Scott Lucas

He's going allright in the 2's.

Getting the ball, working hard and kicking goals.

Knights has said he wants him back in the side soon.

He has been kicking 3 or 4 goals in the vfl since being dropped so that is a good indication he is working hard because in a team like bendigo at the moment you have take whatever you can get when it comes inside 50

Just got back from Bendigo. Shocker first half. Second half pulled in a couple of marks and (finally) kicked a couple of his "trademark" goal - spun around onto left foot and put them thru from 50. I love Scotty too but it concerns me that someone with his talent & experience can't absolutely dominate at that level. I fear we've seen the best & last of him :(

Also watched Laycock, McVeigh, Reimers, Nash, Skipworth & Hurley. Except for the fact that we should replace Jetta & Neagle & will probably HAVE to replace NLM (though that may save 1 of the other 2), I'd give them all another week at Bendigo and bring 1 or 2 back for a game before the break.

Just got back from Bendigo. Shocker first half. Second half pulled in a couple of marks and (finally) kicked a couple of his "trademark" goal - spun around onto left foot and put them thru from 50. I love Scotty too but it concerns me that someone with his talent & experience can't absolutely dominate at that level. I fear we've seen the best & last of him :(

Also watched Laycock, McVeigh, Reimers, Nash, Skipworth & Hurley. Except for the fact that we should replace Jetta & Neagle & will probably HAVE to replace NLM (though that may save 1 of the other 2), I'd give them all another week at Bendigo and bring 1 or 2 back for a game before the break.

You forgot Prismall. He was BOG today (well for Bendigo) looked like he tigged his hammy in the 3rd but was running strong not seconds later. Laycock kicked some massive goals and dominated the ruck, but so he should, he was playing againts a kid I knew from Mansfield.

How many did Hurley concede to Reiwoldt? Kick out from full back?

Actually, that would be because I didn't know he was playing:) Didn't pick up a record and only really watched those I recognised (as listed). Since he hasn't played for us yet, I wouldn't know him if I tripped over him. What number was he wearing?

How many did Hurley concede to Reiwoldt? Kick out from full back?

4 or 5, didn't do to well at all. Can't expect a first year KPP to dominate though.

Hate to say it but Lucas looks slow nowadays, he got beat in the first half by the VFL backman of year (lol) Sylvester then in the second half worked his way into the match. Might make it back for a few farewell games.

I like Scotty, I think he has been severely under-rated by many through most of his career but I think the writing is on the wall in terms of his long term future at the club.

Since we have dropped him, we have won 2 of 3 games (big wins over the reigning premiers, Hawthorn and Richmond - both BOGEY sides for us) and were ultra competitive in a narrow loss to the undefeated Saints. I think our forward line functions better these days without him there, but I would absolutely LOVE to be proven wrong though.

I think the club did the right thing by allowing Scott to make the decision about how he wanted to handle where he is at with his footy in the 2s. Giving him the opportunity to decide put the issue of dignity in his hands.

Further, how good is he that he decided not to mope around about it. Back on the track and trying to play his best. Speaks volumes for the integrity of the man. Makes you proud to say he's an Essendon player, in spite of it all. :thumbsu:

Sadly, I reckon Scott's played his last in the firsts. :(

He is too slow and has no agility. If he doesnt mark the ball then he becomes a liability becasue his opponent runs off him. He is also dropping a few marks that he used to grab all the time.
I hate to say it and i really hope i am wrong but i think he is finished at AFL level. He actually looks slow at VFL level which is a real worry.

Actually, that would be because I didn't know he was playing:) Didn't pick up a record and only really watched those I recognised (as listed). Since he hasn't played for us yet, I wouldn't know him if I tripped over him. What number was he wearing?

Number 9.
Not sure i would agree with drew_j.
I thought he was good but he did not have a great effect on the game.
Skippy and Chook had more of an influence before half time.

I actually thought that it was Scanlon that was Bendigo's best on the day.

:thumbsu:

Sadly, I reckon Scott's played his last in the firsts. :(

I just loved to see him play. He would kick those outrageous goals that would make us all roar with delight.

Now, I don't know if it is due to an injury, but Scotty has lost that extra bit of speed to get to the ball. Moreover, his judgment of the flight of the ball is a little out.

I just don't know if he'll come back - my heart says yes, but my mind doubts it. :(

I just loved to see him play. He would kick those outrageous goals that would make us all roar with delight.

Now, I don't know if it is due to an injury, but Scotty has lost that extra bit of speed to get to the ball. Moreover, his judgment of the flight of the ball is a little out.

I just don't know if he'll come back - my heart says yes, but my mind doubts it. :(

Not doing much running over the pre-season wouldn't have helped his speed, but I'd put that loss simply down to age.

We do not need him back in our side.
He is replaceable.

We have played our best footy without him in the side this year but is Lucas the cause for this or is it the further development of our youngsters, a dominant P.Ryder and Lloydy hitting some form the reason?

I may be in the minority here but i want him back in the side, maybe even as soon as this week.
He is no slower than Neagle and his work rate is leaps and bounds above Neagle's.

If Milburn does not come back in, we can stretch Geelongs back line with Lloyd, Lucas and Neagle, or just simply go with Lloyd and Lucas.
Neagle did nothing this week.

Lucas was named as an emergency last week so clearly he is very close to selection.
Bring him back and let him prove the critics wrong.

He is no slower than Neagle and his work rate is leaps and bounds above Neagle's.
Well that's incorrect. Neagle can actually be quite explosive off the mark. It's his overall fitness that is his concern. I also think Neagle's workrate's been great since he was brought back in. Especially against St Kilda, there were countless times where he made second, third and even fourth efforts, creating forward pressure; of course this was out the corner of the screen, so most people wouldn't have picked up on it. He's a favourite of mine, so I always watch his every move.

Personally I would love to see Scotty back in the side… he has a better work rate then Neagle and gives us more flexibility up forward…. With Scotty in the team Lloyd can play closer to goal as he pushes up the flank... that’s not an option with Jay… at the moment he lacks the mobility and fitness to play anywhere but deep in the forward line…
I understand that Neagle is the future but he really needs to improve he’s athleticism to become less one dimensional…
Lucas has been an Essendon champion and should be given the chance to show that he can bounce back like one…

Well that's incorrect. Neagle can actually be quite explosive off the mark. It's his overall fitness that is his concern. I also think Neagle's workrate's been great since he was brought back in. Especially against St Kilda, there were countless times where he made second, third and even fourth efforts, creating forward pressure; of course this was out the corner of the screen, so most people wouldn't have picked up on it. He's a favourite of mine, so I always watch his every move.

Well, I was sitting in N22 last weekend, and I didn't see Neagle do anything explosive. In fact, I don't remember seeing Neagle do anything at all. :confused:
In fact, I don't even remember Neagle.