Ryan Griffen

• Thread starter Thread starter Wrenny

Macca19 said:
Id rate Griffen higher. Hes been mor consistent, shown more maturity in his football. Cooney was alright in the SANFL last year but was inconsistent and pulled off a few freaky things. Griffen is a different sort of player but he does seem to go in and get the ball a lot more than Cooney did.

Overall...id rate Griffen higher than Cooney.

In which position do people see Griffen playing his footy at AFL level??

What are his strengths etc??

macca23 said:

In which position do people see Griffen playing his footy at AFL level??

What are his strengths etc??
Macca19 would know better but he would start off as a HBF and eventually move into midfield.

Beautifully balanced, very good to excellent skills by both hand and foot. Has footy brain, good pace and finds the ball. He has good leadership as evidenced by him being the U18s captain. He is one those players that are capable of winning a game off his own boot. At 186 cm he is just about a must get

Macca19 you go into more detail:p

Certainly love for the tigers to pick him with their 2nd priority pick and we get either franklin or deledio with our 1st one.

He seems a perfect catch for us and u say he is better than cooney at this stage of his career then definatly.

By the way please just beat us on the weekend hoping for a competitive game but just lose by 3 goals

Stiffy_18 said:
Macca19 would know better but he would start off as a HBF and eventually move into midfield.

Beautifully balanced, very good to excellent skills by both hand and foot. Has footy brain, good pace and finds the ball. He has good leadership as evidenced by him being the U18s captain. He is one those players that are capable of winning a game off his own boot. At 186 cm he is just about a must get

Does he play similar to Beau Waters?

One thing the Crows' need right now is a tough, inside midfielder who will eventually become an integral part of the side. Griffen certainly looks to be the key into this seemingly rusted lock.

Judging by your description Stiff I would doubt he would be avaliable by the time we get to pick. :rolleyes:

Bockchoy67 said:
Does he play similar to Beau Waters?

One thing the Crows' need right now is a tough, inside midfielder who will eventually become an integral part of the side. Griffen certainly looks to be the key into this seemingly rusted lock.

Judging by your description Stiff I would doubt he would be avaliable by the time we get to pick. :rolleyes:
I don't think he is as tough as Waters IMHO but he does have better skills. Beau's skills are not great. They are acceptable but he does need to tidy up a bit. Still an bloody good player.

Lets put it this way, I would be extremely surprised if Griffen doesn't go top 5. I have him in top 3 so in answer to your question, I don't think he will be around when we get out pick.

Maybe just maybe AFC would be smart enough to trade up in the draft and have a fair dinkum crack at getting him. If that doesn't happen, I would be happy with Angus Monfries with our first pick. The kid is legit. I think he also made his league debut @ 16 for Sturt.

Stiffy_18 said:
Maybe just maybe AFC would be smart enough to trade up in the draft and have a fair dinkum crack at getting him. If that doesn't happen, I would be happy with Angus Monfries with our forst pick. The kid is legit. I think he also made his league debut @ 16 for Sturt.
Yeah I'd be happy as well.
If we could pickup Meyer as well that would be fantastic.

The club has to be agressive this year, that means trading players we all consider good players.
Its the only way the clubs below us would consider any exchange of the very valued draft picks.

How old is ross gibbs kid??
I know you said last week or so stiffy but is he a prospect next year?

Stiffy_18 said:
I think he is 14 or 15. He is a fair way off. Another 3 years at least

he is 15 stiffy played his first reserves game for glenelg yesterday which is a fair effort by a boy that age.

i see you also asked for information on him on the drafts and trading board so i thought id give you what i know:

probably about 6'3 6'4 in height, kicks with his right foot naturally, has beautiful skills already, can take a good strong contested mark, is rated as being a future top 3 pick lucky we can get him for one in the 30s or 40s if he wants to play for adelaide, last i knew though he was a kangaroos supporter but this may have changed, he is also a nice kid unlike his **************** father and is realy down to earth. future is as a kpp probably chf/chb but has good pace and can be used as a tall midfielder as he is in metro south when he plays for plympton, wont be tall enough for ruck as he plays fo glenelgs 17s, dont know what position he played in the ressies yesterday though.

please crows dont let him slip through the net

RooDog said:
he is 15 stiffy played his first reserves game for glenelg yesterday which is a fair effort by a boy that age.

i see you also asked for information on him on the drafts and trading board so i thought id give you what i know:

probably about 6'3 6'4 in height, kicks with his right foot naturally, has beautiful skills already, can take a good strong contested mark, is rated as being a future top 3 pick lucky we can get him for one in the 30s or 40s if he wants to play for adelaide, last i knew though he was a kangaroos supporter but this may have changed, he is also a nice kid unlike his **************** father and is realy down to earth. future is as a kpp probably chf/chb but has good pace and can be used as a tall midfielder as he is in metro south when he plays for plympton, wont be tall enough for ruck as he plays fo glenelgs 17s, dont know what position he played in the ressies yesterday though.

please crows dont let him slip through the net
Thanks for that mate.

I am loving what I am hearing. Hopefully he is next St. Nick:p.

I know for a fact that Fanto is already following his progress very closely. 15 year old cracking a game for reserves is huge achievement. i wouldn't be surprised if he cracks the seniors next year :D

Stiffy_18 said:
Thanks for that mate.

I am loving what I am hearing. Hopefully he is next St. Nick:p.

I know for a fact that Fanto is already following his progress very closely. 15 year old cracking a game for reserves is huge achievement. i wouldn't be surprised if he cracks the seniors next year :D

i dont know bout the next st nick but hey good kpp players are hard to find and we are going to get handed one on a silver platter, he will need time in the gym to develop i think looking at him now, wont be an afl ready player like st nick was, has a pretty skinny body but has 2 years to build that up, i think he was used sparringly yesterday in the ressies so i highly doubt he will be cracking league anytime soon unfortunately! but is an exciting prospect

RooDog said:
i think he was used sparringly yesterday in the ressies so i highly doubt he will be cracking league anytime soon unfortunately! but is an exciting prospect

I saw a bit of Bryce Gibbs on Saturday. He played on a half back flank in the reserves. Number 52, I always knew where he was as his family would yell out "go bryce!". I got there late in the second and he was on field until the end of the game. he was chasing Doggies jumpers early, but settled in the second half. Took a nice mark. He's a tall bugger.

I think Gibbs and Mick Aish's son's are possible Father/Son picks for AFC down the track, so that's why Fanto is watching them.

I'd love to see Elijah Ware and Danny Coleman at the Crows.

Jerome said:
I saw a bit of Bryce Gibbs on Saturday. He played on a half back flank in the reserves. Number 52, I always knew where he was as his family would yell out "go bryce!". I got there late in the second and he was on field until the end of the game. he was chasing Doggies jumpers early, but settled in the second half. Took a nice mark. He's a tall bugger.

I think Gibbs and Mick Aish's son's are possible Father/Son picks for AFC down the track, so that's why Fanto is watching them.

I'd love to see Elijah Ware and Danny Coleman at the Crows.

okay fair enough then, i just heard he was used sparringly off the bench from one of the parents at his sunday club, thats good then that they are giving him good game time to develop and i reckon its great they are playing him in the backlines it allows him to get a feel for the speed at the level.

how old is michael aish's son because i know how old the 2nd or 3.rd one is because his in year 4 or 5 i think at magil :confused: primary perhaps anyway somewhere in the sturt zone

Stiffy_18 said:

Dont really need to go into much more detail, you summed it up pretty well.

I see him starting as a Back flank...maybe some time on a wing or he may do alright taking the Kane Cornes tagging route. In the end I see him moving into the midfield and becoming very much a Simon Black type player. Awesome inside midfielder with fantastic skills as well. Has all the time in the world, always keeps his hands free, apt on both sides of his body, very strong leadership qualities, will be recognised as a gutsy hard player but not a Riccuito type big muscled bustling player. Seems to have a very good footy brain...you can see that he can see whats going to happen so he runs to the right spots and knows what he wants to do next.

By the time he reaches his peak it wouldnt surprise if he has multiple AA jumpers and a Brownlow. Will definately be a club captain.

Someone asked does he play like Beau Waters? No he doesnt. Less rugged and a lot more smooth moving and silkier skills.

Macca19 said:
Dont really need to go into much more detail, you summed it up pretty well.

I see him starting as a Back flank...maybe some time on a wing or he may do alright taking the Kane Cornes tagging route. In the end I see him moving into the midfield and becoming very much a Simon Black type player. Awesome inside midfielder with fantastic skills as well. Has all the time in the world, always keeps his hands free, apt on both sides of his body, very strong leadership qualities, will be recognised as a gutsy hard player but not a Riccuito type big muscled bustling player. Seems to have a very good footy brain...you can see that he can see whats going to happen so he runs to the right spots and knows what he wants to do next.

By the time he reaches his peak it wouldnt surprise if he has multiple AA jumpers and a Brownlow. Will definately be a club captain.

Someone asked does he play like Beau Waters? No he doesnt. Less rugged and a lot more smooth moving and silkier skills.
Thanks fro that mate. Pretty much confirms how I see him. Although I haven't seen him this year, I did see him play for the seniors last year on a few occasions. He will be a class act no doubt about it