Toast Scott Pendlebury

• Thread starter Thread starter nahnah

Did Carmen and McKenna ever play in the same forward line? That would have been a sight!

When you think about some of the administrative bungles that were happening at the time within the club, the tragic loss of Greening, the short fuse of Carmen it really illustrates just how unlucky and how god damn frustratingly self destructive we have been as a club over the journey.
On the administration side of things mate none of them have come close to us,thank christ Ed came along when he did.:thumbsu:

I decided to become a Pies supporter after watching them for the first time on "The Winners" back in the mid to late 70s (Im in WA so that was all the VFL we got). But I remember vividly the day I said to Dad that I am a Collingwood supporter. He immediately started telling me about this bloke called Greening and how he could have been counted up there with the very best of all time.

Any how, back on topic re: Pendlebury.
I can remember the experts saying that Dal Santo slowed time down when he has the ball, then surely it(time) starts going backwards when our #10 has the Sherrin in his hand.
Pendles has so much time, poise and awareness when he has the ball.
If he goes through his career without a Brownlow it will be a travisty.

Never apologise for claiming (or the old man) Greening was one of the best ever.

He was.

For those who haven't seen Greening's exploits here's just a taste. . .

When I was like 14, I asked the old man if Bucks was the best player he had ever seen at Collingwood. Dad came up with Greening and mentioned he could have been anything, and the circumstances of his premature retirement shocked me, even as a 14 y.o.

I've read numerous stories about his career and 'the incident'. It upsets me and I wasn't even around then. 20 brownlow votes in 10 games (?) was phenomenal! :eek:

When I was like 14, I asked the old man if Bucks was the best player he had ever seen at Collingwood. Dad came up with Greening and mentioned he could have been anything, and the circumstances of his premature retirement shocked me, even as a 14 y.o.

I've read numerous stories about his career and 'the incident'. It upsets me and I wasn't even around then. 20 brownlow votes in 10 games (?) was phenomenal! :eek:
Barring major injury - or outright thuggery - he had the Brownlow at his mercy that year.

Many players that come into an AFL - or as it was then VFL - team at 17 struggle for consistency, some are serviceable for the entire season, some even manage to produce a few quarters over the season that show how good they could be when they grow up fully.

Not so with John.

He came into the seniors at 17 and was an outright STAR right from the start.

Had it all - and then some.

I can remember standing in the outer at dear old Victoria Park with my Collingwood supporter mates, our eyes bugged out and jaws on the ground watching this KID rip St Kilda several new a-holes.

Absolutely gob smacking talent, and a terrible tragedy that it was cut so tragically short.

He got sucker punched behind the play after he had disposed of the ball up field towards McKenna, never fully recovered from that king hit. Even though he returned to football after a loooong recovery he was only ever a shadow of the player he was.

Bucks had a 21st century attitude to footy before his time, and he started his career still kicking it with the party boy types still coming out the the 80's era.

I loved his attitude, total committment to winning, wtf is wrong with that!

Best Pies player ever. Daicos 2nd. Then a fair way back to the next.
I have to disagree I'm afraid. A leader requires far more than just a commitment to winning IMO. Bucks had the skills and the work ethic but most would agree he lacked man management skills in his early captaincy. Man management is a crucial skill for a captain and while he appeared to improve significantly later on he very definitely struggled to get his players on side early. I certainly rate him very highly but I will always rate him a rung below Daics.

The brownlow is often given to a player who isn't the best player but the most durable, Pendles may it win it but it is far from a certainty. Pendles should have won it in 2011 just like swan should have won it in 2010, they didn't thats how it goes.

I think its time to make pendles captain with ball and maxwell has his deputies. It'll be a good way to transition him into the role with well know leaders supporting him.

(also I've been awarded full time member - don't know what it is but makes me feel special.)

Thanks so much for reminding me of some the old days, RR. I was lucky enough to be there that day for Daics v Richmond. The crowd anticipation when he got it is hard to put into words. Carman too - an electric effect.
Sadly, even after all these years, I find it very hard to contemplate Johnny Greening's career without feeling equal parts very angry and really sad for what happened.
And to the question, for me, it's really hard to compare players, but on pure talent, Greening, Daics and Carman, in no particular order, but on career achievements, Daics. As far as Pendles, it's all before him now at 24. A good run with injuries should see him reach 300 games with all sorts of personal accolades, but hopefully several more premierships. That would put him in the top echelon for sure.
PS I didn't get to see much of Pants so can't say too much there. Would it be fair to say he was a more skilled version of Scott Burns**? [**My previous favourite recent player now replaced by Luke Ball].

I wouldn't say he was more skilled than Burns. I reckon that Burns was a significantly better kick than Pants. Pants's skills were on a similar level to Gavin Brown, with the strength and power of Dane Swan.

Thanks so much for reminding me of some the old days, RR. I was lucky enough to be there that day for Daics v Richmond. The crowd anticipation when he got it is hard to put into words. Carman too - an electric effect.
Sadly, even after all these years, I find it very hard to contemplate Johnny Greening's career without feeling equal parts very angry and really sad for what happened.
And to the question, for me, it's really hard to compare players, but on pure talent, Greening, Daics and Carman, in no particular order, but on career achievements, Daics. As far as Pendles, it's all before him now at 24. A good run with injuries should see him reach 300 games with all sorts of personal accolades, but hopefully several more premierships. That would put him in the top echelon for sure.

A beautiful video put together by Mars II who I haven't seen around for a while - I hope you are going alright mate!

My old man always described him as an explosive and powerful winger.

Hmmm...interesting comparison Burns with Millane. Pants always seemed much bigger than Burnsy but in reality he probably wasn't. I remember he was asked down to play mid- season and he had a couple of reserves games (remember when you used to be able to go and watch your ressies play before the seniors...and the under 19's before them if you we're really keen) Anyway I remember seeing this magnificent "colt" run out onto the G and asking who the number 42 was? In this particular game we were getting towelled by Carlton in the twos and then Ronnie Richards brought Pants on. He started on the wing but quickly went into the centre, gathering possessions at will. Packs of players seemed to part so that he could sprint through them. He seemed like a leviathan out there. 5 goals from the midfield meant that he was quickly promoted to the seniors and he was never demoted.
Pants would have loved today's game for he could run, he was a great mark for his size so much so that Leigh Matthews often ran either Millane or Brown out of full forward. Pants was a strong tackler and one of the true "hard men" of the sport, players much bigger than he was gave him a wide berth in contests and the fact that Banksy loved him was testament to his toughness.
Scotty Burns was a favourite of many of us too....but to class him alongside Millane and Brown is a big call. Burnsy had heart and as time went by he developed the skill and the temperament to lead his beloved magpies but I see him more as a Tony Shaw player, a leader making the most of his chances with the mental toughness to inspire those around him...and as honest as the day is long. Rowdy and Pants were highly skilled wingmen that could play much bigger than they were and often played Key Positions when they were asked to.
One thing this topic has shown me (at least) is the tremendous line of talent that we have enjoyed as pies supporters. It's like a birthrite that we get to witness the greatness of these athletes and to be, as we are now in the middle of another renaissance I find myself explaining to my own grandchildren just how good Beamer and Pendles, Daisy and Swanny are. If my memory serves me right my mother always claimed that Marcus Whelan was the best player she had seen and she saw Bobby Rose in his pomp...what a delicious irony, that as long as the game is played....we will get to remember and compare the greats of days gone past.

Whelan was very very highly regarded in his day. As anyone who has had the privledge to read Kill For Collignwood would know. A great of Collingwood that perhaps doesn't have a reputation for being as big a legend as he was. I believe there was some bad blood toward the end of his career and this has likely tarnished his legacy somewhat. He went back to Tassie for a period of time after a falling out with the administration/and or playing group I believe. He was a captain of Collingwood who would put Bucks to shame in his demands of his chargers and who was at times divisive. But you could never question his talent or his desire to get the best out of his team.

On Burns, a quote from Voss I thought always summed him up as a player. Voss said that he was the only player who he played against that never flinched before making contact. Almost every player flinches as a natural reaction and Burns never had this, which made him hit the hardest. Him and Clement are probably my two favourite recently retired Pies.

Another fantastic video by Mars II of Peter Daicos:

I've said it before and i'll say it again, how he didn't get in the team of the century as a forward pocket is a joke. He revolutionised that position. What a wonderful player. So much balance, so smart, so skilled left and right, never loses his feet and consistently magical. Brilliant player!!

Whelan was very very highly regarded in his day. As anyone who has had the privledge to read Kill For Collignwood would know. A great of Collingwood that perhaps doesn't have a reputation for being as big a legend as he was. I believe there was some bad blood toward the end of his career and this has likely tarnished his legacy somewhat. He went back to Tassie for a period of time after a falling out with the administration/and or playing group I believe. He was a captain of Collingwood who would put Bucks to shame in his demands of his chargers and who was at times divisive. But you could never question his talent or his desire to get the best out of his team.

On Burns, a quote from Voss I thought always summed him up as a player. Voss said that he was the only player who he played against that never flinched before making contact. Almost every player flinches as a natural reaction and Burns never had this, which made him hit the hardest. Him and Clement are probably my two favourite recently retired Pies.

I can remember watching SSB run around in the reserves at the 'G' and asking anyone who'd listen for weeks at a time, "How can Patto be in the seniors and this bloke is the two's???!!!"

Just on Bobby Rose, he is my hero [dad]'s only hero! :)

Pendles has been my favourite player by a mile since his debut against the lions in 06, as i can't comment past 1999(first memories of collingwood, i was 6) i wanted to know where people thought he ranked as for me he is 3rd but thats ignoring 95% of players to ever play for us!

Beams is climbing the ranks quickly which is exciting! (funny how no one mentions cloke in these discussions but is often seen as our most important player....but imo he needs a few more seasons of 50+ goals)
Beama you bastard

swtmvsx.jpg