Running Thread - Join our Strava Club!

Will give it a crack.

I originally ran just a certain route, it happened to by 6klm. Will cut it down to 5, and aim for 42.

Will hopefully be running Tuesday, Friday/Saturday, and Sunday. Will keep you guys posted.

Thanks heaps.

Hey guys, I did 5.31 klms in 40mins an average of 7.38 per klm. Was happy to get under the 8 mins.

My fastest klm (1st) was 6.38 and my slowest was my 4th at 9.20 (ill have to get fast running up the hill in the segment of my run).

Thanks for the tips guys, will keep going and try to get this routes time down.

Hey there team

I recently tested myself out with a 5km time trial. I'm 31, about 6'3 and 84kgs. Have always been reasonably fit and managed to do 5kms in 21.35. Just wondering how that stacks up in the big scheme of things?? I've really got no idea if that is good average or bad (although I am thinking its in between good and average)..

I did it on a treadmill with zero incline..

Would appreciate any answers from anyone who knows a bit about it..

Im not training for anything in particular, just want to stay fairly fit..

Thanks

Anyone have any familiarity with achilles injuries/issues?

Probably the last 2-3 weeks all of my runs have me hobbling the first 500m-1km due to achilles tightness/tenderness. Beyond this the issue tends to go away as I have warmed up. However, I've never had this issue before. The start of the run is normally an easy pace to warm up so it's not like I'm pushing hard. I'm not sure if it is a sign of potential damage if I keep pushing or whether I just need to adjust my warm up/down techniques and almost definitely require new shoes as the ones I'm using now have clocked a lot of kms.

That's not bad but you are running on a treadmill so it doesn't really work. It's only 5km so why don't you run around the block? Much more enjoyable and realistic than doing a 5km time trial on a treadmill. Just my thoughts.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

That's not bad but you are running on a treadmill so it doesn't really work. It's only 5km so why don't you run around the block? Much more enjoyable and realistic than doing a 5km time trial on a treadmill. Just my thoughts.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
Cheers for the reply but why do you say it doesn't really work on a treadmill?

I do a fair bit of road running but generally that's just when I'm on a steady jog for say 40mins. I find it hard getting distances accurate but you're right, it is more enjoyable..

Anyone have any familiarity with achilles injuries/issues?

Probably the last 2-3 weeks all of my runs have me hobbling the first 500m-1km due to achilles tightness/tenderness. Beyond this the issue tends to go away as I have warmed up. However, I've never had this issue before. The start of the run is normally an easy pace to warm up so it's not like I'm pushing hard. I'm not sure if it is a sign of potential damage if I keep pushing or whether I just need to adjust my warm up/down techniques and almost definitely require new shoes as the ones I'm using now have clocked a lot of kms.

Never really had any achilles issues myself but have done a fair bit of reading on it.

Basically, the achilles tendon can't swell, so icing is sort of pointless, at least outside of the first 24 hrs. Icing + rest/elevation will reduce any swelling AROUND the tendon, but it won't treat the achilles itself.

It's probably a sign of weakness in the tendon and/or lack of stability when running. You can work on this by doing single leg strengthening exercises, like calf raises.

Old shoes can DEFINITELY cause this! If they lose their cushioning you will be putting more strain on trying to remain stable, so yes, new shoes! Two pairs of shoes in rotation is a good idea too!

Avoid static stretching. Static stretching before run is bad! You are essentially tearing your muscle before you even set off. It gives the muscle an overinflated sense of elasticity, and your body won't warn you when it's being overstretched. Replace static stretches (if you static stretch) with a dynamic warm up. The idea of warm up is to warm up the muscles, not stretch them, so you need to get the blood flowing.

Finally - foam roll the shit out of it!

Cheers WildRover. I'll start working some calf raises into my routine and see if that makes a difference.

Everything else you've said just confirms my own thoughts. I usually do go with 2 pairs but they have both outlived their welcome now and the 'older' pair have simply been reduced to being my cricket shoes while the 'newer' pair are quite leightweight as it is and have pounded the pavement for a long stretch now.

Have put some $ aside for a visit to Athlete's Foot.

Couldn't agree more about static stretches either. I never do them pre-run. I basically limit my pre-run routine to a dozen leg swings on each leg (back to front) and another dozen on each leg (side to side - across body). Beyond that perhaps 10 walking lunges and then off I go. I'd be interested to hear what you do before taking off.

Cheers WildRover. I'll start working some calf raises into my routine and see if that makes a difference.

Everything else you've said just confirms my own thoughts. I usually do go with 2 pairs but they have both outlived their welcome now and the 'older' pair have simply been reduced to being my cricket shoes while the 'newer' pair are quite leightweight as it is and have pounded the pavement for a long stretch now.

Have put some $ aside for a visit to Athlete's Foot.

Couldn't agree more about static stretches either. I never do them pre-run. I basically limit my pre-run routine to a dozen leg swings on each leg (back to front) and another dozen on each leg (side to side - across body). Beyond that perhaps 10 walking lunges and then off I go. I'd be interested to hear what you do before taking off.

So my warm up is generally a slow job to the ovals (200-300m) just to get me there, should probably do more, but meh. Then i have a set routine:

1. I dont know the name for them, but basically bending over and touching toes/ankles/shins with opposing hand, alternating from side to side (probably doesnt make sense).

2. Front to Back leg swings, 15 on each leg.

3. Left to Right leg swings, 15 on each leg.

4. Calf. I lean forward against something, a wall, a railing, a goal post, whatever. Then its like a normal calf stretch, except it's up and down on alternating legs. I found this one here : http://www.kinetic-revolution.com/dynamic-calf-warm-up-for-running/ This one is brilliant! If you have achilles/calf sorenes I can not recommend this one enough!

5. a). Walking butt kicks (20-30 seconds)
b). Slightly quicker and higher walking butt kicks (20-30 seconds)
c). Running butt kicks (20-30 secs).

6. a). Slow A-March (20-30s)
b). A-March (20-30s)
c). A-Skip (20-30s)

7. a). Slow B-March (20-30s)
b). B-March (20-30s)
c). B-Skip (20-30s)

8. Hamstring walks (20-30s)

Generally I'm ready to rock and roll now, but may also do a few side lunges. Just google A-Skip, B-Skip and Butt Kicks if you don't know what they are. I'd never heard of them until I really started to get interested in the biomechanics/physiology of running.

It takes about 10mins to do, but i swear by it.

So my warm up is generally a slow job to the ovals (200-300m) just to get me there, should probably do more, but meh. Then i have a set routine:

1. I dont know the name for them, but basically bending over and touching toes/ankles/shins with opposing hand, alternating from side to side (probably doesnt make sense).

2. Front to Back leg swings, 15 on each leg.

3. Left to Right leg swings, 15 on each leg.

4. Calf. I lean forward against something, a wall, a railing, a goal post, whatever. Then its like a normal calf stretch, except it's up and down on alternating legs. I found this one here : http://www.kinetic-revolution.com/dynamic-calf-warm-up-for-running/
Gotta play some Wolfmother now, haha

Just booked my first Hm, its May the 4th. So any tips in preparing, let fly.

Plan before the race start regarding when you need to be at the start area, what time you like to do a warm-up (I start almost precisely an hour before start time, finding a space for this is helpful), when to go to the loo before the start, when to enter the starting zone (for me it's about 20-25 minutes before start time, and usually in the middle).

Stick to a race plan as if you were doing a full marathon, being half the distance doesn't mean you have to try to run twice as fast. My strategy for a half this Sunday (the Twilight Run in Brisbane) will be to find a group to stick with for a few kms before assessing whether I feel good to increase the tempo (and find a group up the road) or feel not so good (and drop back to a group behind). Also try not to be a hero and sprint from the gun straight up, the traffic is always at its worst in the first km so be patient.

The other thing I try to do is NOT to take a drink from the first drink station, generally located a couple of km from the start. 3/4's of the starters will look to get a drink at the first station, which means if you're in the wrong spot you will easily get held up, then you'll have to try to get into a tempo from virtually a standstill again. Plus generally the 2nd station for a half (assuming it's a loop course meaning you'll have to run 2 or 3 laps as opposed to a point to point event) would be about 2km away which is about 10-12 minutes of running. Plus before the event I consume some fluid (water or sports drink) about 45 minutes before the start. I know in longer training runs I try not to take on board fluids for about 40 minutes from the start but that may be too long for you.

Plan before the race start regarding when you need to be at the start area, what time you like to do a warm-up (I start almost precisely an hour before start time, finding a space for this is helpful), when to go to the loo before the start, when to enter the starting zone (for me it's about 20-25 minutes before start time, and usually in the middle).
Thanks for your advice mate, sounds like some great tips.

http://running.competitor.com/2014/...ohydrates-really-needed-during-exercise_10035 Researchers from the Australian Institute of Sport sought to put this question to rest one way or the other in 2010. They divided a pool of trained cyclists and triathletes into separate groups and had each of them go through a 28-day block of training, with one group consuming carbs during every workout and the other group abstaining from carbohydrate intake during workouts. Performance was measured before and at the end of the training block in a cycling time trial. The researchers found that performance improved equally — 7 percent on average — in both groups despite greater increases in carbohydrate-burning capacity in the carb group.
Read more at http://running.competitor.com/2014/...ded-during-exercise_10035#kg5lfFQ6Kpd47xIF.99

http://running.competitor.com/2014/...ohydrates-really-needed-during-exercise_10035 Researchers from the Australian Institute of Sport sought to put this question to rest one way or the other in 2010. They divided a pool of trained cyclists and triathletes into separate groups and had each of them go through a 28-day block of training, with one group consuming carbs during every workout and the other group abstaining from carbohydrate intake during workouts. Performance was measured before and at the end of the training block in a cycling time trial. The researchers found that performance improved equally — 7 percent on average — in both groups despite greater increases in carbohydrate-burning capacity in the carb group.
Read more at http://running.competitor.com/2014/...ded-during-exercise_10035#kg5lfFQ6Kpd47xIF.99

Completely agree. Been reading a fair bit about that and wrote a little bit about it myself. I'm personally taking the route of some runs being carb loaded, and some being carb depleted. I think the idea of becoming "fat adapted" is incredibly appealing, as it, in theory at least, means you have an almost endless amount of fuel

Just done some of those dynamic calf stretches in the office. I'm liking them already.

Might have to do some of these. Have been getting knots in my calfs for about 2 years now. I normally foam roll the crap out of them and it clears up but they return every now and then. Come footy season though it can be tough with 2-3 days between training/games. it usually takes 3-5 days to clear up 100%

Also have had a sore achilles on and off for a few years now. (have found only rest really helps the achilles)

Might have to do some of these. Have been getting knots in my calfs for about 2 years now. I normally foam roll the crap out of them and it clears up but they return every now and then. Come footy season though it can be tough with 2-3 days between training/games. it usually takes 3-5 days to clear up 100%

Also have had a sore achilles on and off for a few years now. (have found only rest really helps the achilles)

It might be worth doing some strengthening exercises too if you're consistently having achilles/calf problems. It's weird, but so many lower leg injuries stem from weak hips/glutes/pelvis.

If you've had it on and off for a couple of years, it's probably time to start tackling the source of the problem and working on injury prevention, rather than just trying to fix the same recurring injury all the time.

You can probably start with some generic type strengthening that target core and glutes, but seeing a physio (a running specialist) and having them properly assess you will let them prescribe specific exercises that will target your own areas of weakness (maybe calf raises, achilles stretches etc...)

Had a practice HM yesterday and knocked 5 min of my PB. May have gone better because I was miss reading my new Garmin forerunner 10 watch. I got 2hr and 23sec and did my last 2 k's under 5min/kl. Does any one know if the Garmin forerunner 10 can show average speed plus the speed you are doing, I'm not real good with these gadgets.

Nice work!

No help with Forerunner 10 - i have 405 and Edge 500. If it keeps track of average speed then i'd be very surprised if it didn't have the capacity to show it

Running Thread - Join our Strava Club!