catcozmo

Lakers, L'pool, Vics,MACC
With key players hopefully returning from injury, new recruits, plus players either improving or declining, it has got me thinking about what type of roles and positions some key players will play.

A few questions that come to mind:
1) does/can Billie keep his role as defensive forward next year with varcoe and menzal hopefully returning up front, as well as increased forward time from Stevie and chappy.

2) how much time does caddy spend forward compared to middle?

3) will we see increased midfield roles for the barrel, varcoe, bundy, motlop, with the flow on effect of leaving our two most dangerous small forwards Stevie and chappy to inflict damage in the fwd50

4) can we play West, Vardy, Hmac and Pods in the same team knowing the goal square is well and truly already looked after!

5) how much will we get out of the hyphened one, caddy, stringer, Guthrie and Thunt?

6) how much do the roles of the elder statesmen like smithy, Kelly, Boris, chappy, Stevie and Bartel lessen to accommodate the expected growth of the youngsters

7) can guys like brown, kersten, walker, gillies and bathie force their way in, or are they purely back ups?

Feel free to answer all of them, or as many as you like, or even throw up your own questions, will be interesting to see what happens.

I said all year, I was more confident of having a real go at the flag in 2013, then I was for 2012, and I think with the way things are shaping up we should certainly have our sights set on a flag!

1) does/can Billie keep his role as defensive forward next year with varcoe and menzal hopefully returning up front, as well as increased forward time from Stevie and chappy.
Maybe. I thought he was magnificent up forward, his pressure was amazing. It'll be tough for spots up forward, so I want the MC to be ruthless. 2 or 3 consecutive bad games in a row for ANY forward (k maybe not Tommy), and they should be dropped for someone who is undeservedly sitting on the sidelines.

Most of his time should be spent in the middle. We were investing in an inside midfielder not a forward, though an extra goalkicking option never hurt.

3) will we see increased midfield roles for the barrel, varcoe, bundy, motlop, with the flow on effect of leaving our two most dangerous small forwards Stevie and chappy to inflict damage in the fwd50
I like SJ in the middle almost as much as I do him up forward, and you never know, we might need his smarts in the midfield in 2013.

Bartel could play Mr Fix It again, but I'd rather he helped lead the way in the midfield again with Selwood. Varcoe will play off half back most probably, but I expect him to be running over every square metre of the ground. Bundy will average around 23 disposals next year at his current improvement rate, which would be borderline comp domination.

I expect Motlop to continue up forward. Remember him at the start to middle of the year when he looked like winning the Rising Star! Thought the kid was the second coming! If he can improve his defensive work and his tank, I expect him to play a big role in 2013.

4) can we play West, Vardy, Hmac and Pods in the same team knowing the goal square is well and truly already looked after!
Vardy and Hawkins are straight starters. Pods probably has the most vulnerable spot. I could see Hmac rucking solo, or West rucking with him next year. Could see Podsiadly dropping out, not because he's a bad player (he has plenty to offer) but because we need to develop the kids.

5) how much will we get out of the hyphened one, caddy, stringer, Guthrie and Thunt?
Lots.

Hyphen could come in and play a role like Duncan, Bundy and Menzel did.. or he can play a few games for the year before returning to the VFL. Hard to predict. He has heaps of potential and has performed well in the VFL, but that doesn't necessarily mean he'll be good in the ones.

Caddy should come in and average around 18-19 touches. He could play a big role in our midfield revival, and I think Wells sees that in Caddy too. We didn't give up an Ablett compo for nothing.

Stringer will be important if he can improve his disposal. He is absolutely explosive. Could be a Duncan with less accuracy but more pace and flash and "where the hell did HE come from?!" factor.

Guthrie should gradually replace Hunt towards the end of the year.

THunt has been very exciting at times. Has softened the blow of all his opponents, and is capable of going forward to kick a couple of goals. Will only improve as a tagger.

6) how much do the roles of the elder statesmen like smithy, Kelly, Boris, chappy, Stevie and Bartel lessen to accommodate the expected growth of the youngsters
Why lessen? The more players firing the better.

7) can guys like brown, kersten, walker, gillies and bathe force there way in, or are they purely back ups?
I could see Brown earning a fair few opportunies down back, Kersten replacing an injured Hawkins or Vardy temporarily, ditto Walker, Gillies is all but gone and ditto Bathie.

A few questions that come to mind:

While I was sceptical about SJ in the midfield, I really think he needs to set himself over pre season to play more minutes in there if we are going to contend next year. This year I thought he was only moved in once the coaching staff realised chappy was cooked as a midfielder but when he went in, he had a big impact. I almost feel whether or not SJ can play more midfield minutes at that level of quality is one of the top few keys to our season 2013, up there with Hawkins backing up 2012 and the backline holding together post Scarlett.

As for Billie, yes I think there is a spot there for him. I think we have to be cautious about Varcoe and Menzel returning next year "as good as new".

Will depend heavily on his pre season. I think he will still rotate through both but our obvious need for him is in the middle so if he gets the work into his legs maybe 70 mid 30 forward.

Bundy yes, the others no. See part 1) re SJ.

If HMac eventuates, no. One will miss. Depends on the durability of HMac and Vardy and whether or not Pods declines. If HMac and Vardy were fit and Pods holds form, you would think West would be the unlucky one. HMac deal has to happen first and probably a miracle if he and Vardy were fit together anyway....

T.Hunt is an established member of the 22. Guthrie will depend on if we make a play for a third tall for the backline or not. He could step in and play every game next year or be restricted to 15 odd as first drop for any injuries if we were to bring in Rivers. You'd hope Caddy would demand a game most weeks. GHS is tough because he lacks versatility to be eased in like a Duncan was for example. Stringer is sort of similar but looks a little more adapt inside and out, and he does get into goal scoring positions, might want to spend some time over the pre season on his finishing however.

Kelly, Enright, SJ and Bartel will all still be absolutely crucial to whatever we do in 2013. Corey and Chapman may end up a sore point at some stage throughout next year.

7) can guys like brown, kersten, walker, gillies and bathie force their way in, or are they purely back ups?

We'll be fair rooted if anyone of them play more than a handful of games.

Motlop could be in for a very interesting season, his first half of 2012 was excellent but his drop in form was quite stark.
Smedts is very similar in that they both have enormous potential but what has Billie looking the goods is his height which makes him a very good mark as well that natural flare in which he gave us glimpses of this season, not to mention his upside looks to be quite substantial
http://www.smartreplay.afl.com.au/?...Type=contestedMark&seek=1242&videoQuality=med
http://www.smartreplay.afl.com.au/?...Type=contestedMark&seek=2529&videoQuality=med
http://www.smartreplay.afl.com.au/?...Type=contestedMark&seek=4085&videoQuality=med
http://www.smartreplay.afl.com.au/?...701&eventType=Goal&seek=5225&videoQuality=med
Could really turn out to be something very different, almost a similar player to Johnson and Menzel.

If Motlop can begin to add more physicality to his game (contested footy) then he will continue improve and play the Geelong way but if he stalls as he did in the 2nd half this year, Smedts will take his spot and Motlop is back in the VFL.

1) I will be amazed if Varcoe plays off half back...surely Mackie, Taylor, Enright
2) Menzel will be back and play forward...he is a lock to be selected in the top 18....a star
3) Caddy will play..they didnt select him for the VFL.but he will rotate mid/forward/bench...wont play 22 games tho
4) IF...if..we get Hmac then Hmac and West will be selected
5) Smedts will play forward with some stretches in the midfield
6) Vardy will play 15 games minimum as a permanent forward...a star in the making
7) Bundy predominately midfield to help out Selwood
8) Stringer will get games for the same reason ( into the weight room son! )
9) Bartel into the centre line...Selwood, Kelly, Bartel in for the first bounce Round 1!
10) Chappy permanent forward
11) Lots of rotations in the forward line throughout the year with people like Motlop, Varcoe, Chapman, Menzel, Smedts, Pods, Kersten, Vardy, Stokes, Caddy and Bundy all in there at some time during the season. Tommy H might play every game.
12) IF Rivers is taken the full back line will be Rivers, Lonergan, Guthrie
13) Joel Corey will play Round 1

So...Round 1 with multiple changes throughout the year.....only in form players to make finals appearances

Rivers Lonergan Guthrie
Mackie Taylor Enright
Murdoch Selwood Varcoe
Smedts Vardy SJ
Menzel Hawkins Chapman
HMac Kelly Bartel

Int: Christensen West Corey Caddy (sub)

EMG Motlop Stringer Stokes Pods Kersten + a smokey....any of whom could play. We have depth!!

Pods/Vardy could be swapped but I just think that they will want to put games into Vardy from the get go. Pods will play plenty of games though.

Its very hard to put 28 into 22 !!!!!!!!!

OOOOOPSSSSS....forgot about Josh Hunt who deserves his place....I give up!

Very high quality comment on this thread. Great job guys!

9) Bartel into the centre line...Selwood, Kelly, Bartel in for the first bounce Round 1!
13) Joel Corey will play Round 1

To build on what I picked out, I think that we should start with our absolute best 22 players.

Getting game time into the kids should wait until we get some winning momentum. It will be better for them and for our points tally.

So for me, that means the blue ribbon midfield (Selwood, Bartel, Kelly, Corey, SJ) and Pods up forward.

Its very hard to put 28 into 22 !!!!!!!!!
We are starting to look formidable :D

With what looks like a glut of forwards,(in October)I reckon the big question where it counts down at Catland over Summer will be, who of them can we develop as a backman.Especially if the Rivers trade finishes up the famous old creek.

Looking through the list, thats exactly what I thought. The alternatives up back were limited....and up forward quite the opposite....almost a glut! And your point about Rivers is spot on. Some back-up backmen would be handy if we could snaffle some during this trade period. Rivers and another would be nice...

Maybe dumping Gillies isnt such a good idea?

If we don't get many injuries next year we're going to have some seriously good players playing VFL. A couple of these will be:

Menzel - Depending on his recovery he could play a few VFL games before being promoted. Will be a first 18 regular once up and going.
Caddy - I'd expect him to start the season in the VFL to get to learn our game style. A bit like Gunston at Hawthorn he'll be a fringe player early and then cement his spot by mid-season.

Other than that I'd be looking at rotating our older guys out of the side if we can get off to a good start in the AFL. Give blokes like Chapman, Corey, Kelly, Bartel and Enright only 15-18 games during the home and away season so they're not spent by finals. That way we can play plenty of youngsters that deserve game time while still being finals contenders.

1) Does/can Billie keep his role as defensive forward next year with varcoe and menzal hopefully returning up front, as well as increased forward time from Stevie and chappy.

Yes but I also think Chappy spends more time forward. Stevie to do fairly similar to last year. All this doesn't bode well for Stokes

2) How much time does Caddy spend forward compared to middle?
Should step up and spend be a part of midfield rotations, we don't need another forward, we've got plenty better suited.

3) Will we see increased midfield roles for the barrel, varcoe, bundy, motlop, with the flow on effect of leaving our two most dangerous small forwards Stevie and chappy to inflict damage in the fwd50

More midfield for Bartel. Varcoe and Motlop to be winger/high forwards. Expecting Varcoe/Motlop to get heavily involved in the goal assists.

4) Can we play West, Vardy, Hmac and Pods in the same team knowing the goal square is well and truly already looked after!

No, in fact in many games we'll only go in with two of them. That probably bodes well for H'mac the only genuine ruckmen and Vardy the most versatile ruck/forward. Less so for West and Pods, they'll have to rely on superior form to stay in the side.

5) How much will we get out of the hyphened one, Caddy, Stringer, Guthrie and Thunt?

Hyphen - 5-10 games
Stringer - 5-10 games
Guthrie - 8-14 games
T-Hunt - 12-18 games
Caddy - 12-18 games

6) How much do the roles of the elder statesmen like Smithy, Kelly, Boris, Chappy, Stevie and Bartel lessen to accommodate the expected growth of the youngsters

All will be main stays, but all will be rested 2-3 games for the year to keep fresh and accommodate growth. Chappy & Smithy a little more heavily but will both play 15+ games. Would expect Chappy and Smith to not travel to Perth and Brisbane unless injuries hit.

7) Can guys like Brown, Kersten, Walker, Gillies and Bathie force their way in, or are they purely back ups?

Unlikely. Kersten perhaps. Little chance for the others.

8) Big improvers?
H'Mac: Smokey for All Australian IMO.