Round one 2011

formerrobin

I know its early but I am looking forward to round one 2011. Here are my tips.

Week 1
Stadium
EST
Friday 08 April

North Launceston by 60 points vs. South Launceston
Aurora Stadium
7:40 PM
Saturday 09 April
Hobart vs. Glenorchy by 45 points
TCA
1:10 PM

Burnie by 4 points vs. Clarence
West Park
2:00 PM

Lauderdale vs. North Hobart by 22 points
Lauderdale Oval
2:00 PM
Launceston by 150 points Derbs come back will have him kicking 15 goals. vs. Devonport

Yeah, you are early mate. However, I will have a crack at this too.

North Launceston by 44.
Glenorchy by 89. Aker to kick 7
Burnie Dockers by 18 at home with their new recuits.
Lauderdale by 12.
Launceston by 179. Agreed Derbs will kick a bag.

North Launceston by 44.
Lauderdale by 12.

Derbs defineatly playing? He hasn't trained yet!
Picking Burnie to beat Clarence is a joke surely. New recruits???? Laycock is not gaurantee to play yet.

Derbs defineatly playing? He hasn't trained yet!
Picking Burnie to beat Clarence is a joke surely. New recruits???? Laycock is not gaurantee to play yet.

They have picked up a few. Got a former Mariner who has been playing in the SANFL for the last few years. He looks like a good CHB. I'd pick you blokes to beat them but hopefully Burnie get within 5 goals.

Big Red, did you hear anything about Aaron Hall shopping himself around a while back? Heard he wanted to play at Clarence and even got a highlight package of himself made but got told "no thanks" by the Roos.

North Launceston by 44.
Lauderdale by 12.

Really?!?!

They have picked up a few. Got a former Mariner who has been playing in the SANFL for the last few years. He looks like a good CHB. I'd pick you blokes to beat them but hopefully Burnie get within 5 goals.

Big Red, did you hear anything about Aaron Hall shopping himself around a while back? Heard he wanted to play at Clarence and even got a highlight package of himself made but got told "no thanks" by the Roos.

I actually spoke to someone close to him recently, they said he is happy in Melbourne and has been training with Coburg. Highlights reel is something i haven't heard, i know he raised some interest however. Will dig deeper on the video though.

They're looking good on the track and have picked up some talent. Will be tough to get over North though.

North by 25 points

Who is the talent they have picked up JS? In regards to North, lot of talk about them this time last year on their gains etc. Very very quiet this year, anyone heard anything on who they have picked up. Were very unlucky in the end last year only loosing by two points to Dev in the slop.

Matthew Smith (also has a coaching role) from Coburg & Kane Waller are probably their best gets. I think Waller will have a very good year for Lauderdale. The kids there are also another year older as well. Windy has them on the right track...I reckon they'll win at least 8 games this year.

What about North and Hobart, gains and losses anyone? Glenorchy's we have obviously read in the paper. :D

North havnt gained anyone, there is talk about Murphy but that is only from on BF, they've lost Darley, Creese, Jackson, Smith, Curtain and maybe Allison. Dont know why people are talking them up again, they were pretty ordinary last yr and from all reports were lucky it was raining up in dport last yr. They may make the 5 if they were from the north of the state but might find it pretty hard with the quality of the southern teams this yr

Rubbish.

North havnt gained anyone, there is talk about Murphy but that is only from on BF, they've lost Darley, Creese, Jackson, Smith, Curtain and maybe Allison. Dont know why people are talking them up again, they were pretty ordinary last yr and from all reports were lucky it was raining up in dport last yr. They may make the 5 if they were from the north of the state but might find it pretty hard with the quality of the southern teams this yr

where have Jackson, Smith and Creese gone?? Curtain average player at best so no loss and Allison is their social club director isn't he, couldn't see him going to pie land with Aker there, couldn't fit both those blokes heads in the same room!

Hobart have Briggs back from QLD, some bloke from Nth Launny, a young fella from Lauderdale who is a tall and mates with Young, Jamie Clark basically from Mariners who only played handful of games last year due to them and Hutchins footy and Willing is inj free and up and about so basically a recruit, a kid who won all their junior B and F's a few years back but busted his leg and is finally fit again, hard at it and about 6'2, Quirk from Lindisfarne and Booth from New Norfolk who I am told is an absolute freak similar to Howe but never been really fit, have watched him train twice and he like Briggs does not miss a target with hand or foot and good on both sides. And there is a rumour that there will be a couple of signings announced soon. They have lost a few but from what I have heard those lost were guys who were not overly fit or committed. The only real loss I believe is that of their centreman Perry who is having a year of apparently to work on his property in the midlands, he is a big loss, top bloke to.

Hobart will surprise I believe, heaps of good kids starting to come through and they have the tallest kid in the world at Mariners who may well play ones late in the season in the ruck, he is a giant and still growing, about 6'8 and has good skills. They'll be ok!

where have Jackson, Smith and Creese gone?? Curtain average player at best so no loss and Allison is their social club director isn't he, couldn't see him going to pie land with Aker there, couldn't fit both those blokes heads in the same room!
hutchins and melbourne, a bloke that has played over 150 senior games is hardly an average player at best. From reading Jesse Wells facebook sounds like the magpies Gm has been trying pretty hard to get Allison, i wonder if they will set up some sought of shop for his Mrs like they did for renyolds and give him $20k plus pay his rent. Glenorchy were the only club to pay 100% of there salary cap last yr, dont know how they will fit aker, renyolds and mott into it, they must be on the sfl books or something

Hobart have Briggs back from QLD, some bloke from Nth Launny, a young fella from Lauderdale who is a tall and mates with Young, Jamie Clark basically from Mariners who only played handful of games last year due to them and Hutchins footy and Willing is inj free and up and about so basically a recruit, a kid who won all their junior B and F's a few years back but busted his leg and is finally fit again, hard at it and about 6'2, Quirk from Lindisfarne and Booth from New Norfolk who I am told is an absolute freak similar to Howe but never been really fit, have watched him train twice and he like Briggs does not miss a target with hand or foot and good on both sides. And there is a rumour that there will be a couple of signings announced soon. They have lost a few but from what I have heard those lost were guys who were not overly fit or committed. The only real loss I believe is that of their centreman Perry who is having a year of apparently to work on his property in the midlands, he is a big loss, top bloke to.

Hobart will surprise I believe, heaps of good kids starting to come through and they have the tallest kid in the world at Mariners who may well play ones late in the season in the ruck, he is a giant and still growing, about 6'8 and has good skills. They'll be ok!

Todd Kelly. Played around 14 games in the 18's at Lauderdale last season. Has a lot of talent and a big tank

Creese - Hutchins, used to play down there. Will dominate Old Scholars.
Smith - Moved back home
Jackson - Who knows? His knee right yet?
Curtain - Over 150 seniors games and a senior BnF, wouldn't class him as average.
Allison - Who knows what goes on with that bloke. Seen hanging around Glenorchy boys while they have been out on twn from all reports. Could go for $$$$

I actually spoke to someone close to him recently, they said he is happy in Melbourne and has been training with Coburg. Highlights reel is something i haven't heard, i know he raised some interest however. Will dig deeper on the video though.

Training with Port Melbourne. Was originally heading to Queensland but decided to head to Melbourne to live with his brother Jono.

I know its early but I am looking forward to round one 2011. Here are my tips.

Saturday 09 April
Hobart vs. Glenorchy by 45 points
TCA
1:10 PM
This'll be a good little game this one hopefully.
The young Hobart side up against the Magpies with talent everywhere.
Hopefully Akermanis plays and a big, 3,000+ crowd rolls up to watch, it'll be great for the players to play in a game with that sort of atmosphere, and I hope the Tigers really get stuck into them. :thumbsu:
Not sure when the last match at the TCA drew more than three thousand, 1975 when Hudson returned to the TFL from memory, so it'd be great to see a turnout like that again. :)

Yeah, I hope he plays seniors there. At his best he can be damaging

Will play ones if he can get fitter and stronger I suspect but looks ok, maybe hold down CHB with a couple of strong blokes around him like Clark, Horton and a couple of the talented young guys like Johnson and Styles:thumbsu:

Heard yesterday that Young has left the club and gone back to Dodges because they found him work, big loss:(

[

Heard yesterday that Young has left the club and gone back to Dodges because they found him work, big loss:([/quote]

yeah hes been training with dodges for a while now he and wiil coombe