Ryan O'Keefe - Underated

Benambra Bloods
Is Ryan O'Keefe the most underated player on the Swans list.

I mean when people talk about Syndey they think Hall & MOL up forward Goodes & Kirk in the middle and C.Bolton and Kennelly down back. What about ROK he leads the competition for contested marks this year and never plays a bad game he is one of if not the most consistant player in our team.

I was critical of his lack of goals as medium forward last year but when watching him play I could see he is more the type of player whom delivers into the 50 not the marking option inside. He is true lead up centre half forward.

Not to mention his AA selection!

Can run his opponent off his feet. Plays above his height with strong overhead marking. The thing that has disappointed me about him this season is his accuracy.

I personally think he could play out of the goal square with MO'L against Geelong this week, much like he did against the Budgies at Subiaco when we were without Hall.

Not to mention his AA selection!

Can run his opponent off his feet. Plays above his height with strong overhead marking. The thing that has disappointed me about him this season is his accuracy.

I personally think he could play out of the goal square with MO'L against Geelong this week, much like he did against the Budgies at Subiaco when we were without Hall.
Yes for someone who is usually such a good kick his accuracy is puzzeling. I personally would like to see Davis and MOL out of the goal square against the Cats keep ROK up field where he can continue what he has been doing so far this season.

I think that a lot of people - especially opposition supporters - see him as a forward, look at his relatively low goal tally, and mark him down a tad. It would be great if he could kick more goals, certainly if he could convert more of the opportunities he does get / create. But effectively he plays as a wingman more than a typical forward.

He's been superb so far this year, probably even better (on small number of games) than in 2006. I notice he is currently several points clear at the top of The Age's player of the year voting, and has scored votes in each of the 4 games so some in the media are noticing his contribution.

I think that a lot of people - especially opposition supporters - see him as a forward, look at his relatively low goal tally, and mark him down a tad. It would be great if he could kick more goals, certainly if he could convert more of the opportunities he does get / create. But effectively he plays as a wingman more than a typical forward.

He's been superb so far this year, probably even better (on small number of games) than in 2006. I notice he is currently several points clear at the top of The Age's player of the year voting, and has scored votes in each of the 4 games so some in the media are noticing his contribution.
Its kind of weird how the Media rates him he polls votes in the media awards and whenever his name does come up in discussion most commentators do actually rate his ability quite high.

Its just that his name rarely comes up in discussion about gun Sydney players which is more what I was refering to.

Your right perhaps his low goal tally does detract a bit from his game in the eyes of some.

a superstar
elite footballer
if he played for essendon or the pies he'd be talked about like judd, brown, etc
best hands in the league, the aerobic capacity of an elite midfielder and is as strong as most bigger players in a contest

Is Ryan O'Keefe the most underated player on the Swans list.

I mean when people talk about Syndey they think Hall & MOL up forward Goodes & Kirk in the middle and C.Bolton and Kennelly down back. What about ROK he leads the competition for contested marks this year and never plays a bad game he is one of if not the most consistant player in our team.

I was critical of his lack of goals as medium forward last year but when watching him play I could see he is more the type of player whom delivers into the 50 not the marking option inside. He is true lead up centre half forward.

Agreed,he is great to watch. Just seems to pluck the ball out of the air.I think he should be given a chance at CHF just to see how he goes. He always seems to be stuck out on the wing.

I don't think he's underrated. He's a great player and is rated really highly...isn't he?? I always thought he was one of our best and is rated accordingly!

ROK is underrated by victorian media and fans as a comparison to probly at least 20-30 non-swans players
ROK is a better player than up to 6 geelong "stars" (mooney, ottens, s johnson for starters), he's better than just about anyone at hawthorn or c'wood, and is better than every essendon player (with hird gone)
but you won't get any kind of agreement on that down here
in fact, i can hear their supporters right now, starting their sooking
that's how good i think ROK is now

ROK is underrated by victorian media and fans as a comparison to probly at least 20-30 non-swans players
ROK is a better player than up to 6 geelong "stars" (mooney, ottens, s johnson for starters), he's better than just about anyone at hawthorn or c'wood, and is better than every essendon player (with hird gone)

He is the best forward flanker in the AFL (as the position he currently plays).

The form he is in atm he is pretty much the ultimate footballer with one flaw. (Goalkicking of course).

Hope he can keep it up.

Definitely underrated. He works really hard and covers the ground, you most often see him in the flanks or even down in defense, and you think... WTF is he doing down there? Its great to see him running around loose at times and he's such a strong marker. Uses his body well to ride the bump and everything. Though, like as everyone says, his goal kicking is the reason why he's not rated highly but I think his efforts around the ground have been great. I particularly enjoyed his game on Saturday at ANZ Stadium, and not taking into account him missing some opportunities at set shots for goal, but his work rate has been high class. He works very hard and is always lurking in the defensive 50 helping out other team mates. And he tends to mark strongly in the forward 50. Its great.

He's not ated highly enough:p

Seriously, I've always rated his game very highly and see him as one of our most important players. In a way he reminds me of a Goodes type player, if they swapped positions he'd do OK in that role, but I like O'Keefe where he is and maybe at FF in the future.

His contested marking is UNMATCHED!

Fair enough! :cool:

i agree! totally underrated
its about time someone noticed his efforts!
runner up in best and fairest a couple of years aso...or was it last year?
if he leaves sydney
so do i!

his work rate is so high one min hes down ff then next hes in the oppositions forward 50! how can you match that? he runs somethin like 16km per day and in the game he just doesnt stop running!! hes a tank and i love him!

okeefe for b&f this year + AA!
maybs some brownlow votes tooo :)

Spoken with true passion. Onya Rancid. :thumbsu::thumbsu:

Now hold on a sec here.

I'm from Victoria and the attention he gets down here is ridiculous. Every single time I talk footy with anyone and we move onto the Swans, O'Keefe and Kennelly are the first players to come up (well not this week cause of Barry). He has been named in the last 3 AA squads.

But I'd almost go as far as to say he's overrated down here.

Dunno what everyones going on about :confused:

Agreed, SouthSwans.

Who are these people who underrated Ryan O'Keefe?

He's a staple in my fantasy sides, a star of the international rules game, and an AA HFF. He's got a massive motor to run defenders off their feet, and can outmark a midfielder that can run with him.

He tackles, chases, runs, presents, and hoofs it nicely off the left peg.

I think everyone knows how good he is. He can't STILL be underrated. You've been calling him underrated for 5 years. He's rated already!

NOW, as a fan of his... he lets himself down in one area. Goals. Be honest... for a HFF, does he kick enough goals? This year he's piled up the points, would like more 2-3 goal outtings.

Super consistent, super talented, super hard worker, and well and truly RATED.

Now hold on a sec here.

I'm from Victoria and the attention he gets down here is ridiculous. Every single time I talk footy with anyone and we move onto the Swans, O'Keefe and Kennelly are the first players to come up (well not this week cause of Barry). He has been named in the last 3 AA squads.

But I'd almost go as far as to say he's overrated down here.

Dunno what everyones going on about :confused:

mate, i've been in melbourne a bit over three years, and i cannot agree that he gets a mention every time, maybe i should be moving in your circles
what i generally hear from non-swans fans here is that goodes is overrated, hall is a thug (unfortunately i can no longer defend him), kennelly is a super runner, craig bolton is tough and brave, nick davis is a prck (often can't defend that either) and brett kirk is as close to paul kelly as is possible as the heart and soul of the club
o'keefe will get praise, yes, but nothing like what he deserves, which is why this thread is accurate
he IS under-rated
until he's discussed in the same, or at least similar terms as the judds, browns, franklins, fevolas, pavliches, etc, he remains under-rated as far as i'm concerned
because THAT is how i think he should be regarded
he's as good a player as goodes in our team, which means he's an elite

Agreed, SouthSwans.

Who are these people who underrated Ryan O'Keefe?

He's a staple in my fantasy sides, a star of the international rules game, and an AA HFF. He's got a massive motor to run defenders off their feet, and can outmark a midfielder that can run with him.

He tackles, chases, runs, presents, and hoofs it nicely off the left peg.

I think everyone knows how good he is. He can't STILL be underrated. You've been calling him underrated for 5 years. He's rated already!

NOW, as a fan of his... he lets himself down in one area. Goals. Be honest... for a HFF, does he kick enough goals? This year he's piled up the points, would like more 2-3 goal outtings.

Super consistent, super talented, super hard worker, and well and truly RATED.
I didn't so much mean that he isn't considered a great player more that when the media or most people in general talk of Sydney 5 or 6 names usually come up like Hall, Goodes, Kennelly, C.Bolton, Kirk O'Loughlin and O'Keefe hardly rates a mention when IMO he is alomost our best player.

I understand he rated he just doesn't get as much attention as the other big name form Sydney.

OK fair enough.

To me, those putting O'Keefe with Judd, Pavlich and J Brown need to calm down and take a quick reality pill.

He's not.

No. No seriously. He's not.

But that's not a bad thing. Just about nobody IS up with those guys.

In my experience, the outside perspective of the Swans is this:

Hall - big, mean, the forward line key
Kirk - the Swans' heart and soul and the best damn tagger going around
O'Keefe - Rolls Royce HFF who cannot be stopped, but whose impact needs to be minimised
Goodes - tag the hell out of him, because he CAN be stopped... or he can dominate like few others
C Bolton - nobody cares about him
O'Laughlin - is he still playing? Will kick 2 and have no impact
Nick Davis - turns up 3-4 times a year, tops, is a d1ck
Kennelly - the run out of the backline, will probably be hurt
Swans overall - the ultimate arm-wrestling team. Beat the good teams and the bad teams in the same way. You HAVE to play their way.

OK fair enough.

To me, those putting O'Keefe with Judd, Pavlich and J Brown need to calm down and take a quick reality pill.

He's not.

No. No seriously. He's not.

But that's not a bad thing. Just about nobody IS up with those guys..
Yeah thats fair enough I'm definatley not suggesting he is in the AFL's elite 5 or 10 but hes certainly in the next teir down.
In my experience, the outside perspective of the Swans is this:

Hall - big, mean, the forward line key
Kirk - the Swans' heart and soul and the best damn tagger going around
O'Keefe - Rolls Royce HFF who cannot be stopped, but whose impact needs to be minimised
Goodes - tag the hell out of him, because he CAN be stopped... or he can dominate like few others
C Bolton - nobody cares about him
O'Laughlin - is he still playing? Will kick 2 and have no impact
Nick Davis - turns up 3-4 times a year, tops, is a d1ck
Kennelly - the run out of the backline, will probably be hurt
Swans overall - the ultimate arm-wrestling team. Beat the good teams and the bad teams in the same way. You HAVE to play their way.
Looking at what you said about the players I'd say that most teams would care about C.Bolton and AA player in great form again this year other than that just about spot on. Which tells that our three most consistant players are Kirk, C.Bolton & R.O'Keefe and our three most damaging are Hall, Goodes & R.O'Keefe and the three most difficult to shut down would be Kirk, Kennelly & R.O'Keefe.