Toast Sauce appreciation thread

And only 25 years old, yet to enter Prime years as a Ruckman.

I like the way Tip was used today as well.

Yeah great role for Tippo, can float in and out o the forward line and have a real impact as opposed to being sat on by up to as many as three blokes...

But the real story here is Sauce Jacobs..he is an 'unbelievable' pick up...apparently a fourth string ruckman at the blues....Carlton got that one wrong surely!! Kreuzer obviously could be anything and would have been rated no.1 but as for the other two, he is better now than them two put together will ever be and he will only get better an better...

All season he's been really good at getting his hand to the ball, but i reckon earlier he seemed to palm every second one straight to the opposition. With the midfield performing much much better recently, i think his effectiveness has really improved.

I'm also really surprised at his field kicking. I expected him to be a big unco dude that can ruck, and the reports out of Carlton were that he was a great tap ruckman but needed to improve his influence around the ground.

He seems really sure of himself with his short passing by foot, and rarely turns it over or misses a target.

To be fair, I think quite a few of the Carlton posters were of that same opinion, which is why they were so filthy to lose him.

Yep, Carlton supporters and the club knew Jacobs would be a good player. That is why he played in the final last year. The club spent 4 years developing him and offered him a contract. At the time of trade week everyone accused Carlton of overrating its players when they wanted more than pick 33 or whatever it was for him, now you can see why they rightly expected more for him. I was disappointed to lose him and was disappointed with Jacobs for not seeming to care if Carlton was adequately compensated for all the time and effort they put into him. He was taken as a rookie and then elevated onto he senior list when no other clubs seemed interested in him.
Good luck to him but i hope he always remembers and appreciates who gave him his opportunity.

You must mean Adelaide, unless you call running around in the VFL behind 3 other ruckman an opportunity.....:D

Out of interest Keyza, do you think he'd be getting a run for the blues this season? I'd guess he's well ahead of Hampson now, but would he be in front of Warnock? I know it's hard to tell cause if Sauce were at the blues still they may be running a completely different set up.

All season he's been really good at getting his hand to the ball, but i reckon earlier he seemed to palm every second one straight to the opposition. With the midfield performing much much better recently, i think his effectiveness has really improved.

I'm also really surprised at his field kicking. I expected him to be a big unco dude that can ruck, and the reports out of Carlton were that he was a great tap ruckman but needed to improve his influence around the ground.

He seems really sure of himself with his short passing by foot, and rarely turns it over or misses a target.

Agree with all of this mate.

I still think he feeds the opposition a bit too much, but it's always going to happen, especially when you win as many taps as he does.

And he looks like he should be an unco ****, but he's not!

Yep, Carlton supporters and the club knew Jacobs would be a good player. That is why he played in the final last year. The club spent 4 years developing him and offered him a contract. At the time of trade week everyone accused Carlton of overrating its players when they wanted more than pick 33 or whatever it was for him, now you can see why they rightly expected more for him. I was disappointed to lose him and was disappointed with Jacobs for not seeming to care if Carlton was adequately compensated for all the time and effort they put into him. He was taken as a rookie and then elevated onto he senior list when no other clubs seemed interested in him.

To be fair though, wasn't he only in your side in the final year because everybody else was injured, unfit or out of form?

He was your fourth (I think?) ruck in line, almost seems like a lot of Carlton people knew he should've been much higher up in the pecking order, but they weren't willing to demote the other guys to get him there?

You must mean Adelaide, unless you call running around in the VFL behind 3 other ruckman an opportunity.....:D

Out of interest Keyza, do you think he'd be getting a run for the blues this season? I'd guess he's well ahead of Hampson now, but would he be in front of Warnock? I know it's hard to tell cause if Sauce were at the blues still they may be running a completely different set up.

By giving him an opportunity i mean drafting him in the first place in the rookie draft and then spending 4 years developing him. Do you think he would be where he is today if they hadnt taken him in the first place and then made him the player he has become. I am sure Jacobs would be getting a game with Carlton at present, as for Hampson who knows how good he will become, injuries have cruelled him so far. Hampson was playing well when he got his latest injury. He played in the VFL today and kicked 3 goals in a half. Will be interesting to see if gets a game ahead of Warnock comes finals.
Carlton delisted Jacobs after his first 2 years on the rookie list as the rules say they must. All of the other clubs had the opportunity to draft him but when they didnt Carlton re-drafted him back onto the rookie list for a 3rd year and then elevated him onto the senior list in this 4 th year. Just saying that the 4 years we spent on him have now paid off for him and we didnt get enough compensation. So as i said i hope Jacobs appreciates what Carlton did for him.

Yeah Sorry Keysa, i was just being an ass!!

I didnt know the history there with the delisting/rerookieing etc, thanks for that. Sounds like he's done it the hard way.

Sauce, Leuenberger, Goldstein and Naitanui will be the best 4 big men in the game by 2013.

(Edit: make it 5 with Zac Smith)

He hasn't achieved more than all the others yet, but he's definitely shown more.

Actually JP I think I owe you an apology as I misread the original post you were replying to. If your saying he is already the best behind Rehn then yes you may have a point. I thought for a minute you were saying he is already the best we have had including Rehn.:eek:

As I said my mistake:)

Sauce, Leuenberger, Goldstein and Naitanui will be the best 4 big men in the game by 2013.

(Edit: make it 5 with Zac Smith)

Kreuzer will be better than the lot of them if he can stay healthy. Naitanui is overrated. Shows some highlights but there is no meat and potatoes to his game. You can't just rely on highlight reel plays all the time. He's the Brett Rainbow of the AFL (any 1990s NBL fans out there?). Type of guy who looks amazing on a mix tape but when you watch him live you see the weaknesses. Strictly my opinion.

Didn't see this thread before I shared my blog. Sorry all.

As far as Warnock goes, I don't rate him as much as I rate Hampson. Warnock is too easily pushed under and out of position. Hampson creates a contest and crashes packs. If Warnock weren't 206cm he'd not be in the AFL whereas a guy like Hampson does more than just centre bounce ruck work.

Warnock is great against teams that don't have rucks (Vs Melbourne he dominated Stefan Martin and a kid in Max Gawn) or against teams that rely on one ruck when they wear down (Goldstein destroyed him in the first half but when he tired Warnock thanks to Kreuzer sharing the load was able to become a match winner). Otherwise, he simply doesn't offer enough.

Jacobs, on the other hand, I would have kept him over the other two. I do believe he'd have stayed - was a favorite of most of the players but Carlton simply had invested too much in the other two without even getting to Kreuzer, whose versatility and mobility would have enabled him to play anywhere and with another ruck with ease as he has done since coming back into the side from the knee injury. Sauce coming out of contract with the other investment forced the Blues hand. I almost assure you had Warnock and/or Hampson come out of contract rather than simply Sauce then he'd have stayed. Great get - was worth a first round pick but when you have no real hand to bluff with the Blues did what they could lest they allow Jacobs to play the Luke Ball game and none of the three parties (Adelaide, Carlton and Jacobs) wanted it to come to that.

It's kind of ironic. Before Jacobs ever looked likely at being promoted (and apparently it was touch and go for a while) I e-mailed Jeff Kennett and the former Hawk recruitment manager (forget his name, it's almost 7:00am here, forgive me) back in about August of 2009 after I had heard that Carlton wasn't going to retain Jacobs and having had my mother's cousin formerly on Hawthorn's board to look into Jacobs. Told them that he was going to become a ripper of a ruckman, was a great club man, genuinely nice (funny and smart) guy and that he thoroughly deserved an opportunity on a list. With their dearth of ruck (Bailey had been injured with another knee injury) I figured the Hawks would fancy him. Within a day or so both had responded to my communication essentially stating "Thanks but the guy's a spud. Better luck next time, schmuck." -- Got an e-mail from the Hawks a year later (after Carlton had promoted him and he had shown as much as he had) if I knew any other players who had escaped the radar.

I'm glad he's playing well. He deserves it. Go Sauce!

Cheers Wic - interesting info :)

I think the fact that you guys recruited Warnock in would've had to have been a factor; I guess fair enough that Jacobs was behind Kreuz and maybe Hampson, but when you then chased and paid for another ruckman, would've been hard for him not to see that as the writing on the wall.

Have you used the pick we gave you yet?

I don't love Carlton, but I hope you get a good result from it.

We drafted Patrick McCarthy and Andrew McInnes with the two picks you gave us for Sauce.

McCarthy's another Glenelg boy - All-Australian key defender.

McInnes came from the Dandenong Stingrays. 191cm defender.

Last year was Jacobs only year on our full list was 2010 after three years on our rookie list. We got Warnock back at the 2008 trade period but his 2009 was ruined (he didn't play a game) due to foot and shoulder injuries. So Jacobs got promoted with the knowledge that Warnock had missed the entire year.

Still dont think the crows would have given up a first rounder. He went market value. The crows needed mids....was always going to happen.

Agreed. However, his market value, which Adelaide was able to set the moment Port made it clear that they weren't interested, was lower than his true value.

Tambling, on the other hand, I'm still not sure what you saw there.

Good point Wick. I think Port are regreting not going after him now.. well i assume. In regards to Tambling, lets not rule him out just yet. He was a quality player at the tigers and could be at ours. I don't think they ruined him, i just think he had such alot of pressure on him because he was picked before buddy. If anything he will be solid for us.

You can't just rely on highlight reel plays all the time. He's the Brett Rainbow of the AFL (any 1990s NBL fans out there?). Type of guy who looks amazing on a mix tape but when you watch him live you see the weaknesses. Strictly my opinion.
Nuh-uh, we're relying on Taylor Walker to bring us our next premiership.

Good to see him playing well, was always liked at Carlton for his on-field effort and the way he has developed since being drafted.

Would easily take him over Warnock and Hampson and is probably a better tap ruckman than Kreuzer.

Really great asset to the Crows.

Without doubt Jacobs is a better pure tap ruck than is Kreuzer. Kreuzer has him covered for versatility, etc. around the ground. Jacobs has made tremendous strides in that area his game from where he was midway through last year and now. Has always given it his all and always put in second efforts but Kreuzer could almost play as a midfielder if he wanted to.