Scott Thompson

Thommo was actually pretty good to start off the season. But he's clearly playing injured IMO. His lateral movement is non existent. If we are intent on playing him then I think he should get a run up forward. He's always been really effective up forward actually give him a go up there. He really does need to have a spell but who knows, maybe he wants to play and push through.

it was just a thought
We dont really have anyone to replace him with IMO. Lyons is having just as much trouble running out a game and kedge isnt really performing well enough in SANFL (going by stats from this week, i havent seen any games).

wasn't in bests this week, sturt had the bye last week kerreidge 19 d 1.1 g.b. Didn't play poor he was better then anyone in the opposition his side just had a lot of good performers, tambling is doing it week after week in the bests but the load was pretty well shared by sturt
Kerridge before the bye had 30 team high and followed by 26 possessions and a goal that was more then porps needed and a lot more then reilly needed for the passes back.

Needs to be given a breather.

Yes it's "only" three weeks but a three week head start on whatever operation(s)/clean out(s) he needs would be absolute gold. Would allow him to bank more rest, still get in the bulk of the preseason, start on changing his body shape slightly so that he can cover the ground better and carry less weight.

Plus it means that Lyons (or Kerridge, or Wright, or Smith or whoever) gets to bank some significant midfield minutes in the last three rounds and progress their game.

There are nothing but positives here.

Grinding Thommo into the ground is pointless.

Playing him has meant we're basically down a midfielder each week (2 if you count VB). Most matches we see streams of opposition midfielders overlapping and cutting a swathe through the corridor which happens when even 1 of your own is unaccountable.
Considering how many close games we have lost playing him injured has cost us a finals berth.

Why not bite the bullet, rest Thommo and either bring Smith into the midfield and put Tambling into half back or bring Lyons or Kedge in to be a direct swap for Thommo. My pick would be the former as Smith I think can add more.

Needs to be given a breather.

Yes it's "only" three weeks but a three week head start on whatever operation(s)/clean out(s) he needs would be absolute gold. Would allow him to bank more rest, still get in the bulk of the preseason, start on changing his body shape slightly so that he can cover the ground better and carry less weight.

Plus it means that Lyons (or Kerridge, or Wright, or Smith or whoever) gets to bank some significant midfield minutes in the last three rounds and progress their game.

There are nothing but positives here.

Grinding Thommo into the ground is pointless.
Dude if you had a partner like Thommos, I don't think three weeks rest would be on the cards ;)

I was at the ground today and after another Thompson brainfade some dude behind me was talking with his mate saying "we've been carrying him for two years".

Remember this is our best and fairest from last year. He was in the AA side, for Christ's sake! Carrying him for two years? He's been carrying us for the two years before this one! That is what we are doing to his reputation by allowing him to keep playing when it is obvious to all and sundry that he is not fit. I don't care if he thinks he can play, he can't, not now. Stop playing him.

Most frustrating of all was Bickley before the game saying that they dropped Kerridge because he was struggling to run out matches. Thompson hasn't run a match out in over a month!

Thommo started well today, best he has played for a couple of months but soon got back to his "current" form.

Hopefully with Sloan back in Thommo can now put away the boots for the year. Has been a great servant for the club but needs to get his body back in order.

Mind you I think the speed of the game (quicker ball ups) and reduced rest time on the bench (only 3 interchange players now) has caught up to him pretty fast.

Just cant see what he offering the team at present. He has always given away a mountain of frees. His disposal has always been a little bit shite if truth be told. But now his work rate, which is such a crucial part of his game is being hampered by his inability to cover the ground, and his ability to wrestle his way through packs just aint working.
As for 'resting' him up forward. Just stop. Where is the sense in this???

Please, PLEASE, rest this man, get him right for next year.
Shattering this mans reputation and all he did to carry this side through utter crap by playing him right now

I'm am getting quite sick of the dumb free kicks he gives away. I mean he just sits on the ball like some wondrous moron.

yep, and he tackles players head on when they have their head down and he gets pinged for it over and over and over but he keeps doing it....he's a dumb blonde....

he is clearly carrying some sort of injury he needs to be rested for the rest of the season. It's a disgrace that they keep picking him. How the hell is he going to go next week against the dogs at Etihad? that's the fastest track in footy and he's gonna be hobbling around...that'll lose us the game

The philosophy is trying to win regardless of ladder position, and obviously that includes selection. Would Kerridge play better than an injured Thompson? probably. I don't know what he adds in on-field leadership but it would better than a 10 game player. I'm not justifying his selection but maybe it was a 50/50 in that regard before that game (obviously it's not in hindsight). I'm also not justifying the selection to win policy, particularly when we have young players in SANFL form. However maybe it's good to keep winning and keep that belief for next year.

and surely we need to look at kerridge to really see what we have...if kerridge isn't in and Thommo is I'm going to lose my shit

I was at the ground today and after another Thompson brainfade some dude behind me was talking with his mate saying "we've been carrying him for two years".

Remember this is our best and fairest from last year. He was in the AA side, for Christ's sake! Carrying him for two years? He's been carrying us for the two years before this one! That is what we are doing to his reputation by allowing him to keep playing when it is obvious to all and sundry that he is not fit. I don't care if he thinks he can play, he can't, not now. Stop playing him.

Most frustrating of all was Bickley before the game saying that they dropped Kerridge because he was struggling to run out matches. Thompson hasn't run a match out in over a month!

Cant agree with the first part. But can kind of in a way understand where he is coming from. Even at his best Thommos disposal and decision making has been average at best. He just got it a shit load of times

I've run out of excuses, he really just needs to sit the rest of the season out. Reading between the lines of what Sando said in the PC about him, I reckon that will be his last game of the season.

by resting/dropping him this week they'll effectively be admitting that they have gotten it wrong for the last month. didn't i read on here that harper had said that he wasn't carrying an injury as recent as last week. so unless they think we're ridiculously gullible, which if triggy gets involved i wouldn't be surprised) and expect us to believe that he picked up an injury on sunday then they'll have to omit him on form. be interesting to see in which direction they go.

Thats Thommo, he's still a gun, this is not meant to bag him. It's about not dragging down his reputation by playing him injured.

couldn't agree more. there have been times in the past when there just weren't any options available in the sanfl, whether form or sheer volume of injuries. this is not one of those times and to watch a champion of the club hobbling around is absolutely horrendous. a lot of people will howl this down, but even if kerridge wasn't available, i'd prefer to see tambling playing a full game in the midfield as opposed to watching us continue to torture an injured thommo. it just has to stop.

I think Thommo definitely needs a rest and a freshen up. His skills are shocking at the moment due to his injury and simply turned the ball over too often in dangerous positions. I can see why the selectors gave him this match but Sando surely has to end his season now.

i don't understand that. he's clearly been restricted for a couple of months and was getting worse and worse until his low point 3-4 weeks ago. what is it that has changed between him being selected for the last game and being selected for this game. if he was fit enough and in form enough to be selected against the roos, then he might as well play against the dogs. there was no drastic change in his output this week.

I'm sorry, but that supporter deserves to be revoked of his membership, what utter crap. I know plenty of people say some crap on here, but that takes the cake.

Cant agree with the first part. But can kind of in a way understand where he is coming from. Even at his best Thommos disposal and decision making has been average at best. He just got it a shit load of times
That gets bandied around a lot without much evidence. His DE over the last couple of years is no different to any of the other inside mids going around. Sure, he is prone to the odd howler turnover, but so is someone like Danger. This is a guy who was a Brownlow favourite for a large part of last season and won an AA gig, he was/is an out an out elite A grade mid, and has been for at least 2 seasons (maybe 3).

I remember taylor_walker_13 always had something against him, even when he was dominating last year. And the only reason for it was that turnover in the 2007 elim final.

Did anyone hear the rumour today, if Hird quits tonight or tomorrow, the AFL will not remove premiership points this season?