Sacramento Kings
SANFL Player Reports - Round Three
Andrew Montesi
afc.com.au
11:46:29 AM Wed 21 April, 2004

Sturt V Glenelg

Martin Mattner – Sturt
Playing on a half back flank for the majority of the match, Mattner produced a trademark match littered with “one-per centers”. His ability to chase hard, tackle, bump, provide a shepherd, smother and consistently spoil the ball from opposition hands always puts him a level above many players. In attack, Mattner was constantly able to finish with great skill and composure. However, what was most impressive about Mattner was his work rate, which was kept to a high standard for the entire four quarters. After defeating all opponents on the day, Mattner would be well pleased with his efforts.

Matthew Smith – Sturt
Smith produced a solid effort for four quarters on the last line of defence. Playing full back, Matthew Smith’s first priority was to quash the opposition full forward’s efforts. This was achieved, with various opponents only managing to kick one major between them whilst against Smith. Matthew was also prepared to attack, taking every opportunity to run off his opponent and propel Sturt into attack. In a day of fairly limited opportunities for a backman, Smith was able to stand tall and be a contributor to the team.

Rowan Andrews (Rookie) – Glenelg Reserves
Easily best on ground on Saturday, Andrews would be very unlucky to not make his league debut this week. His ability to work hard for four quarters was an asset to his team, as he managed to get back in defence and provide an option up forward. However, the standout facet of Andrews’ game was his marking. Showing the discipline to play in front all day, Andrews took numerous courageous marks, and many marks around the ground. His ruck work at centre bounces and around the ground was particularly pleasing, managing to consistently palm the ball to a teammate’s advantage. Andrews also worked extremely hard at ground level, a rare trait for a big man, and on several occasions gained the ball after second efforts to pass it off effectively by either hand or foot. Overall, a standout match for Rowan Andrews.

North Adelaide V Norwood

Ian Perrie – North Adelaide
Playing at centre half forward for the entirety of the match, Perrie will certainly be staking his claim for a call up this week. His work rate was excellent, whether it was on the second or third lead Perrie always presented himself as an option. Ian Perrie’s skills were top class, and was particularly good on either side of his body by both hand and foot. His ability to provide a contest at every opportunity was significant in bringing other players into the game at ground level. Ian Perrie was a constant source of attack for North Adelaide, and because of this his name is sure to come up around the Adelaide selection table.

Tim Hazell (Rookie) – Norwood
Tim Hazell dominated the first quarter, and because of this was heavily tagged thereafter. Putting in consistently great performances in recent weeks was bound to draw him extra attention. This aside, Hazell still managed to be a significant contributor for Norwood and gained 23 possessions. His skills were still second to none, never missing a target throughout the course of the match and making every statistic count. The tagging experience will only serve as a learning curb for Hazell who is sure improve next week.

Central V Eagles

Robert Shirley – Eagles
One of the main protagonists in the Eagles upset victory, Shirley put in a great performance. His game was again played at its usual high intensity, where his work rate and competitiveness were second to none. All day the Central District on-ballers were made to work for every possession. Shirley was not afraid to “get dirty”, consistently doing the “hard things” to turn the ball over to the Eagles advantage. His desperation was outstanding, showing great courage and his tackling was a standout. Robert Shirley’s efforts on the weekend will give him the opportunity of regaining his spot in the side sooner rather than later.

Nathan Bock – Eagles
Bock was another solid performer in the Eagles victory on the weekend. Playing predominantly in defensive roles, he managed to defeat his opponent, Luke Cowan, who only managed to kick one goal. Nathan Bock managed to sneak a goal for himself, which came at a vital stage in the match. Nathan’s use of the ball was fantastic by either hand or foot. This was particularly so in the last line of defence where he used the ‘switch of play’ method to great effect. Although not dominating Saturday’s proceedings, Bock showed a good understanding of team principles and was a great benefit to the Eagles victory.

Hayden Skipworth – Eagles
Hayden Skipworth’s efforts were fantastic on the weekend, being rated by many as the best on ground performer. Skipworth gained 18 possessions, which is short of his usual high average, but his ability to make every one count whilst also performing the unrecognized efforts of tackling, shepherding and contesting made him one of the Eagles’ most valuable players on the day. Skipworth showed his worth when tagged heavily in the second half, as he still managed to stay on top and maintain his great value to the Eagles midfield. Consistent good efforts from Hayden Skipworth will see a contender for Adelaide selection.

Fergus Watts – Eagles Reserves
The return to football of gun recruit Fergus Watts will put a smile to any Crows supporters face. Returning from injury, Watts was a great performer for the Eagles reserves. Although slightly under done in terms of match practice, Watts took little time to get back into the swing of things. Fergus’ attack on the ball was particularly impressive, whether at ground level or in the air. He showed a fearlessness that would have impressed the likes of Gary Ayres. Playing at centre half forward, Fergus Watts showed glimpses of a young star in the making. Many on lookers will be interested in his progress in the coming weeks.

Jason Torney – Norwood Reserves (due to South bye)
Playing in the Norwood seconds due to South Adelaide’s bye, Torney was excellent in what would have been a foreign environment. Unlucky not be picked for the match against St Kilda, Torney again put his name up to the Adelaide selectors. His teamwork could not be faulted, looking at home amongst his makeshift Norwood teammates. Jason worked extremely hard at ground level, and distributed the ball to good affect by either hand or foot. Torney was particularly effective at stoppages, finishing off good work with clean and precise ball handling. Whilst others began to tire around him, Torney ran the game out well and certainly proved that he is AFL material.

West Adelaide V Port Adelaide

Brad Dabrowski (Rookie) – West Adelaide
Brad Dabrowski produced a solid effort for West Adelaide against Port on Saturday. Playing as a second ruckman to West’s dominant Pat Steinfort, Dabrowski still managed to make the most of limited opportunities. Brad managed to have a significant impact playing as a link man, where he managed to force the ball to West’s favour on several occasions out wide. Dabrowski used his body effectively, particularly around the ground and in marking contests. Given more opportunities next week, Dabrowski will be looking to have a more significant impact on the match.

Ben Rutten – West Adelaide
It was a great return to league football for Ben Rutten, whose name is beginning to come up as a ‘possible’ for AFL selection in the coming weeks. Playing at centre half forward for West, Rutten moved very well and created space for himself and fellow forwards. Rutten gained 14 kicks simply because of hard work, and finished well with 8 possessions in the final quarter. West Adelaide relished in having Rutten as a target up forward, who drew smaller players into the game by forcing a contest at every opportunity. With continued solid performances, Ben Rutten could find himself looking at a promotion in due course.

Ronnie Burns – Port Adelaide
Playing in a forward line that probably wasn’t functioning at its best, Ronnie Burns still managed to impress as he looks to force his way into the Adelaide side. Burns gave everything for his teammates, providing shepherds and making space for other forwards. When in possession, Ronnie looked all class whilst attacking the ball strongly, marking cleanly and his goal kicking was pinpoint. Burns had four goals straight to his name at the conclusion of the match. Burns’ work rate was fantastic for the entirety of the match and is certainly pushing for selection.
==============================================

Watts and andrews bring a smile to my face :D

So removing the rose coloured glasses of whoever writes those reports we can see that most vere just above average and a couple of average.

If Torney can't dominate against North reserves, something is wrong.

Originally posted by Jars458
So removing the rose coloured glasses of whoever writes those reports we can see that most vere just above average and a couple of average.

If Torney can't dominate against North reserves, something is wrong.
C'mon mate,

Watts will be the best CHF the game has ever seen and Andrews will be 3 times better player than Shaun Rehn ever was :p:):D

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
C'mon mate,

Watts will be the best CHF the game has ever seen and Andrews will be 3 times better player than Shaun Rehn ever was :p:):D

I have to admit - these two are the ones that pleased me. Even allowing for the fact that the author of the article was wearing rose coloured glasses, was still basking in the afterglow of passionate sex, and had just drunk 6 chardies, I have had very good reports about both these players from the weekend. :D

A marking CHF and a marking ruckman - doesn't that bring a smile to your face!! :p

SANFL Player Reports - Round Three
Andrew Montesi
afc.com.au
11:46:29 AM Wed 21 April, 2004

Sturt V Glenelg

Martin Mattner – Sturt
Playing on a half back flank for the majority of the match, Mattner produced a trademark match littered with “one-per centers”. His ability to chase hard, tackle, bump, provide a shepherd, smother and consistently spoil the ball from opposition hands always puts him a level above many players. In attack, Mattner was constantly able to finish with great skill and composure. However, what was most impressive about Mattner was his work rate, which was kept to a high standard for the entire four quarters. After defeating all opponents on the day, Mattner would be well pleased with his efforts.
fancy that, no mention of his gutless effort of pushing a Glenelg player already over the boundary line headlong into the dugout

Matthew Smith – Sturt
This was achieved, with various opponents only managing to kick one major between them whilst against Smith.
...<snip>...

If ever there was a sad indictment on a player that would have to be it.

Ah well, at least they haven't had to resort to congratulating anyone on their fine display of punching the ball this week.

Originally posted by macca23
A marking CHF and a marking ruckman - doesn't that bring a smile to your face!! :p
Does it ever.

If Andrews gets to be a good AFL player, I for one owuld be bloody happy. Not the most athletic bloke going around but from all reports he does have a crack. Maybe he is a younger version of Ben Hudson :D

Some comments

If I hear the reference to Smith running off his opponent one more time I swear I'll scream:mad:

Matthew Smith – Sturt
Smith produced a solid effort for four quarters on the last line of defence. Playing full back, Matthew Smith’s first priority was to quash the opposition full forward’s efforts. This was achieved, with various opponents only managing to kick one major between them whilst against Smith. Matthew was also prepared to attack, taking every opportunity to run off his opponent and propel Sturt into attack. In a day of fairly limited opportunities for a backman, Smith was able to stand tall and be a contributor to the team.

Swear its said every bloody report.

Mattner, I must admit I'm still bit of a fan, and I'll keep supporting him (for a while yet)

With a need for midfielders Hazell is not doing himself any harm - does anyone know what his pace is like? Is surely better option than Skippy, and Shirley?

Originally posted by Wayne's-World
Mattner, I must admit I'm still bit of a fan, and I'll keep supporting him (for a while yet)
:eek: *cringes*

Hazell is not quick but he is not slow either. He has a "normal" pace. I think Hazell is better option than Shirley and Skippy.

IMHO, early favourites for selistings are Shirley, Skippy and Mattner.

If Andrews continues his improvement I reckon he could be promoted come the end of the year or at least be kept on the rookie list for another year.

You're very quick to make your judgments aren't you?

No games, Krueger is a future 'athletic full forward who takes contested marks'

One good game in reserves, Andrews is pushing for promotion or a year extra and Watts is a future gun CHF

Four reasonable games in defence, Hentschel is a future 'star rebounding CHB'

A couple of mediocre pre-season games and Shirley is a favourite for delisting

A couple of GOOD pre-season games, and Skipworth is STILL a favourite for delisting

Sorry to seem like Im going after you mate, but you do seem to rush really quickly into your player judgments on the basis of one or two games.

Originally posted by spindoctor
You're very quick to make your judgments aren't you?

Sorry to seem like Im going after you mate, but you do seem to rush really quickly into your player judgments on the basis of one or two games.

Now I'll admit Stiffy clearly has his favourites and backs them.

In fairness to Stiffy, he has been asking people who go to SANFL games - in this thread Naughty Monkey and in various others myself - what we thought of Crows players at SANFL level.

He's not just relying on the AFC site - and nor should anyone. Rose coloured glasses is an understatement (that review of Shirley what game was the reviewer at??)!

He has asked for first hand accounts to form hiw own profile of the players, so dont be so quick to get stuck into him.

My own views are that Andrews was good a couple of weeks ago. Good mark, nice long kick. was beaten early by the Dogs but came back in 2nd and third quarters and provided a contest and might make a handy forward option. Andrews chances of getting a senior gig are slim with Glenelg already playing two ruckmen (Griffo and Golding at FF). I'd like to see more of him before I comment on him getting a senior gig with AFC. However he does seem like a handy option.

Watts looked good last week took marks, kicked goals, lead hard, commanded the ball. Needs match fitness and has to work on field kicking. Might get a run this week in the A's with Poo out. The guy looks like AFL material and could be a Crow within a few months.

:eek: *cringes*

Hazell is not quick but he is not slow either. He has a "normal" pace. I think Hazell is better option than Shirley and Skippy.

IMHO, early favourites for selistings are Shirley, Skippy and Mattner.

If Andrews continues his improvement I reckon he could be promoted come the end of the year or at least be kept on the rookie list for another year.
Hazell had big wraps placed on him prior to his horror injury run.

Andrews, with his body weight, will be kept on the rookie list for another year, he is after all still playing seconds footy.
Is sounding good - if nothing else he has the attributes and approach I like in a bigman.

Originally posted by spindoctor

A couple of mediocre pre-season games and Shirley is a favourite for delisting

A couple of GOOD pre-season games, and Skipworth is STILL a favourite for delisting

In the cold hard light of day, forgetting whether they have played good PS games or even a few good AFL games, these guys at best are average footballers. It wouldn't matter who replaced them, either in the draft or by trade, the replacements would be no worse than equal to their talent.

Ian Perrie’s skills were top class, and was particularly good on either side of his body by both hand and foot.

How can it be particularly good in every single facet of disposal? Surely particularly implies a 'specialty'. Kinda funny when you stick too many superlatives together.

Originally posted by Jerome
Now I'll admit Stiffy clearly has his favourites and backs them.

In fairness to Stiffy, he has been asking people who go to SANFL games - in this thread Naughty Monkey and in various others myself - what we thought of Crows players at SANFL level.

He's not just relying on the AFC site - and nor should anyone. Rose coloured glasses is an understatement (that review of Shirley what game was the reviewer at??)!

He has asked for first hand accounts to form hiw own profile of the players, so dont be so quick to get stuck into him.

My own views are that Andrews was good a couple of weeks ago. Good mark, nice long kick. was beaten early by the Dogs but came back in 2nd and third quarters and provided a contest and might make a handy forward option. Andrews chances of getting a senior gig are slim with Glenelg already playing two ruckmen (Griffo and Golding at FF). I'd like to see more of him before I comment on him getting a senior gig with AFC. However he does seem like a handy option.

Watts looked good last week took marks, kicked goals, lead hard, commanded the ball. Needs match fitness and has to work on field kicking. Might get a run this week in the A's with Poo out. The guy looks like AFL material and could be a Crow within a few months.
Thank you Jerome ;)

I do take interest in watching a fair bit of SANFL games. When ever I get a chance I go to a game. Usually the one that will have a few Crows listed players featuring.

Andrew I have seen play once and that was against Glenelg for Crows 2nds. I said there that I liked a couple of things he has done. I have since asked Jerome what he thought of his game against Centrals a couple of weeks ago. All the reports I am hearing is that he is having a fair dinkum crack. Considering he is a ruckman (who geherally take longer to develop) and showing the attributes you want in a player, I thinkn its fair to say that you would keep him for a while to see how he pans out.

I have never been a big fan of Shirley or Skipworth. As Wayne's World said I at best they are average players. When a lot of people were saying Shirley is in our best 22, I was debating that strongly.

Watts I have seen play on 7 occasions. Once for Crows against Glenelg, 3 times in the U18 championships and 3 times in TAC Cup for Sandringham dragons. I love the way he plays and I am prepared to say that he will be a one of the best CHF in the leage in the next few years. There is lot to like about him. As Jerome said his field kicking needs work and one of my critisisms is that for a bloke who is as good a contested mark as he is, watts doesn't kick enough goals. Maybe its the way he was played in Sandringham.

I have watched Hentschel play just about mre than anyone on this board. He has shown all the attributes to suggest he can be a very damaging rebounding CHB. Shoot me if I believe that he is a genuine prospect after watching some 20 games of Hentschel.

If I think a player is capable I will back him to the end and will stand up by my predictions until proven wrong.

Yes Krueger's back is major concern and yes there is a chance that he will not play again but why not show some confidence and hope.

And spindoctor if I was quick to make judgment I would have said Jericho was a star in the making after I saw him make his debut for West Adelaide LAST year. I usually make a judgment after watching a player on at least 5 occasions ;)

Watts I have seen play on 7 occasions. Once for Crows against Glenelg, 3 times in the U18 championships and 3 times in TAC Cup for Sandringham dragons. I love the way he plays and I am prepared to say that he will be a one of the best CHF in the leage in the next few years. There is lot to like about him. As Jerome said his field kicking needs work and one of my critisisms is that for a bloke who is as good a contested mark as he is, watts doesn't kick enough goals. Maybe its the way he was played in Sandringham.

Don't let them ever dampen your enthusiasm with negativity, young Stiffmeister!!! You at least have the guts to stick your neck out and have an opinion on a player before he's made it rather than after. You just keep on keeping on!! ;)

As for Watts, the only flaw I could pick up in him in the pre-season as his field kicking. I'm amazed they haven't done some work on this with him, because it's a very minor fault. He has the ball tilted a few degrees off centre when he kicks it, which leads to a type of miskick on occasions.

As for his future I'm with you in that I also think that he will be one of the very best CHF's in the league in the next few years.

Originally posted by macca23
Don't let them ever dampen your enthusiasm with negativity, young Stiffmeister!!! You at least have the guts to stick your neck out and have an opinion on a player before he's made it rather than after. You just keep on keeping on!! ;)
Cheers mate ;)

I am more than happy to stick my neck out if I believe in something.

Watts' field kicking is not shocking but its not perfect either. There is just a minor glitch and something that can be fixed. I would be surprised if he doesn't get that right in the future.

Krueger is a bit of a guess work but hey why not make a bold prediction ;):p

Originally posted by Jars458
I don't get much out of these reports at all. We would get more realistic reports if the ex-Iraq information minister took over! :o

naughty monkey have you seen Andrews play on the weekend and if so what did you think??????

Cheers

nup, never got there until after 1/4 time.
I can't recall the last time I actually made it to the footy in time to see the reserves anyway.

Originally posted by Jerome
...<snip>...

Don't agre with you there Jerome. Golding played as a forward most of the day. He relieved Griffo for a few minutes towards the end of the quarters and was crap. Cranston has also been rucking on occasions.

There is definitely room for Andrews in this Glenelg side.
Griffiths looked good across half-forward and took a few good grabs resulting in one goal from about 50 out. I got the feeling Noble would have loved to have left him there longer but we were getting smashed in the ruck contests, so it was catch-22.

If Herbert had not done a knee it may have been different.

Just on Griffo, I cannot believe the transformation in him! He actually looks like a league player now. He's filled out a bit. Took a few good contested marks and looked a lot more confident. What was he like against the dogs?

I think we've been taking these reports too much at face value, and not delving in deep enough for their true meaning. I've had a closer look and I think this is what they're really trying to say.

]SANFL Player Reports - Round Three

Sturt V Glenelg

Martin Mattner – Sturt
.... Mattner produced a trademark match littered with “one-per centers ........

True meaning

Martin got about 1% of his game right. The other 99% was rubbish!!

Matthew Smith – Sturt
.... taking every opportunity to run off his opponent ........

True meaning

Mathew's opponent kept threatening to hit him and Matthew kept running away!!

Rowan Andrews (Rookie) – Glenelg Reserves
............ a standout match for Rowan Andrews......

True meaning

Rowan thought it was a bit cold on Saturday so he decided to stand out and not play.

North Adelaide V Norwood

Ian Perrie – North Adelaide
............. Perrie will certainly be staking his claim ..........

True meaning

Ian thought he saw a lump of gold on Prospect Oval and he's gonna stake a claim so he can go gold mining on it.

Tim Hazell (Rookie) – Norwood
Tim Hazell ....... was heavily tagged.......

True meaning

Tim's a bit on the small side so we put a real big label on him so that we can find him.

Central V Eagles

Robert Shirley – Eagles
......Shirley was not afraid to “get dirty”.......

True meaning

Robert kept calling his opponent a mother ****** all day!!

Nathan Bock – Eagles
............ he used the ‘switch of play’ method ........

True meaning

Nathan is experimenting with alternatives to the rythm method when having sex with his girlfriend.

Hayden Skipworth – Eagles
......... his ability to make every one count .............

True meaning

Hayden managed to get up to ten when counting his fingers after the game.

Fergus Watts – Eagles Reserves
............Watts took little time to get back into the swing.......

True meaning

Frergus showed great courage at the playground this week, getting straight back into a swing after falling out of it.

Jason Torney – Norwood Reserves (due to South bye)
.....Torney again put his name up to the Adelaide selectors ......

True meaning

For some strange reason the selectors keep calling Jason "Harold", a point which annoys Jason.

West Adelaide V Port Adelaide

Brad Dabrowski (Rookie) – West Adelaide
.....Given more opportunities next week, Dabrowski will be looking to have a more significant impact on the match .....

True meaning

Dabrowski played an absolute sh*tter!!

Ben Rutten – West Adelaide
.....Ben Rutten, whose name is beginning to come up as a ‘possible’ ........

True meaning

Ben is another who the selectors have remembering his name.

Ronnie Burns – Port Adelaide
Burns gave everything for his teammates.

True meaning

Ronnie was a big hit with the Port boys for sharing 6 flagons with them after the game.

Originally posted by naughty monkey
[B
Just on Griffo, I cannot believe the transformation in him! He actually looks like a league player now. He's filled out a bit. Took a few good contested marks and looked a lot more confident. What was he like against the dogs? [/B]

Griffo was crap against the Dogs. He was rotated off the bench with Golding. He had a bad day Griffo but did liven things up a bit at the end of the second when he ran off the bench into some Dogs.

Golding didnt look any better. I'm surprised Glenelg decided to play him up forward with a stint in the ruck. Glenelg don't usually start with someone over 5'10 in their forward line from the first bounce. I never thought it would happen.