LA Rams, NFFC
I used to keep old scrapbooks when I was a kid - anyone else ever do this or did this ? is it an obsolete art for kids these days ?

I haven't since I got older - and older.

I decided I'd scan them as they're getting a bit worn now - and also share a few of the older ones for hawks fans to have a look at.

hfcscrapbooks

:D

Thanks, Ram-Man for sharing your scrapbook. And the link. I'll keep an eye on it.

Round 22, 1982

Below are the teams from The Age prior to Round 22, 1982.

Gary Ablett has been recalled at the expense of Peter Schwab. Simon O'Donnell - the future Australian Test and One Day all rounder is at Full forward for the Saints.

Current AFL CEO Andrew Demetriou is on the wing for North Melbourne.​
7828272.jpg

2723707.jpg

6643816.jpg

6694544.jpg

Below is the inside front cover of my first Hawks scrapbook complete with cricket stickers and the experts tips for the round.

Hawthorn would win in round 22 setting up a clash with Carlton in the first week of the finals, which we would lose. The following week against North Melbourne would be the debut of Dermott Brereton, who was my favourite player growing up, he would bag 5 goals in a win over North Melbourne. We would then lose to Carlton again and they went on to win the flag defeating Richmond.​
4276049.jpg

7258371.jpg

8550377.jpg

7062264.jpg

Community Football Advert

5403995.jpg
The above community football add coloured in by a 7 year old Hawk fan. What a great picture.​
916210.jpg

Ahh the memories a great read so far champ showing my age as i collected the players cards myself as a kid

RE G Ablett what were the circumstances of him leaving the Hawks cant think ATM RM so if you could elaborate that would be great cheers noose...:thumbsu:

Thanks guys.

I can't really shed any great light on G.Ablett :confused: - have a feeling he had a run in with the constabulary - minor stuff I think -and missed training sessions on a regular basis. I don't think yabby was too keen on him either - probably keen on his talent - but his attitude was a problem.

Gary Ablett had a difficult time with both discipline, and city living.

He left the Hawks to return to Drouin in 83, and played soccer, not AFL, for the Drouin Dragons (My team played against him, but I missed that game...though I did play against Chopper Handley the following year :D )

Geelong offered a semi-rural setting, and perhaps a less authoritarian coaching/admin, and it all went from there.

I used to keep scrap books from year to year.
Was only thinking the other day of how annoyed i am that I didnt keep them.
70's and 80's was a fine time to keep them.

Dont reckon to many kids keep them nowadays.

haha that's great, I remember that! ^^^. How many weeks would Derm get for that Kiss in today's game??

RE G Ablett what were the circumstances of him leaving the Hawks cant think ATM RM so if you could elaborate that would be great cheers noose...:thumbsu:

Had personal issues and the club shipped him off to play country footy at Myrtleford. He represented Ovens & Murray in the country championships. Did OK during his stint without being spectacular. Obviously he did not feel the same about the Hawks when he returned to AFL ranks.

Still rankles me when I think of the difference he, Junior and Junior2 could have made to the Hawks.

Updated a few more Rounds 17-19 1988 ...

That's awesome, mate. I was there that day - truly extraordinary.

Keep the scrapbooks coming.

I was always told Ablett was moved on because he had drug issues.

Was a 'druggie', which to a young teen learning about drugs, stuck in my mind. Was told this is what happened to people who used drugs - they were given the flick. A cautionary tale. Don't know if I realised they were meant to be bad, or just that it made you the kind of person who couldnt get a game with the Hawks.

On drugs of course could have meant anything, maybe just that he had a few puffs, or something more. Still, whatever it was, I was told Jeans moved him on, he being a copper - didnt want to have anything to do with the guy.

One of the greatest moves by the club ever I reckon. An absolute stain of a human being.

Nice scrapbook btw. thanks for sharing.

.. with the sad news of yabby's illness I got motivated to put a bit more up ...

.. did the 1988 Grand Final last night -- will do more in weeks to come ... updated navigation page to show all the scrapbook articles I have ... intend to update during season ...

http://hfcscrapbooks.weebly.com/1988-grand-final.html

Thanks, mate. I love the headline:

6820534.jpg

Had some time to update my scrapbooking online .. finished 1991 GF ... my scrapbooking was a bit spazmodic after that but I kept a scrapbook for the year 1997 , the year after the failed merger.

After being 8 wins and 6 losses after Round 14 we ended up 8 wins and 14 losses.

Some interesting pics like this one of a young Jason Akermanis marking ahead of Brad Scott.

4831021_orig.jpg

Link