oooze

As a melbourne supporter the names thrown around the drafting table in 2003 were tenace, sylvia, mclean, ryley dunn, walker, bradley, clarke. And due to the priority pick system we had 2 of these in the top 5(3 and 5)!!! We were favoured to choose Dunn with our pick 5 however in the end we chose Sylvia and Mclean. At the time I was a bit dissapointed that we picked up Mclean with our second pick(no.5) because I was hoping that we would pick up Ryley Dunn. However at the current time I think Melbourne made the right choices and am thrilled with Mcleans performances and probably think that we probably have the 2 next best players behind cooney AT THIS STAGE. What has happened with Ryley Dunn..injured?...Is there much pressure on him to perform? He looked at likely type around draft time. He is a real tough nut and i think he is going to make a few clubs' recruiting managers embarrassed because they let him slip down to you guys. You are very lucky!
thoughts?

Had a broken collarbone last year. Something this year as well. Alludes my memory. Plays well when not injured. Needs an uninterrupted year to make an impact at AFL level.

The only young player from that year not yet signed. Mundy, Murphy and Campbell have signed already. Maybe trade bait at the end of the year. Is definately a player i hope we keep. As our midfield needs all the class it can get.

He's got good disposal and can kick a ball 60m no problem.

Yeah i will definately have him! Sylvia, Mclean, Dunn, Moloney would be a tough midfield of the future. I hope you do trade him although you would want a first round draft pick most likely.

rgauci said:
Had a broken collarbone last year. Something this year as well. Alludes my memory. Plays well when not injured. Needs an uninterrupted year to make an impact at AFL level.

The only young player from that year not yet signed. Mundy, Murphy and Campbell have signed already. Maybe trade bait at the end of the year. Is definately a player i hope we keep. As our midfield needs all the class it can get.

He's got good disposal and can kick a ball 60m no problem.

He had solid game for the mighty sharks on the W/E.

RIPPER_46 said:
He had solid game for the mighty sharks on the W/E.

Dare I point out that the mighty Sharks went down by a point to the mightier Cardinals t'other day?

I'd like to see Dunn playing AFL, reckon he's got real potential.

Kepler Bradley has probably been the best player from that draft this season, including Cooney, though McLean and Sylvia look like real quality players.

Ryleys lack of pace may see him struggle for a senior game this season. Hopefully he stays at Freo, but if he isn't signed up by round 20 he will probably leave. He may be used to bring a ruckman to the club, with Llane Spaanderman from Brisbane being a possible target.

I think he is just one of those unlucky footballers who are in the wrong place at the wrong time.He keeps getting injured & I think the biggest problem he has now is that he vying for a spot in the 22 with Bell, Hazelby & J Carr all 3 lack pace as does Dunn the last thing Freo need is 4 slowish midfielders on the park together. Having said that I believe he is a very talented footballer who will play regular AFL football but not sure at which club.I hear he has been offered a new contract but there must be a sticking point :confused:

I've been big on Ryley since his U-18 days, and was praying we would pick him up. I was disappointed we passed up on him, but the fact we picked up Tenace instead somewhat eased the pain.

From what I can gather, injuries seem to be the main anchor that's holding him back from stringing together consistent games.

Ryley definitely has the potential to be a great AFL player, and I'm sure he'll prove so in the near future. This talk of a clogged up midfield shouldn't stop him from getting a game. He has the ability to make it as a half forward flanker, much in the same way Sylvia is learning his trade in Melbourne at the moment, as he bides his time.

I'll be interested to see how negotiations go.

I like him.. still remember that 70m goal he kicked pre season v adelaide (or was it 80.. ;) )

Perfect replacement for when Cookie and Macca give it away (we only need 1, and finally we'll have 1, and thankfully that 1 will be able to kick).

I don't think he'll bring back in a trade what he should be worth to be honest.

When you have kids like Dunn running about fit you've gotta wonder why Macca is getting a game. I'd rather have a young developing tough nut in the side that may make a few mistakes than have a serial goal sprayer.

It's time for the next generation!

oooze said:
I hope you do trade him although you would want a first round draft pick most likely.

Steven Armstrong would probably be involved if Ryley was to go to Melbourne. I hope he stays though. The last thing we need is to lose a young developing midfielder.

fat wombat said:
When you have kids like Dunn running about fit you've gotta wonder why Macca is getting a game. I'd rather have a young developing tough nut in the side that may make a few mistakes than have a serial goal sprayer.

It's time for the next generation!
Thats what I say and yet people still insist on bringing old man Schofield into the side.

But really what has Dunn done in the WAFL? I check the best players each week. He never cracks a mention. Talent is one thing but you have to show what you've got. He hasn't done that yet.

Compare him to say Dylan Smith who week after week manages to rack up posessions in a side weaker than water. Or Happy Gilmour or even Brett Peake who is at least getting his hands on the pill.

Dr Ralph Dagg said:
But really what has Dunn done in the WAFL? I check the best players each week. He never cracks a mention. Talent is one thing but you have to show what you've got. He hasn't done that yet.

Compare him to say Dylan Smith who week after week manages to rack up posessions in a side weaker than water. Or Happy Gilmour or even Brett Peake who is at least getting his hands on the pill.

Yes Dr Ralph, Dunny has not set the world on fire despite being given a couple of starts on potential alone.

He should stay in the WAFL until he demands to be put in the senior team.

Sometimes I think the high draft picks think they can just turn up whereas the rookie picks seem to show much more determination & desperation to get in the team.

But then I suppose they have to.

My husband took my Sharks-mad son to the game on Sunday, and he came away (husband) saying he was impressed by both Dunn and Peake on the day. I am looking forward to the day that Dunn shows us all what he is really capable of.

ImperialPurple said:
My husband took my Sharks-mad son to the game on Sunday, and he came away (husband) saying he was impressed by both Dunn and Peake on the day.
Good news , The most info I could glean is that Dunny had a "solid" game. Hope He keeps it going.
SOB appears to have come on heaps this year.

ImperialPurple said:
I am looking forward to the day that Dunn shows us all what he is really capable of.

So am I . I suppose I am guilty of expecting too much too so from Ryley. Probably because of the hype that he gets.

BTW, who does Alvin support?

RIPPER_46 said:
BTW, who does Alvin support?

Was a Cardies man in his younger days... but really didn't follow football all that closely until I brainwashed him!! He's an English Lit teacher, so more of a wordsmith than a sportshead!

My two daughters have followed in my footsteps and support Souths, so Mr Purple lends his support to the young fella and has developed a liking for the Sharks.

I've seen him in a couple of Wafl games last year & some pre-season & wafl games this year.....to me he just doesn't seem to have it, & I can only go from the games I have seen. Sure, he is hard at it, but his kicking, albeit long, is often wasted & he doesn't seem to read the football, espicially since being played in defense this year.

Saying that, the last game I saw, EF v WP, he was on & off the ground with som e sort of leg injury, he had no vertical leap on him & whoever he played on, Dunny was beaten.

On the +'ve side, yes he does has a predigious kick but he needs to develop his skills rather than blaze away. If Melbourne are keen to trade for him at end of year, I'd be keen for him to go.....but only for a KPP.

ImperialPurple said:
My two daughters have followed in my footsteps and support Souths, so Mr Purple lends his support to the young fella and has developed a liking for the Sharks.

Supporting the sharks are like a good bottle of red. The occasional vintage is sh*thouse but over time you get many good vintages. :)

Wheras poor old souths they've got used to crap vintages and nothing changes. :D

Freo Shark said:
Supporting the sharks are like a good bottle of red. The occasional vintage is sh*thouse but over time you get many good vintages. :)

Wheras poor old souths they've got used to crap vintages and nothing changes. :D
ARRGGHH go chew on your wooden spoon ;)

lets be honest, he hasnt had that many injuries. he broke his collarbone about round 9 last year but he was strugging before that. i have always been interested in dunn because both he and waters seem to be similar types and picked up very close in the draft.

he was recruited as a midfielder but has been playing back pocket for the sharks. i think he came out and said he wanted to play that role in the senior side. to be it seems a waste but he obviously knows best. he certainly hasnt shone for the sharks this year but playing in the back pocket its not easy to shine.

in his AFL games so far he hasnt seemed to adapt to the tempo very well. im not sure if that was due to his pace or awareness.