F/D

Veteran 10k Posts
Sep 18, 2004
Ed Lower - Freak Boy
This kid is a gun. A good decision to pick him up in the 60's was it?

Good find.

Looks to have some promise but has a long way to go. One of the real prospects we have but don't expect too much influence on games from him ths year.

He still has a long way to go to reach the lofty heights of my namesake. :D

I saw him play for Williamstown V Springvale out at Dandenong last year and he was very impressive. He was quick and had good skills. After that game he debuted against Hawthorn and showed some great promise. Once he adapts to the game, I think he will be an excellent player.

He reminds a lot of Tex Walker when he played his first game at full back on Richo.

He did a great job, and showed that he's got the skills, but he also showed that he's very raw, and will need time before he'll be a dependable player. Right now, Rowe is doing the same thing. He showing us he's got the talent and the brain for the game, but now he's got to get consistent with his performance, and iron out a few chinks in his game, such as his kicking for goal, which may come down to pressure management in the end.

All in all though, young Death should be a good player for us.

vinnie_vegas69 said:
He reminds a lot of Tex Walker when he played his first game at full back on Richo.

????

Walker's an athlete who's learning how to play footy
Rowe's a natural footballer who knows what to do , and is learning quickly how to do it consistently at the top level. I like him, like his ability to back himslef and try and be creative at all times. Shouldl be a regular in 2006 if not this year. Has the style of a Bruce or a Hird, a tall running midfielder/forward, somthing we've lacked for a long time.

It's hard to believe he lasted so long in the draft, but then most experts picked him fairly late.

If you think about it, he's quick, but not lightning; he can kick, but isn't silky; he was particularly skinny, still is. So I suppose we can see why he was overlooked by many clubs.

With that in mind, what sets him apart IMO, is his ability to find time and space (which according to Einstein are the same thing anyway, but I'll leave that for the Nerd Board). He knows how much time he has to do something and what he will be best able to do in that time frame. That's normally reserved for a 25+ year old.

Compare Rowe's decision making skills with Richie Cole and it's chalk and cheese at their respective ages.

im really looking forward to seeing him run around for the Pies in '05, i like him a lot as a footballer and think he has a bright future with the club

First year debut thanks to his natural talent. Was deemed as a suprise pick up in the 2003 National Draft (4th Round Selection, No.60 overall)

AFL Record Guide to Season 2005 Page 96
Considered the pick of the Pies' debutantees from 2004, the lightly built youngster played eight of the last nine games after collecting 14 disposals in his first appearance in Round 14. A natural kick on both sides, he is quick and appeals as a long-term wing/midfield option.

Also, Jules was selected on the wing in Herald Sun's Mike Sheahan's best 22 for Collingwood last week.

sheahan227rc.jpg

*supplied from The Magpies Nest

yeah, quite strange with Mike not putting Prestigiacomo in the side, wheras Walker and Cloke are in the side.

I do think Presti is on the chopping block this season and under intense pressure in the selection table for this season, unlike most of his career.

I would have put Dids where Rowe was, and infact, Rowe wasn't even in my best 25. That was a PrePre-Season 22 though. Time will tell.

A very promising talent who should stamp himself as a regular come seasons end.Has good skills on both sides & good reader of the play.Astute selection in the draft at number 60.

Winterstick said:
not having a dig but what sport did he do before:

not sure, footy I think, but Tex doesnt have a natural football brain, thats what I meant. in terms of footy smarts Rowe is a natural, he knows where to be and how to read the play.

Rowe was definitely one of the good things to come out of last year. All those injuries did mean that we are much better prepared for this year in terms of our depth. We also can't forget about how we got Rowe in the first place. By trading Scotland had an extra pick in a draft where we took two Father-Sons. We took Morrison with our first pick and the Shaws with our second and third picks. We actually took Hall with the Scotland pick and Rowe with our fourth round pick, but apparantly they were originally going to take Rowe at 32 but were amazed that Hall was still there, so they took him. They again couldn't believe that Rowe was still there at 60 or so, so with the Scotland pick they reckon they cleaned up. It's hard to know whether that was just their spin on it or not, but we definitely got Rowe for very good value at 60. This is why I was one of the few, so it seemed :( , last year who defended the decision to let Scotland go.

you idiot sheehan said:
Rowe was definitely one of the good things to come out of last year. All those injuries did mean that we are much better prepared for this year in terms of our depth. We also can't forget about how we got Rowe in the first place. By trading Scotland had an extra pick in a draft where we took two Father-Sons. We took Morrison with our first pick and the Shaws with our second and third picks. We actually took Hall with the Scotland pick and Rowe with our fourth round pick, but apparantly they were originally going to take Rowe at 32 but were amazed that Hall was still there, so they took him. They again couldn't believe that Rowe was still there at 60 or so, so with the Scotland pick they reckon they cleaned up. It's hard to know whether that was just their spin on it or not, but we definitely got Rowe for very good value at 60. This is why I was one of the few, so it seemed :( , last year who defended the decision to let Scotland go.
You're right. We've heard this story five years running.

This year is was Iacobucci going to be selected at 23, but we chose Rusling because those filthy pricks from Windy Hill were interested in him, and we were stunned and shocked to see Yakka still there at 60something.

The fact is, if you write down your top 30, there will be players who will not be picked up. Indeed, most clubs walk out of there saying that they got five players in their top thirthy. That's just the way varying opinions work.

That said, I can see why they'd have rated Rowe in their top 25. Hopefully Yakka's equally good value!

hotpie said:
not sure, footy I think, but Tex doesnt have a natural football brain, thats what I meant. in terms of footy smarts Rowe is a natural, he knows where to be and how to read the play.

Tex was a volleyballer.

Rowe