Pessimistic

30k Posts 10k Posts HBF's Milk Crate - 70k Posts TheBrownDog
Horks
Read that Williamstown will now wear Collingwood Jumpers and that Coburg will wear Richmond Jumpers.

Aren't they being a bit arrogant having the VFL clubs do that ? What about that club's history.

If everyone did this it would look like the AFL reserves again... or is that the real intention.

Melbourne took on sandringham with no change to sandringham whatsoever.
Box Hill wear a tiny hawk on the old Box Hill jersey. Isn't that how it should be ?

Ironically Hawthorn changed from blue and gold to brown and gold when they joined the VFA to avoid a clash. Now the willy colours are disappearing.

Pess

I agree.

When did the VFL/AFL suddenly become responsible for all football in Australia (or even Melbourne) ?

Why is the Williamstown history deemed to be worth less than the Collingwood (reserves !) history ? They are both just football clubs, and on that level they are equals.

There is a fair arguement to be made that the VFL was successful in Melbourne because of the competition it faced from other leagues (particularly the VFA). It now seems that leagues need to do it the "VFL/AFL" way or not at all....when really the AFL is just one of hundreds of leagues which operate throughout the country.

Good Topic

hmmmmmmm

ptw

There's also an article in inside footy which talks about the upcoming 'world cup'.

It looks good but the 40 countries which play Aussie rules formed the IAFC because the AFL was not interested.

Now the AFL see the possibilities and will put up funding but as a condition want the IAFC dismantled and they take over the whole thing. Either that or no support at all, you could presume.

Perhaps it's a good thing but it looks like a similar 'takeover' thing too.

By the way, the teams so far would be
USA, Canada, South Africa, Ireland, England Denmark, Sweden and japan.
There's also the possibility of NZ, Samoa, Nauru and PNG

Australia not included at this stage.

Pess

interesting...

I know of a team here (KL) but there is only one so it is mostly drinking (no-one to play !!). The big rivalry is with Singapore of course. I will let them know and I might finally get to see some football live !!!!

ptw

too many big words Easty ???

Collingwood does have three syllables I suppose.

Would it help if we just said **** ?

would that make it easier to understand ?

ptw

Originally posted by Pessimistic:
it would look like the AFL reserves again... or is that the real intention.

Pessimistic,

Who's real intention? I don't see this as an AFL inspired decision (but I agree with you that they would love to see 10 VFL teams running around in AFL jumpers), but I see it more as an individual arangement(s). Collingwood want they're reserves playing in Collingwood jumpers, no matter which team it is. Other AFL teams are far less intrusive in their "demands" with their partnerships, and allow for the tradition/history of clubs to be left untouched. It's purely case-by case.

BTW- Did the news/article metnion the extent of the change? I heard that Willi would only wear the jumper during curtain raisers to Collingwood matches (which I presume would be 3-4 this season), and on all other occasions wear the traditional jumper, as opposed to it being a full time change. Although I totally disagree with it, Collingwood had to push for some recognition, as alligning with a western suburbs team perplexed/angered many of their fans, as did the doggies failure to continue their alliance with Willi, with our fans. Most magpie fans wouldn't be able to identify with Willi, let alone travel to watch 'em.

I did see it coming though. A multi million dollar club would always would always win out on its "demands". BUT in saying that, Williamstown would have been the LAST club I would have imagined to sell out....

The AFL are now turning on their own and eating them.......

It has NOTHING to do with tradition anymore, that is a convenient byline...it has to do solely and utterly with profit...and the perpetuation of AFL businesses at the expense of all others....
i.e. SANFL, WAFL / Westar, VFA/L, because it is football lots can be gotten away with that would never be gotten away with on a manufacturing or retail business level.

The VFA , though I dont know much about it started in 1877 or so and were once a grand competition, with grand clubs, now pity ,pity ,pity.

PA1870

Same is happening out in the bush ... more and more country clubs are adopting AFL-preferred guernseys ... there's so many mergers out there that there are more and more guernsey clashes, and suddenly out goes the old and in comes the AFL photocopy jumper.

------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy

Originally posted by eastaugh36:
ptw is yawned due to how boring the subject is, stuff the vfl as a whole

Easty doesn't give a shit about the VFL now that Simon Eastaugh has gone to Fremantle.Now Easty will be following the WESTAR RULES .
tongue.gif
tongue.gif
tongue.gif
tongue.gif
tongue.gif

------------------
"Hey ,just because I don't care doesn't mean I don't understand"

Originally posted by eastaugh36:
ptw is yawned due to how boring the subject is, stuff the vfl as a whole

Easty - you boofhead - if you don't like a subject don't read it and further more don't make inane comments, yawn, pretty inventive stuff
rolleyes.gif

I'm not from Victoria but take an interest in VFL. So you're from SA, so you hate Victoria, get over it. Chances are in a couple of years you may have to move somewhere interstate, maybe even Melbourne!
eek.gif

[This message has been edited by Sydneyfan (edited 16 February 2001).]

I did an interview with Ken Gannon before Christmas which I should get around to posting here.
Ken Gannon is the Godfath...er...CEO of the VFL and I think he has about as much commitment to football tradition as I have to Surfing, which is three fifths of stuff all.
This is all about recreating the AFL Reserves using the VFA facililities, club structures, etc.
It's just like any business contracting out it's unprofitable operations.
It's how these second rate Real Estate Agents, Pimps and Dodgy Used Car Salesmen run the game.
Mind you, everyone cops it.
There's smack dealers with more integrity than these bludgers.
Did anyone see Steve Bisley in The Big Steal the other arvo?
the AFL and the NRL would be a great model for a TV Satire along the lines of 'The Games', with Steve Bisley as the CEO.
It's like this old bloke said to us at the Rob Roy a few years ago: "You'd have to work real hard to bugger up footy, and they are."
The real fundamental problem with the corporatisation of sport is that the value of footy as a commodity has been built up by years of sacrifice on and off the field, the return that the game is recieving now has never gone back to those people, and their institutions, that has made footy what it is today.
Basically these people are stealing from the past, and doing very nicely out of it thank you very much.

Phil Doyle

------------------
Remonstrating with the goal umpire