TOOs_Finest

Richmond Tigers - 2013 Player Sponsor Minecraft
Dallas Desire
Too good this week Rayzor, but I'll be back!

Sheesh Barnzy, what were your blokes on this week?!? THat could be a pretty high ranking this week. Good job :thumbsu:

Bump.

Looks like it's going to be a pretty congested, with 13 or so teams scoring pretty well so far. May well come down to who plays who when.

With Ablett out, I got lucky in picking Chappy as captain this week, but still wasn't enough to get the win, lost by 10! :(

Anyone have any upgrades on the cards in the next week or two? Anyone crippled by injuries?

I absolutely fell apart this week, didn't even crack 2000. Copped a couple of nice fat zeroes and then the other players decided to turn in awful results.

I missed this thread when you first posted it DD, good idea having a thread on the board...better than the 'psyche out' within SC itself.

Yeah, I got lucky against you, I thought you had a better side on paper, I just had a few hit and miss players who hit that round (like 130 from Hall instead of last round's 30 ;)). You'll get me back come finals time...I always make outlandish risky trades and captain choices in the 2nd half of the season to try and give myself a slim chance of actually winning the comp, rather than playing it safe and sensible but giving myself zero chance of winning the big prize.

Richo's Rememberance handed me my first loss last round...knew I was in for a tough matchup when I logged in Friday night to check my scores and realised he didn't have Ablett. :eek:

Been a good comp so far, Barnzy's going very well and looks like he will be very tough to beat, but there's certainly quite a few contenders.

I thought I did ok considering I played with one man short and he happened to be my captain and also Gary Ablett... Had no emergency either!

I can't access that site due to work firewall so have to resort to a once a week login on my iPhone, but that still costs me like $30 a pop due to roaming charges!!!

Richo's Rememberance handed me my first loss last round...knew I was in for a tough matchup when I logged in Friday night to check my scores and realised he didn't have Ablett. :eek:

I was ropable to see MadSkillz didn't have Ablett, knew I was in trouble at that point. Still, losing by 10pts hurts :(

And don't fear Rayzor, I'm more than capable of stuffing up in SuperCoach, so no forgone conclusions there.

I can't access that site due to work firewall so have to resort to a once a week login on my iPhone, but that still costs me like $30 a pop due to roaming charges!!!

Lol, Ouch!! Talk about being behind the eight ball mate! :eek:

I finally hit a bit of form after a few lean weeks. I only got you by 10 Dea_Day and if Ablett played, you would have caned me. Ablett would have gotten 300 against the Tigers before doubling it for captaincy.

Yay Ablett :)

Gonna be some high scores this week in SC I think ;)

Bummer Spluff...how much was the damage points-wise?

I bet Elliot's kicking himself...I'm playing him this week and he had Pods (156) on the bench and played Rioli (45), Ziebell (32), Hall (29), and Ballantyne (88) in preference to Pods who has been in red hot form. :eek:

Ouch. :p

I'm 1995 with Montagna, Judd and Betts to go, hopefully each of them get 100+.

I'll be pretty much finished my upgrades in a fortnight, bring a gun in for one of Farmer, Davis, Schoenmaker, probably Davis, cash Duncan in (real shame he didn't play today and go up some more :(), then turn Rockliff into a gun the next week. Gonna keep Martin for midfield cover I reckon unless I'm desperate for the cash, which I doubt will happen.

That'll leave me with 9 trades, Pods and Barlow as my only onfield rookies, and either Waters or Hall as my weakest player...they might get an upgrade later on if I'm going OK on the injury front and they're still letting me down a bit. At this stage using a trade for a 10-20 points a round better player seems a waste.

Midfield of Ablett, Montagna, Judd, Selwood, Cooney and Barlow with Martin on the bench is putting a smile on my face. :D

Ugh Spluff, wtf happened there?!?! Who did you have as captain?

Rayzor, I think out midfields will be looking very similar soon, since I intend to upgrade to Montagna at some point in the next few weeks. But I have Swan where you have Selwood.

Apart from that, think I will need to upgrade one more forward. Got Fyfe in this week which worked out well as he scored another 90, so have a few active money makers on the go.

What were we thinking with Schoenmakers, he scored 2 ffs! :o

I had O'Keefe left over as captain, so in effect I lost about 135 points. :o

I think I've still got a good shot at a win, though - I just need Goddard, Kreuzer and Betts to score at least 6 more points than Gram and Armitage.

I had O'Keefe left over as captain, so in effect I lost about 135 points. :o

I think I've still got a good shot at a win, though - I just need Goddard, Kreuzer and Betts to score at least 6 more points than Gram and Armitage.

Hmmm I thought Armitage was dropped. (edit: confirmed - Armitage out, Gram in)

Either way, you should have that covered :thumbsu:

Hey Barnzy, grats on cracking into the top 1000 in SC buddy. :thumbsu:

Are you thinking about climbing the ladder or playing for league wins?

Hey Barnzy, grats on cracking into the top 1000 in SC buddy. :thumbsu:

Are you thinking about climbing the ladder or playing for league wins?

Thanks.

Just trying to finish with the best ranking possible, league wins don't really bother me. Haven't been really doing DT/SC for years and years on end like some people, just a couple of years so a top 1000 finish would be a good result.

Rayzor, I think out midfields will be looking very similar soon, since I intend to upgrade to Montagna at some point in the next few weeks. But I have Swan where you have Selwood.

LOL, I hadn't *totally* ruled out another midfield trade DD, I don't care about sideways trading if it's the right trade and I have to do *something* to make up for not picking Goddard, Sandilands or Chapman. ;) The amount Selwood's handballing instead of kicking has made me grumpy all year...he's not the same player with the same scoring potential. I honestly expected him to be $650K+ through the year, not bottom $500K and available to everyone who didn't pick him initially. Cooney's not exactly setting the world on fire despite getting tons of ball. And then there's the possibility that a gun mid will drop so low through say one really bad game then a 1-2 week injury that gives them a 0 or close to it that there's decent money to be made going sideways with no points lost (maybe a gain in some cases) long term.

Apart from that, think I will need to upgrade one more forward. Got Fyfe in this week which worked out well as he scored another 90, so have a few active money makers on the go.

Fyfe might even turn out a semi-keeper I suspect, if not he'll make a ton of cash, should get to ~$400K fairly quickly the way he's going. I'm auditioning him as 7F. ;)

What were we thinking with Schoenmakers, he scored 2 ffs! :o

I had over 30 (stopped counting about rd.16!) injuries/suspensions of 2 weeks or longer last year mate...he was the cheapest back almost guaranteed 22 games in my mind, didn't get him as a cow, just insurance I thought I'd certainly need.

Ironically, building that extra security into my backline (Farmer as well!) and spending the extra $ on bloody Connors as opposed to a $94K option prevented me getting at least two of Goddard/Sandilands/Chapman...which is the main reason I'm not well entrenched in the top-1000 considering I'm only a little over 300 points off that mark. :o

Thanks.

Just trying to finish with the best ranking possible, league wins don't really bother me. Haven't been really doing DT/SC for years and years on end like some people, just a couple of years so a top 1000 finish would be a good result.

Good onya Barnzy, with that near perfect side only DD (or bad luck) is a threat to you in league at this stage, you'll get wins every week without rotten luck beating you and I've been noticing you've held your trades well this year. :thumbsu:

I'm a relative newcomer to fantasy footy too...it's a bummer waiting a whole year to fix what you got wrong the year before eh? ;)

My best hope of beating you blokes is for Goddard/Sandilands and (in your case DD) Chapman all getting injuries. I can say that on our board without getting lynched for it. :D

My 3rd year doing SC, never bothered with DT. have got progressively better each year.

I looked hard at Waters and Hunt over Schoenmakers, but was worried they may not hold up injury wise, considering what they were coming back from. So I chose Schoenmakers because it looked in the pre-season as though he may get uses a bit as a sweeper in the back line and get a bit of ball. As you say, at least you know he will be there most of the year as backup for injuries.

I afforded myself two trades at the start of the year to 'adjust' my team after the initial lockout (including a sideways trade), and then got hit with the compulsory Reiwoldt trade. Have set aside a number of trades to keep for injuries/finals. Apart from that I will burn what I need when I need to upgrade players to get the most in the way of cash and points value. Am thinking that guys like Pods and Fyfe will not be available later on in the season, so have cashed in by picking them up now, despite the burnt trades.

My 3rd year doing SC, never bothered with DT. have got progressively better each year.

Same, just can't bring myself to bother with DT - SC takes up enough time. ;)

I looked hard at Waters and Hunt over Schoenmakers, but was worried they may not hold up injury wise, considering what they were coming back from. So I chose Schoenmakers because it looked in the pre-season as though he may get uses a bit as a sweeper in the back line and get a bit of ball. As you say, at least you know he will be there most of the year as backup for injuries.

I worried about all the cheap defenders coming back from injury/being overseas...wasn't keen on Ladson at all which turned out a good decison, didn't like Hunt due to job security funnily enough, I did pick Waters and Kennelly which worked out well, but I didn't back Maguire who in hindsight was a way better pick than Schoey or Farmer, and didn't have Malceski in my original team after he burned me badly last year. I was very keen on Hurn pre-season but traded him out on a hunch when he got suspended because Malceski at ~$270K was way too tempting and that turned out to be a good tweak both for Mal and the cash it freed up. I just knew the Swans would have a big year with it being Roos' last, but I haven't been able to take advantage of that hunch...Grundy was in 95% of my template teams but I left him out for Hall's proven scoring ability and his great pre-season...stupid decision as it turned out.

Am thinking that guys like Pods and Fyfe will not be available later on in the season, so have cashed in by picking them up now, despite the burnt trades.

I reckon you're right about them being better value than what will come later...as tempting as it is to cash Martin I'm going to hold him because I can't see any reliable mid downgrades on the horizon. In the unlikely event he hits ~$400K before Connors comes back in at ~$170K difference I may consider that downgrade as Connors should play the rest of the year. May pick up some points if Ablett or some very common mid misses and I still have Martin while others have to cop a donut because they cashed him for a mid who gets very few games. I had Pods in my original squad on the basis that he would get games eventually and that at least Relton was picked week one. :o

My biggest original squad blunders were far and away Tippett and Lockyer (picked in a direct 50/50 over Pav at virtually the same price mostly for his uniqueness and the fact I thought Freo would flunk again!). Tippett was my F6 with Hall my F7 I had such a good forwardline on paper...didn't plan to make a forwardline trade all season except possibly upgrading Hall to Goodes or Davis. As it turns out I've made four trades there, I now have 2 onfield rookies (Pods and Fyfe), yet I started out with 7 premiums/semi-premiums...I'm still carrying Hall and Goodes/Davis are not looking very safe upgrade options. Best laid plans eh? :D