Running Thread - Join our Strava Club!

End of a big March for me. Finished it off in style with a pretty quick (for me) 30k on Saturday (2hr 36m) which sees me on track for a sub 3:45 marathon.

222km all up in March, first time i've ever cracked the 200k mark for a month.

Injury free at the moment, no niggles, so putting in some good consistent training.

Anyone doing Canberra in less than 2 weeks time? Just got my bib (Marathon for me) so it all got real for me. A couple of decent runs this week, a couple of smaller runs next week before Thursday, then I'm there on Friday afternoon well and truly in time for the Sunday Morning start.

I just had a look at Canberra and all the flights up and back from Melbourne are sold out! Oh well,maybe next year

End of a big March for me. Finished it off in style with a pretty quick (for me) 30k on Saturday (2hr 36m) which sees me on track for a sub 3:45 marathon.

222km all up in March, first time i've ever cracked the 200k mark for a month.

Injury free at the moment, no niggles, so putting in some good consistent training.

Sensational effort, well done !

Anyone have any familiarity with achilles injuries/issues?

Probably the last 2-3 weeks all of my runs have me hobbling the first 500m-1km due to achilles tightness/tenderness. Beyond this the issue tends to go away as I have warmed up. However, I've never had this issue before. The start of the run is normally an easy pace to warm up so it's not like I'm pushing hard. I'm not sure if it is a sign of potential damage if I keep pushing or whether I just need to adjust my warm up/down techniques and almost definitely require new shoes as the ones I'm using now have clocked a lot of kms.

Yep copped a shocking achillies injury about 18 months ago. I thought I'd just strained it, a little of ice, kept training, kept pushing, got worse, hobbling like and old man in the morning until one day it was so bad in the morning I had to literally hobble to the toilet with my wifes help. The back of my left achillies was like i had half a golf ball sitting there.

I went to a physio who straight out refused to touch it; it told me he couldn't believe i was still walking let alone running. He sent me off to a specialist (ex MFC Doctor in Brighton) who said he wouldn't touch it until an MRI had occurred. Came back clear, no tear, no rupture, just inflamed from overuse and what i found out was lack of stretching of the Achilles prior to my running. I was told to stop running immediately, put on some pretty strong anti-inflammatory and required to ice everyday. The egg on my left Achilles went down in 10 days and the specialist said i should go back to the Physio for some work and instruction in stretching the Achilles.

Finished with the physio 12 months ago and do the exercises everyday and haven't had a recurrence of the injury and back to running 25-35km per week.

Heres an article on the exercise I do on my Achilles;

http://www.runnersworld.com/stretch...hening-achilles-tendinopathy-five-years-later

Eccentric Calf Strengthening for Achilles Tendinopathy: Five Years Later
By
Alex Hutchinson
Published
February 18, 2012
No one has "the cure" for Achilles tendon problems, but the non-surgical approach with the best evidence is a 12-week program of "heel drops" that strengthen the calf eccentrically. Since it was proposed back in 1998 by a group in Sweden, heel drops have shown moderate success in a bunch of different studies.

One problem: most of these studies have been short-term. But do the heel drops actually get rid of the problem for good? A newly published study in the British Journal of Sports Medicine (with full text freely available online), from a group in the Netherlands, followed up with a group of Achilles tendinopathy patients five years after they performed the original heel drop program. Here are the results; the VISA-A score is a measure of Achilles function and pain, where higher numbers are better:

Overall, that's pretty good news: for most people, Achilles problems aren't a life sentence. Of course, this doesn't tell us whether the calf drops outperform other forms of treatment (or no treatment). In fact, the study found that about half of the 46 patients in the study had gone on to seek other forms of treatment after completing the initial 12-week heel drop program -- a sign that it's unfortunately not a universal solution.

Anyway, if you're feeling Achilles problems coming on, it's probably best to deal with them early. If you're interested in the original Alfredson protocol, it involves two different exercise: straight-leg and bent-leg heel drops. Start on your tiptoes, gradually lower your heel below the forefoot, then use the other leg (or your arms on a railing) to raise yourself back to the starting position. Do three sets of 15 reps of each exercise, twice a day (yes, that's 180 reps per day) for 12 weeks. When you feel no discomfort or next-day soreness from the program, add some weight in a backpack. Here's what the exercises look like (from Alfredson's 1998 paper):

UPDATE
: Aidan Rich, an Australian physiotherapist, pointed out to me on Twitter than Alfredson himself now advocates a minor surgical procedure that basically involves scraping the tendon. He found that the heel drops work well in a majority of the population, but often don't work in "high-level athletes," who tend to respond better (he said in a British Journal of Sports Medicine editorial last year) to his new surgical approach. My take: no matter how minor the surgery, it's always better to avoid the knife if possible -- so start with conservative approaches like heel drops, and move on to considering surgery only if necessary.

Anyone into Fartleks and if so what is routine routine(s) are you using for a half-marathon?
As above. The point of Fartleks is to shock the system into doing something different and unexpected.

They can be anything from 100m sprints. So you could pick a tree and say im gonna sprint for 15 seconds when i hit that tree. Or 2km at tempo pace (eg, pick a street and say i'm gonna run this street at tempo pace), hill sprint (look up a side road - is it a hill? Yes. Then sprint up it).

It's just about doing something different in the middle of a run really.

Another idea, it's a strange one, is to think out 6 different mid-run workouts. So you could do:

1. Slow jogging for 1 minute.
2. 5 min @ 5k pace
3. Hill Sprint
4. 800m @ 10k pace + 200m @ 3k pace
5. Strides
6. 2k @ 5k pace

Then, this is where it gets strange. Take a dice on your run. Every kilometre, or every 5 minutes, or whatever you feel like. Roll the dice. Do what it says. Keeps the training fresh and even you don't know whats coming. There are endless variations on it too.

You can also add in a strength circuit. So again, think of 6 strength exercises (plank, bridge, squats etc). Once you've finished the running dice roll, roll it again and do the relevant strength exercise. Probably best to do this sort of workout on the track or a round a footy oval or something.

Another idea, it's a strange one, is to think out 6 different mid-run workouts. So you could do:

2. 5 min @ 5k pace
3. Hill Sprint
5. Strides
6. 2k @ 5k pace

Then, this is where it gets strange. Take a dice on your run. Every kilometre, or every 5 minutes, or whatever you feel like. Roll the dice. Do what it says. Keeps the training fresh and even you don't know whats coming. There are endless variations on it too.

i love this idea. you ever read The Dice Man by Luke Rhinehart?
...although it might be difficult if you roll 3 on a flat.

i love this idea. you ever read The Dice Man by Luke Rhinehart?
...although it might be difficult if you roll 3 on a flat.
Nope, never heard of the book...

Yeah, hill repeats on a track are definitely challenging! Although, if you can find a track at the bottom of a mountain - problem solved!

As above. The point of Fartleks is to shock the system into doing something different and unexpected.

They can be anything from 100m sprints. So you could pick a tree and say im gonna sprint for 15 seconds when i hit that tree. Or 2km at tempo pace (eg, pick a street and say i'm gonna run this street at tempo pace), hill sprint (look up a side road - is it a hill? Yes. Then sprint up it).

It's just about doing something different in the middle of a run really.

2. 5 min @ 5k pace
3. Hill Sprint
5. Strides
6. 2k @ 5k pace

You can also add in a strength circuit. So again, think of 6 strength exercises (plank, bridge, squats etc). Once you've finished the running dice roll, roll it again and do the relevant strength exercise. Probably best to do this sort of workout on the track or a round a footy oval or something.

I do alot of my training on a treadmill so I might try this.

Just make sure you know what you are trying to train.

So for a halfie, you would probably use this sort of workout as your hard/speed play day. So what you want is to make sure that your options are all aimed achieving the same goal. Which in the case of a halfie would be improving your running efficiency (strides) and longer intervals @ 5-10k pace. What you don't want to be doing is 1 option be a 1600m interval at 5k pace (which is a great halfie interval), then the next one be a 200m @ full tilt (which is a 5k interval), then the next one be 2k @ HM pace (which is a marathon interval).

Did the R4K also on Sunday. When I registered I was hoping to get close to around 1:05 but didn't do much work over March-April as cricket season/finals ramped up and then closed with too much eating crap and drinking alcohol in bulk. Hardly ran at all the 2-3 weeks leading in to Sunday and had a 4am session Friday night/Saturday morning after cricket presentation night. Fair to say the build up wasn't ideal.

In the end, I'm happy enough to accept I didn't do the work and got away with a time of 1:11 - I did the first 7-8 kms at around 4:25-4:30 per km pace but the Bolte stung and after the 10km mark I came home in around 5:05-5:10 kms, which is a fair way short of the pace I set in the HM I did last year. I will definitely do this run again next year - a great cause and enjoyable course and hopefully with a little more discipline will give 1:05 a nudge.

Next up for me is probably the HM at the Age Run Melbourne and with cricket over now the discipline in running, as well as controlling what food and beverages enter my body, should be a lot better.

Did the R4K also on Sunday. When I registered I was hoping to get close to around 1:05 but didn't do much work over March-April as cricket season/finals ramped up and then closed with too much eating crap and drinking alcohol in bulk. Hardly ran at all the 2-3 weeks leading in to Sunday and had a 4am session Friday night/Saturday morning after cricket presentation night. Fair to say the build up wasn't ideal.

In the end, I'm happy enough to accept I didn't do the work and got away with a time of 1:11 - I did the first 7-8 kms at around 4:25-4:30 per km pace but the Bolte stung and after the 10km mark I came home in around 5:05-5:10 kms, which is a fair way short of the pace I set in the HM I did last year. I will definitely do this run again next year - a great cause and enjoyable course and hopefully with a little more discipline will give 1:05 a nudge.

Next up for me is probably the HM at the Age Run Melbourne and with cricket over now the discipline in running, as well as controlling what food and beverages enter my body, should be a lot better.

Damn good time though, my mate crossed in 1:03:00 and was stoked to find that had gotten him across the line in the top 500 (placed 446).

You're right though, that Bolte stung. Alot.

Did my last practice HM today and are really happy with time, 1.55.59. Trying to beat this young girl from down the roads time, now I just need to do it on the day.

Do you have a target time for the HM?

So I knocked off my first marathon on Satday, not an "official" run, but did 43.1k in 3:57 (marathon time of 3:54). WOW! Anyone that tells you the marathon doesn't start until 32k is absolutely spot on! I came through 30k in 2:40, so on track for a 3:45 and then it felt like everything went wrong. My knee started playing up, back was sore, it was hard work just putting one foot in front of the other. For a good 15-20mins I was in pain every step and felt like throwing up the shitty gels I had taken. But battling through instead of giving up paid dividends. I got a 2nd wind at about 38k when i realised I was going to make it. While the last 5k were still hard work, everything felt ok again. Until i stopped at the end, then things turned UGLY! I was freezing cold, tingling feelings in my hands and feet, feeling faint and light headed and pretty sick so I really didn't want to eat or drink. Thankfully my support crew were there to force down a hot chocolate and things picked up after that.

In the aftermath, my muscles are feeling pretty good, in fact I reckon I could go for a run again today, BUT, my ITB issues has reared its ugly head again. So it's back to the foam roller, spikey ball, stretching and strength work for a while. Puffing Billy race in 2 weeks, hopefully I'm ready, but i'm not holding my breath.

Running Thread - Join our Strava Club!