Rumour File #8.

• Thread starter Thread starter Chism

if thats the case the big bloke owes us big time this year to get our moneys worth out of him!!:thumbsd:

Part of the reason he came to us was so he could get more game time. With injury, Jacobs for a while and Kreuzer and Hampson there, he hasn't had the game time he might have expected. Another part was the fact that his brother was playing at a Melbourne club so was close by. Now Matthew is with the Gold Coast, that part has gone too.

He's a chance of going to GWS. If they offer him $500k+ per year, he is gone. We won't even get much for him either as he hasn't been on the park long enough to build an impressive resume.

Part of the reason he came to us was so he could get more game time. With injury, Jacobs for a while and Kreuzer and Hampson there, he hasn't had the game time he might have expected. Another part was the fact that his brother was playing at a Melbourne club so was close by. Now Matthew is with the Gold Coast, that part has gone too.

He's a chance of going to GWS. If they offer him $500k+ per year, he is gone. We won't even get much for him either as he hasn't been on the park long enough to build an impressive resume.

He wanted to come home to Melbourne. Would have to be a massive deal to get him to GWS. Why would you leave a team in premiership contention?

If he were to go, compensation is based on age and contract size, so we'd be getting a first rounder.

If we lose Warnock to the money then so be it. Is that the type of player you want on a team trying to win a flag? Not for mine. However, the rumor isn't that he is leaving but that GWS will chase him which is good news for us as it means that they understand Kreuzer and Gibbs are out of reach as would be Yaz who would either re-sign here or request a move home. With the other indigenous boys on the list I don't see him leaving.

Cant really afford to lose him. He i sour best pure ruckman at this stage. No doubt in my mind that he and Kreuzer are the best combination we have. Its really up to Hampson to show he can make it as a forward, otherwise it will likely be Knockers, K and Rowe by seasons end. Hope he stays.

Agreed.
Easier to forget him now, but considering we have not planned for any back-ups we must keep him at all costs (well, almost all costs)

Seeing Warnock recently, he does look rather thinner than even last year.
May not be the case, but surprised just how lean he is.

Simple, $$$$$.

If he gets, as ODN said an offer of $500k a year, then he will be off like a brides nightie.
He would be on, no where near that coin at the Blues, and he's not getting any younger.

He's been on $400k at Carlton, and originally came because he wanted to come home to Melbourne. I reckon we'll be right.

Mate, I'd love him to stay. Would he really be on that much?? I was thinking maybe $300. With him and Kreuzer in the ruck and Hammer at FF, no reason we can't be right up there at the pointy end of the ladder come finals time.

All reports were we paid him 400 a year to get him to Carlton, but he was coming back to Melbourne regardless.
Yes but his brother is no longer in Melbourne. One of his incentives has gone. He also wanted to be number one ruckman somewhere. GWS could offer that, Carlton he has to fight for it.

Hope he stays, but being realistic enough to know he would increase his profile and his pay packet at GWS. He doesn't seem like a player playing for a flag or he might have thought Freo was worth staying at. He has more possible factors going for him than others and I would rather recognise the possibilities than dismiss them and be shocked later.

If he does leave then we should be receiving some decent compensation for him, and this year's draft is very strong so it's not all doom and gloom. Still would prefer to keep him and I think he'll stay.

you shouldnt be putting pictures of Frodo Ballantyne on here... Guns will get very upset
nah.apparently he is no longer a cheap bogan redneck but now a quality mid and star of the AFL. I feel so sorry for those long suffering docker fans. They are just so desperate for a hero that will take them to the promised land. Looking forward to seeing the movie when it comes out.
hobbit.jpg

Wouldn't be overly mad if we lost Knockers.

He's easily our best tap ruckman, but his time on the park is short, with all the injuries. If he can swindle some good money from GWS, I wouldn't hold it against him.

Compensation would be an interesting issue though.

If he went and we didn't get a first round pick I'll be pissed, if Palmer is worth an end of first round pick than we should get a mid first round

Would have been good if we kept Jacobs.

They can have Warnok, would rather a top 20 pick in this draft than a soft injury prone ruckmen when we already have krooz and hamma. Also with him and mclean coming off the books (both would be on close to 400k each seeing as we got them from other clubs) plus judd on reduced $$ due to a front ended deal, we should have plenty of cap space to retain all our stars.

Sick off these sh1t trades, now the compramised drafts are done we should really back WH and the recuiting department and sustain a strong future by drafting strongly.

Yeah maybe a little harsh on Warnock, However hampson and kreuzers performances around the ground and infront of goal were very good tonight. Although I agree that warnock is better with the hit outs I think he will find it hard to get back in if hamma keeps performing infront of goal.

If we got a top 20 pick (in a strong draft) for him and saved the cap space I think we could come out of this pretty well. Would be great for the club to get 2 first rounders and allow WH to keep the talent coming through the door.

Yes but his brother is no longer in Melbourne. One of his incentives has gone. He also wanted to be number one ruckman somewhere. GWS could offer that, Carlton he has to fight for it.

Hope he stays, but being realistic enough to know he would increase his profile and his pay packet at GWS. He doesn't seem like a player playing for a flag or he might have thought Freo was worth staying at. He has more possible factors going for him than others and I would rather recognise the possibilities than dismiss them and be shocked later.
It is true that one of the incentives (his brother) is gone. But from what I understand, the rest of his family live in Melbourne/ Victoria and so it's either go to GWS (no family) or stay in Melbourne (some family). Taking that in, he should stay - that is if family was his major incentive for leaving Freo in the first place. Otherwise if he moves to GWS, he may as well be back at Freo with a bit more dosh in his pocket.

But, it's still definitely a case of *watch this space*

I know the Goddard issue had been done to death but..

I've recently become well acquainted with an ex stk player who says that at the end if the season Goddard is gone from the saints. Just putting it out there.

Cannot be left off of the table, we know his boyhood love for the Blues, assuming McLean gone or reduced contract, Warnock questions, Scotto and Thornton ageing, Russell form loss and a myriad of second and third tier players struggling for a game or injury prone White, Kerr, O'Keeffe, Casboult, Mcinnes, and possibly even Collins, Davies and Bower depending on the current season.
The form of Mitchell when he returns, Watson, McCarthy, Rowe, Buckley, Dale and Bootsma will go a long way to shaping the path of the recruiters.
There may be enough coin for B. Goddard.

I have a mate on the Gold Coast (coincidently) who has been on the St Kilda board in the past, who still has links to the club. He tells me that BJ, does in fact wish to leave after this season, but not for the reasons already outlined by many. It is not money that he seeks as a type of final super fund, but Premiership glory.

Read into that what you like, but I reckon he won't be agreeing to go to the Giants, but Blues, Pies, Hawks or Cats are the likely destination. ;)

Damn right it's been done to death. Goddard peaked 18 months ago and after 3 GFs didn't walk away with the prize.

He'll be 28 years old next season. Some will want to take six hundred thousand dollars (+) out of our salary cap and sacrifice a top 18 draft pick for a battle-scarred 200 game veteran but for me no thanks.