makethat2

Jan 27, 2007
down the road
Man utd
Don't if this has been done yet but was just wondering what year he would be drafted(This year? or next?) and is he considered a top ten pick? Have read a few opinions that sound pretty promising.

Cheers in advance :thumbsu:

The choice is solely in our hands, we can draft him with our last pick, so he could be the biggest steal in recent times. I reckon he's going to be a ripper. A 190cm plus midfielder with a big engine, doesn't sound that bad does it? He will have to play tall as well that's if he grows a few centremeters.

Nevertheless, I'm confident we will have a talented group in a few years time. Fingers crossed.

Yep, Syndey Swans supporter who chose the Great Club over theirs, even after they'd just won a flag. :eek:

Realistically, he should be good enough to at least be drafted in his year level, which if I'm not mistaken, will be the 2008 draft.

However, if he's not deemed worthy of what is essentially a rookie elevation, then he can go into the main draft.

From collingwoodfc.com.au

Talented youngster, Scott Reed, will become the Magpies’ first scholarship student in a new program that is aimed at attracting the best young talent from NSW to the AFL.

The 15-year-old, who was the stand-out talent among 200 players in last week’s AFL NSW parade, chose to join the Pies, having been courted by several other top AFL clubs, including Fremantle and Sydney.

Reed, who lives in Terrigal, just outside Newcastle, has represented NSW at Under 15 level. He is an elite youth athlete, who cemented his selection in the minds of Collingwood recruiting staff when he excelled while playing for a representative under-15 side last week at a carnival in Canberra.

Unfortunately, the youngster suffered a broken leg in the showcase match, but had done enough to convince most AFL clubs that he was the brightest of stars on show. The minor set back, which will sideline Reed for the next two months, did not deter Collingwood’s National Recruiting Manager, Derek Hine, who has tracked the development of the youngster for over a year.

Hine said from the Lexus Centre on Monday, “His development in the last six months has been incredible.

“We are over the moon with Scott. There is no doubt that he is the absolute stand-out in New South Wales. His leg speed, his size and his agility is great for his age. He works extremely hard in all areas of his game. He is a work in progress.

“A few people I’ve talked to think that he’s a natural defender, while I’ve seen some attributes in him that would suggest that he would go in to the midfield quite comfortably, the beauty of this scholarship system is that we are able to develop him over a three-year period in to a number of roles.”

Reed will join former Collingwood defender, Alan Richardson, in the Magpies’ Youth Academy. Richardson, who re-joined the club in the summer to establish Collingwood’s Youth Academy, has been working with Collingwood’s first, second and third year players, on skill acquisition, and personal and professional development.

Based in Terrigal, just outside Newcastle, Reed is used to travel. As part of the scholarship, Reed will travel to Melbourne every month, while continuing his weekly training sessions with former Swans full-back Rod Carter in Sydney. Carter, who recently joined the Pies Youth Development Academy, will oversee all Sydney-based programs, and will assist Richardson in delivering support and coaching north of the boarder.

And with regular visits to the Lexus Centre, and training from Collingwood coaching staff, the opportunity for Reed to acquire an understanding of the professional demands of top-flight football, as well as Collingwood’s ‘beliefs system’, can only be positive in the 15-year-olds development, according to Hine, who believes the youngster could be a strong prospect for the future.

“That’s the exciting thing. We can develop his game and we can develop his ethic – and that bodes well for the future. The difference between getting a player on board now and having to wait for the draft – is that we have extra time in those formative years to work with them and develop them – in the Collingwood way.”

Reed will continue to live with his parents, David and Michelle, in their family home in Terrigal. He will continue his schooling, while receive elite coaching, with one eye on a career with the biggest sporting club in the country.

An elite junior athlete, Reed won gold at the under-15 beach sprint at the NSW titles last year. And with several AFL clubs interested in his signature, it was a decision in the end made by the youngster himself. According to father David, Collingwood was the clear stand-out in Scott’s mind, despite overtures from a host of other clubs.

“In the end it was the professionalism of the Club and the way they went about ‘selling’ the development program at Collingwood.

“Our dealings with Derek (Hine) were always professional and he presented the Club, and the path that Scott would follow in his development, in a very positive and thorough way. They have show great support in what they have offered Scott, to help him become the best footballer he can be.

“At the end of the day though, it was Scott’s decision, and he decided that Collingwood was the best place to develop his game.”

Scott will be in Melbourne for this weekend’s clash with the Blues, and will put pen to paper on a three-year scholarship with the Pies. The Scholarship program will entitle Collingwood to select Reed as their final draft selection when he attains draftable age.

262122ax8yj.jpg

So just to re-cap:

n00bs

- Martin Clarke (Will be of top ten value ;) )

- Ben Reid (Pick 8 & extreme bottom age and excellent athleticism)

- Nathan Brown (Pick 10 & head crunching CHB/FB for the next ten years)

- Chris Dawes (Rated top 15 prior to knee injury)

- Brad D|ck (Silky finisher already belying his third round draft position with multiple goals in first intra-club)

- Scott Reed (Future top end draft pick)

- Tyson Goldsack (Can play, but is worth last selection in draft due to humerous name alone)

Quasi n00bs

- Shannon Cox (Rapidly improving athlete or an irregular, but useful, nature)

- Alan Toovey (Mooted to go early in both of his drafts, and had some outstanding appearances in his time in the VFL)

Trade n00bs (ie. not really Hiney's call)

- Chris Bryan (Athletically capable ruck foil who needed environment change from worst club in the country; reasonable gamble)

- Paul Medhurst (Steak knives in Tarrant deal, however very capable footballer at low trade value, with some upside)

--------------------------------

0lds

B. Caracella – Retired
C. Morrison – Retired
C. Cloke – Delisted
J. Cloke – Delisted
A. Iacobucci – Delisted
J. Rowe – Delisted
D.Fanning – Delisted
B.Hall – Delisted
C.Tarrant – Exchange to Fremantle

--------------------------------

The only two out of the latter list who is AFL quality, is Carrrots, who was on the decline even before his unfortunate injury, and Tarrant, who as we know is a negative influence, despite clear ability. Feel for Yakka, but it's a cut throat business and he was drafted top age, then not even rookied by another club.

The immediate effects of Hine's work will probably be extremely limited, with maybe just a few juniors pushing for a senior berth.

Come 2009, 2010 & 2011 however, the benefits of the mass cull, coupled with some more healthy draft picks and rookie successes (Clarke, Nicholls, Wellingham?), will be felt tremendously.

Eitherway, I think Hine will be very happy with his work to date.

- Tyson Goldsack (Can play, but is worth last selection in draft due to humerous name alone)

That's Gold!

Imagine if we had of drafted Matthew Ball in PS draft.

We'd have:

D|ck, Cox, Johnson, Thomas, Goldsack and Ball.

Goldsack could have got a role as the evil Goldmembers' sidekick in the Austin Powers movie.

I believe there might be another 1 or 2 kids that have signed up to the NSW scholarship program.
Yeah, there may have been another one, but I can't remember his name or find the link.

Ex-rugby aboriginal lad from Queensland IIRC.

Eitherway, good year from Hine (standard disclaimer about having to wait and see blah blah blah).

The name was John Walker (easy to remember for that reason), but I don't think we ended up signing him - I think we just looked at him.

We might wait until this year to sign him, so as to guarantee that we have our mandatory scholarship signing for this year.

Scott Reed