good.

Ryan is doing well even though he is not really kicking the goals like we want. His work once the ball hits the ground is great, he tackles and chases. Daniel needs some more time to develop and gain confidence. With these two and Stevo in the forward lines we are pushing the oppositions defence because it is hard to match up on such a tall forward line and with welshy crumbing I am reasonably happy with the way things are going. They all need to take some marks, no doubt about that and Daniel needs to practise his kicking for goal but I think we should keep these two boys in.

Roo has been disapointing but I reckon a big one is just round the corner. Smart and Bicks should defiantely play on next year.

I would drop Marsh for Biglands and Nelson for Johnson. They would be the only two changes I would make. Why change a winning side just for the hell of it? If it aint broke don't fix it!

go Crows in 2002!

k
xx

Re: tough one guys!

Originally posted by MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
Stevo for Club Champion in 2002!

Don't drop the Birdman, while not being outstanding I think is season has been ok. I think we expect him to take high flying marks every week but it just won't happen. Yes he likes to play on but he has always done that. He got caught a couple of times but I reckon he is coming good.

Ryan is doing well even though he is not really kicking the goals like we want. His work once the ball hits the ground is great, he tackles and chases. Daniel needs some more time to develop and gain confidence. With these two and Stevo in the forward lines we are pushing the oppositions defence because it is hard to match up on such a tall forward line and with welshy crumbing I am reasonably happy with the way things are going. They all need to take some marks, no doubt about that and Daniel needs to practise his kicking for goal but I think we should keep these two boys in.

Roo has been disapointing but I reckon a big one is just round the corner. Smart and Bicks should defiantely play on next year.

I would drop Marsh for Biglands and Nelson for Johnson. They would be the only two changes I would make. Why change a winning side just for the hell of it? If it aint broke don't fix it!

go Crows in 2002!

k
xx

You fix the broken parts and leave the good parts when your car gets you where you want to go but you could have got there faster and in more comfort

I think you are being very generous to a number of players.

I don't expect Burton to take screamers - just to get a few kicks.

What has Nelson done wrong?

Maybe Birdman will be better at the goalfront. If Fitzy is dropped then he or Marsh would slot in well. Dont forget Stiffy is an ace out of the goalsquare or a pocket too!

I get nervous when we travel into the unknown { Remember the Tassie jaunt? }

North will be no push over but I reckon Manuka could pose goal kicking challenges.

Crows by 17 Points ;)

changes aren't necessary!

Stevo for club champion in 2002

I know I look through rose coloured glasses sometimes.

I just don't think we need to make 4 or 5 changes just for the sake of it. Nelson has done nothing wrong but Kane is coming back and so I think he should be the one to be dropped. If he goes back and plays full games with sturt he will then push for re-selection if the opportunity through injury arises. Same with Marsh, he has done reasonably well in the games he has played but with Biglands coming back he should be dropped back to west. I still don't think dropping, fitzy, schell & burton will do us any good. I see only harm coming from it because you are taking away potential goal kickers. It is only my opinion and I guess at the end of the day the selection commitee will make the tough choices!

At the end of they day all I really care about it is winning games (and of course that Stevo is playing!).

k
xx

The midfield will have a huge influence at Manuka, so our guys will want to pull their finger out.
Dingster - How do you see the midfield matching up? Perhaps, Simpson v Riccuito, Harvey v McLeod, Stevens v Goodwin. Johnson & Doughty may play off the wings with Bickley & Edwards part of the midfield rotation.

North have been doing well in the ruck with Spider and Porter (midfield haven't capitalised), so Clarke will need to have a big one. Who's his back up?
Biglands was our number 1 ruckman before getting injured, but returns this week. As he hasn't played for a couple of weeks, I expect him & Clarke to share the load about 50/50.

Just on the news tonight...

Smart left training early with a bad case of gastro.

Crows training today focused on competitive/physical work. They're expecting the Roos to come out breathing fire...

The Roos played half an internal trial tonight. David King played well. Should be interesting to see what the North selectors do this week.

Jerome

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin

Dingster - How do you see the midfield matching up? Perhaps, Simpson v Riccuito, Harvey v McLeod, Stevens v Goodwin. Johnson & Doughty may play off the wings with Bickley & Edwards part of the midfield rotation.

Tough one and Pagan rotates them constantly. Harvey is too loose for McLeod, probably Simmo who has been in pretty good nick. Bickley may get the job on Harves and try to reduce his effectiveness. Harves struggled badly last week, but appears to enjoy playing against SA teams from memory.

The rest is a lottery. We're half expecting Harris or Smith (both?) to come in for a name player. Both have been knocking on the door and we have been murdered two weeks in a row in the middle. Cochrane may play in the middle and possibly pick up Johnson. He's just come back from injury (right?), but worries the hell out of me. He's one that likes playing against us and sneaks under our guard.

We've got a strong record at Manuka, so despite our recent form, are probably an even money bet.

Originally posted by Dingster
Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin

Tough one and Pagan rotates them constantly. Harvey is too loose for McLeod, probably Simmo who has been in pretty good nick. Bickley may get the job on Harves and try to reduce his effectiveness. Harves struggled badly last week, but appears to enjoy playing against SA teams from memory.

The rest is a lottery. We're half expecting Harris or Smith (both?) to come in for a name player. Both have been knocking on the door and we have been murdered two weeks in a row in the middle. Cochrane may play in the middle and possibly pick up Johnson. He's just come back from injury (right?), but worries the hell out of me. He's one that likes playing against us and sneaks under our guard.

We've got a strong record at Manuka, so despite our recent form, are probably an even money bet.

Crows generally use one tagger only. The rest of Crows midfield is expected to make the play, and their opponents can either try to do the same or match up on Crows players. Given recent relative form, it would be Harvey on Bickley rather than the other way around.

Sorry Dingster, I think Kangaross may well get towelled in the midfiled this week, similar to Tigers two weeks ago.

If Crows kick relatively straight (like last week) then Kangaroos could be in for a really tough game I feel.

If Crows have another wobbly kicking spree, then it could get close. IMO Kangaroos need Crows to stuff up to have have any chance this week.

No denying that Bickley has been in better form than Harves. Harves is due for a big one though and he, along with King, Grant and Pickett have been given a rocket this week. It may be a bad week to run into us.

I'd say the first quarter could be pretty hot. If you don't match the intensity early, then you might find yourself behind the eightball. If you get off to a flyer, then we will be in for a long afternoon.

No denying that Bickley has been in better form than Harves. Harves is due for a big one though and he, along with King, Grant and Pickett have been given a rocket this week. It may be a bad week to run into us.

I'd say the first quarter could be pretty hot. If you don't match the intensity early, then you might find yourself behind the eightball. If you get off to a flyer, then we will be in for a long afternoon.

IMO Harvey, King, Grant & Pickett aren't a patch on McLeod, Roo, Goodwin & Johnson. Rocket or no rocket, not on their best ever of days.

This match is Ricciouto's 200th. There is no reason to suspect that Crows will lack motivation, and Crows have got a jump on many teams so far this year.

The only worry would be the weather, as that can be a great leveler. IMO Kangaroos need something unusual to get even close to Crows, and snow could just be it!

All four will play as the Murray Kangaroos played yesterday. ok.crows be careful of being over confident before the game. It can often come back and bite ya on yer bum! It should be a good contest.

Yes, you were quite correct. Crows let us down in this game, and they truly did go "wobbly" on us. Nothing to do with kicking straight though, just didn't play at their best form.

Well done Kangas. I'm not sure if you brought on a Crows wobbly or if Crows did it by themselves, but in any event this game IMO was a very good get for the Kangaroos.