pumped

Feel like Heath Scotland has had close to his best start for a season thus far. He came to the club as more a mid fielder and I am wondering if with Judd out that his time in the middle is part of the reason for his good form. Last night I felt he was up for most of the game when at times others were really flat. Also felt he played with great composure in a side that was really crying out for more composed players. Would like to see him stay up the field when Judd gets back. Perhaps on a wing or rotating through the middle. May also free Judd up to have more time as a forward which could add great balance and composure to the forward structure.

Yep - Scotland has been fantastic thus far this season.

He really settled down and focused on his preseason after Fev left. Maybe he came to the realization that he isn't exactly a youngster any more and his time may be running out in the big league.

Seems to have moved more into the midfield and really is doing very well, finding the ball with ease. His disposal has been a bit iffy at times but for the most part has been very good.

If he keeps this form up he's in for a fantastic season.

I thought Scotland had an absolute blinder last night. His clearance work was fantastic. He had 30 odd disposals, 11 clearances and 3 assists, yet according to the Herald Sun, couldn't crack our into our best players. Bloody flogs. If Carlton won last night he would have been one of the best on, behind Murph.

I've always loved Scotland and think he is severely underrated in the football world. Great to hear people finally recognising him. We need a lot more experienced, reliable players like him.

Best form in 3 years
He is so much better suited playing in the middle as oppose to playing as a back flank doing the rebounding.

Scotland and Carrots are really relishing featuring heavily in the midfield. Hopefully this will lead Ratts to rotate more heavily so we can have a fresh on ball brigade every minute of the match.
We now know we don't need Judd, Murph and Gibbs in the middle at all times, and they'll really benefit from the extra rest.

Amazing what a full preseason can do! I told my mate before the season that scotland would be lucky to get a game..im wrapped im eating my words.

By God he was killing us last night. Every time there was a ruck contest, he seemed to just find the ball, and clear it out. Was very frustrating to watch.

Amazing what a full preseason can do! I told my mate before the season that scotland would be lucky to get a game..im wrapped im eating my words.

I think we all were a bit harsh on Scotty after last season. It was too easy to forget that he had virtually no pre-season last year due to undergoing major groin surgery. You can clearly see the difference that having a full pre-season has made. Whereas at the end of last season he was probably close to the fringe of our best 22, I think it would be fair to say he is now comfortably in our best 22.

Kroooooooz tapped it down Scotland's throat time and time again. Was sensational stuff from both of them. I too thought Scotland would be lucky to get a game this year, but he is playing absolutely out of his skin. He's just so good in traffic.

Agree. He has a rare ability to find space in traffic. So many times in the middle he looked like he was going to get nailed only to find his way clear. Played very confident footy and I believe gave confidence to his team mates.

I had written him off last year.

Remember mid last year when he could barely kick 35 metres, couldn't hit a target to save himself and looked 3 seconds behind the play....?

Great to see he's had a brilliant pre season (injury free) and is taking on a more professional outlook to his job now that Fev isn't there.

Looks set for a great year.

Scotland was terrific but how good was Kroooze. He played like an old fashioned Ruck Rover, in the air and on the ground. Head over the ball, fantastic stuff from the player of our future.

Scotland seemed to have it on a string last night.

I would throw him forward once Judd returns. His poise and smarts with the footy could lead to us having a lot more spot ups inside F50, instead of the goalmouth scramble type goals which we seem to have had a lot of in the first 2 rounds.

I'd run Judd through the middle and on the bench.... not sure he is of much value forward. Can't lift his arms above his head and struggles for penetration in his kicking.

Could be more to do with Fevola and Stevens leaving - two players that were a real distraction to Heath from what I have heard.

Think there could be merit to this. Also from an onfield perspective feel that Stevens kept Heath from getting more mid field time. I have always felt Heath to be more damaging in the middle than Stevens.