AFL LEGEND

Deccan Chargers, EFC, WCE
Just for some fun, anyone playing in finals (top half), post your team, and post the team you are playing against, and discuss the things that you think will get you over the line.

I will kick things off now.

Goddard V Goddard
Newman V Newman
Lockyer V Drummond
S.Fisher V S.Fisher
Gilbee V Milburn
Broughton V Broughton
Hodge V Grimes
R.Houlihan (E) V Hill
Petrenko V Greenwood
-------------
Ablett (C) V Ablett
Montagna V Dal Santo
Judd V Judd
Pendlebury V J.Selwood
Gibbs V P.Burgoyne
L.Anthony V L.Anthony
Dangerfield (E) V Barham
Zaharakis V Cross (As he is injured, will not play)
-----------
Petrie V Mcintosh
Kruezer V Kruezer
Vickery V Jacobs
Spencer V Browne
------------
N.Riewoldt V N.Riewodlt
L.Davis V L.Davis
J.Brown V J.Brown
B.Deledio V Franklin
Pavlich V Pavlich
Fevola V Aaron Davey
Didak V Goodwin
Ballantyne (E) V Jurrah
M.Brown V Maccaffer

So with this in mind, and the teams in (I have one more trade up my sleeve for the grand final :D) I shuld hopefully come away with the bacon, he will be playing at least one player short in the back half you would think, as Grimes, Greenwood and Milburn are all not certainties to line up this week. And the exclusion of Cross (Injured) in the midfield has seen my chances skyrocket.

With classroom bragging rights on the line here (uni class), i am playing the guy who has been the dominant figure all year (and is actually ranked 188th overall),

Post your team and who you are playing against, try to match up a player that the opposition have who is most like (point scoring wise: ie: Deledio V Franklin, both random scoring players)

Be interesting to hear what peoples chances are in the semi finals.

Thanks... HFF_07

Probably easier to just post differences:
Me vs Sheedy
Gilbert vs Goddard
Gilbee vs Hodge
Enright vs Drummond
Grima vs Hayden or Hill
Dal Santo vs Ablett
Kornes vs McGlynn
Boyd vs Anthony
Sandilands vs Clark
McIntosh vs Kreuzer
Brown vs Pavlich
Didak vs Davis
SJohnson vs O'Keefe
Cloke vs Jurrah
Riewoldt vs Krakouer

Player for player, I'm probably edging him but it could come down to captain & I just cant seem to get it right. Leaning towards Rooey or NDS at the moment. Surely he'll have Ablett this week although seeing he is out of his comp he might go for someone wacky like Jurrah - he did go Broughton last week. C'mon Sheeds, give it to a young gun:D

Lockyer = Fisher
Greenwood = Gilbee
Selwood = Pendlebury
K Cornes = Gibbs
Anthony = Rich
Sandilands = Jolly
Reiwoldt = Porplyzia
Clark = Ballantyne

I'm the second list, playing Ballantyne with SJ out. I think I'm in trouble, with his better forward two slots likely to cost me the match unless Fisher and Gilbee pull out stunners. Cue JM... :P

Haha he loves his Spud Fisher and Spud Gilbee..

alrighty..

who we both have..

Goddard
Enright
Broughton
Ablett (C)
Selwood
Judd
Goodes
Fevola

differences
ME - HIM
Newman - Locker
Fisher - Gilbert
Gilbee - Mackie
Bock:mad: - Patful
Cross:mad: - Montagna
Pendlebury - Bartel
Jolly - Tippet
McIntosh - Lade
Riewoldt - OKeefe
Deledio - Davis
Pavlich - Brown
Franklin - Chapman
Porpis - Stevie J
Higgins - Goodwin
His forward is alot stronger so I'm trying to hit him in the defence and midfield..
Looking at Cross > Dal Santo or Hayes and Bock > Drummond..

im just gona post the differences in the 2 teams:
ME / HIM
Gilbert / Duffield
Hurley / Cornes
Dal Santo / Cooney
Clark / Kruezer
Franklin / Davis
Higgins / Alwyn Davey

he has anthony, i have the choice of anthony or rich, not sure which to go with

do you guys think i will win?

My team has had to come from 6th to get here & my opponent has gone through undefeated.:(

Anyway.....

Me vs Him (differances only)

Lockyer v Newman
Broughton v Rance
Dal Santo v Montagna
Sewell v Judd
Kornes v Gibbs
Sandi v Petrie
Delido v L.Davis
Goodwin v Fev.
A.Davey v John Anthony

What do you think?? Have I got any chance.:p

im just gona post the differences in the 2 teams:
ME / HIM
Gilbert / Duffield
Hurley / Cornes
Dal Santo / Cooney
Clark / Kruezer
Franklin / Davis
Higgins / Alwyn Davey

he has anthony, i have the choice of anthony or rich, not sure which to go with

do you guys think i will win?

Play Anthony Trix and l think you have him covered.

My team has had to come from 6th to get here & my opponent has gone through undefeated.:(

Anyway.....

Lockyer v Newman
Broughton v Rance
Dal Santo v Montagna
Sewell v Judd
Kornes v Gibbs
Sandi v Petrie
Delido v L.Davis
Goodwin v Fev.
A.Davey v John Anthony

You could be in for a close one Hawkmad. Cross your fingers that your backs Lockyer & Broughton rip out big ones. Lockyer needs to lift and you want Broughton to get at least 50-60 more than Rance which he can easily do.

Probably posted this in wrong thread first time - opponent is on left - HELP PLEASE AS HE HAS CLOSE TO THE PERFECT TEAM...

Was the top ranked player in my league this year and last year but lost the grand final last year and am staring down the barrel this week!!

I Need Bigfooty to help me get over the line!!

I was confident as I was playing a team that finished the season far lower than me but then I looked at the team and WOW!

These are the match-ups...(bold are shared players)
Defence
1. GODDARD (116.95 ave) v. DRUMMOND (100)
2.BROUGHTON (106) v. GILBERT (96)
3.DRUMMOND (100) V. LOCKYER (92.90)[/b]
4.LOCKYER (92.90) v. HODGE (90)
5. P.BURGOYNE (83) V. CORNES (90)
6. GRIMA (81) V. GILBEE (83)
7. CHENEY (70) V. CHENEY (70)

(Defence is the only area I get close to thanks to Grimes and Harding not playing!)

Midfield
1.ABLETT (140) V. DAL SANTO (119)
2. SWAN (126) V. SELWOOD (113)
3. MONTAGNA (125) V. GOODES (113)
4. SELWOOD (113) V. JUDD (112)
5. GOODES (113) V. MITCHELL (107)
6. JUDD (112) V. ANTHONY (93)*
(* Opponent has Anthony on bench)

Rucks
1. FRASER (96) V. JOLLY (93)
2. MCINTOSH V MCINTOSH

Forwards
1.CHAPMAN (119) V CHAPMAN
2. RIEWOLDT (112) V. J.BROWN (99)
3. DAVIS (112) V. DELEDIO (99)
4. DIDAK (110) V. HIGGINS (92)
5. S.JOHNSON (89) V. FRANKLIN (85)
6. FRANKIN (84) V. MCGLYNN (77)*
7. BYRNES (84) V. KRAKOUER (70)
(* Opponent has McGlynn on bench)

As you can see, I am playing the team from hell but I have saved 2 trades and have enough money for pretty much any 2 trades. What on earth does the knowledgable folk at Bigfooty recommend?

Initial thought was:
Anthony > Ablett (negating his best player and ensuring a strong captaincy)
Krakouer > O'Keefe (Krakouer my weakest link and O'Keefe the only premium he doesn'y have (but playing Sydney's nemesis-Collingwood) )

Beter ideas? Upgrading Cheney maybe?

Anyway.....

Lockyer v Newman
Broughton v Rance
Dal Santo v Montagna
Sewell v Judd
Kornes v Gibbs
Sandi v Petrie
Delido v L.Davis
Goodwin v Fev.
A.Davey v John Anthony

Definitely got a chance - probably a 50/50 call at the moment. I think it's going to come down to who fires on the day.

The unique players from both sides this week with averages in brackets.

Hodge (90.29) vs Enright (98.20)
C. Cornes (89.50) vs Lockyer (92.90)
S. Fisher (88.37) vs Mackie (81.79)
Gilbee (83.00) vs Rance (49.62)
Dal Santo (118.68) vs Goodes (112.60)
Bartel (109.11) vs Judd (111.60)
White (53.69) vs Jolly (93.30)
Davis (112.12) vs Pavlich (99.29)
O'Keefe (111.25) vs Fevola (93.10)
J. Brown (99.40) vs McGlynn (77.79)

Going on averages, I have him covered by 45, but it'll be very tight. Both will have Ablett as skipper.

This is my team and I am looking at using my last 2 trades, still undecided on what to do..

My team;

B: Goddard, Newman, Drummond, Hodge, Broughton, Hurley, Rance (Grimes, Urquhart)

C: Ablett, J Selwood, Judd, Sewell, Power, Rich (Muston, Barham)

R: McIntosh, Mumford (Cox, Spencer)

F: N Riewoldt, J Brown, Deledio, Franklin, Pavlich, S Johnson, R Murphy (M Brown, Thorp)

Opponent:

B: Goddard, Lake, Hargrave, Gilbert, Hill, Scotland, L Brown (Post, Broadbent)

C: Ablett, Selwood, Hayes, Pendlebury, Rich, Dangerfield (Beams, Redden)

R: McIntosh, Koschitzke (Messen, Jo Roughead)

F: O'Keefe, Riewoldt, Davis, Chapman, Goodwin, McPhee (J Anthony, Walker)

Now looking at both teams;
I have him covered in the centre I think, the rucks are even, defense is 50/50 but he has got my measure in the forward line..
He has 2 trades left as well so I am assuming he will sure up his centre line..

Looking at both teams what do you guys think?

Also where could I improve my team with my last 2 trades?

Very nervous about this one, as i am playing against one of my teachers at school..
My side is on the right.
Cornes vs Gilbert
Broughton vs Houlihan
Lockyer vs Cheney
Gibbs vs Bartel
Beams vs Cooney
Anthony vs Rich
Sandilands vs Mcintosh
Petrie vs Tippett
Pavlich vs O'keefe
Fevola vs B.Harvey
Davey vs Ballantyne

Would be much more confident if Cross was in as i would not have to play both beams and anthony. In bold are the trades im thinking of making this week, leaving one for the final (hopefully!).
SJ -> Davey
Adcock -> Lockyer, moving suban to the bench.

The big one- against the 4 time premier and league founder.
16 common players, 13 of which can play
Main unique matchups as follows (he's on the right)

Back :
Hodge v Lake
Drummond v Pratt
Lockyer v Fisher

Mid:
Bartel v Selwood
Sewell v Dal Santo

Ruck:
Jolly v Gardiner

Forward:
Harvey v Pavlich
O'Keefe v Riewoldt (Nick)
LeCras v Rioli

I've also got Krakouer and Sidebottom in my forward line, but they'll probably be benched as I plan on making two trades, with Enright and Porplyzia my targets at the moment. He also has at least one trade left, so who knows what he's planning- probably a forward as he's missing one at the moment unless Hogan comes in this arvo.

I think I'm going to be OK if I bolster the backline with Enright (he's winning that comfortably at the moment) and bring in the Porpoise- the forwards seem pretty even. Jolly should beat Gardiner, and the mids are really a coin-toss- they're all brilliant...

What do you folks think?

The big one- against the 4 time premier and league founder.
16 common players, 13 of which can play
Main unique matchups as follows (he's on the right)

Back :
Hodge v Lake
Drummond v Pratt
Lockyer v Fisher

Mid:
Bartel v Selwood
Sewell v Dal Santo

Ruck:
Jolly v Gardiner

Forward:
Harvey v Pavlich
O'Keefe v Riewoldt (Nick)
LeCras v Rioli

I've also got Krakouer and Sidebottom in my forward line, but they'll probably be benched as I plan on making two trades, with Enright and Porplyzia my targets at the moment. He also has at least one trade left, so who knows what he's planning- probably a forward as he's missing one at the moment unless Hogan comes in this arvo.

I think I'm going to be OK if I bolster the backline with Enright (he's winning that comfortably at the moment) and bring in the Porpoise- the forwards seem pretty even. Jolly should beat Gardiner, and the mids are really a coin-toss- they're all brilliant...

What do you folks think?

Can I ask why you are bringing in Porps for and not someone else liek Davey, etc?

Porps has been very average lately, I'm wondering why quite a few people have been bringing his name up for. :confused:

Can I ask why you are bringing in Porps for and not someone else liek Davey, etc?

Porps has been very average lately, I'm wondering why quite a few people have been bringing his name up for. :confused:

Price mostly...
I wanted to keep some cash for a final upgrade next week- this trade will leave me with about $60K. Unless there's someone I've missed around the $350-370K mark? I am happy to be convinced otherwise though. I could go lower of course. Realistically I can spend up to about $420K on a forward (providing I still trade Grimes and Skipworth and bring in Enright), but that could leave me with a trade but no cash for the GF. If I get there...

All suggestions warmly recieved. :o

Price mostly...
I wanted to keep some cash for a final upgrade next week- this trade will leave me with about $60K. Unless there's someone I've missed around the $350-370K mark? I am happy to be convinced otherwise though. I could go lower of course. Realistically I can spend up to about $420K on a forward (providing I still trade Grimes and Skipworth and bring in Enright), but that could leave me with a trade but no cash for the GF. If I get there...

All suggestions warmly recieved. :o

I haven't seen Rioli's name mentioned much around here. His scores have been steadily improving since he came back from injury, scored 99 last week. Was going great guns before he got injured. Hawks have Tigers and Bombers in the last two weeks, so some good scoring potential there.

Not bad for $359k if you're looking in that price range.

I haven't seen Rioli's name mentioned much around here. His scores have been steadily improving since he came back from injury, scored 99 last week. Was going great guns before he got injured. Hawks have Tigers and Bombers in the last two weeks, so some good scoring potential there.

Not bad for $359k if you're looking in that price range.

Had him since the start of the year. In fact I've had him since his first game last year! I wonder how long into his career he'll play for me? He would be squarely in my sights if not. He's a gun.

I just think you have convinced me to go M.Brown > Rioli :p

I've got back on, and saw your post in the main trades thread. Headline: Judd Jumps on Junior. Good trade mate.

Still reckon I'm off to swim with the Porpoise. They call him flipper, flipper, faster than lightning...:D

I've got back on, and saw your post in the main trades thread. Headline: Judd Jumps on Junior. Good trade mate.

Still reckon I'm off to swim with the Porpoise. They call him flipper, flipper, faster than lightning...:D

HeeHee! Good luck with the Porps mate, hope he does well for you. :thumbsu:

Fisher v Houlihan
Newman v Mackie

Rich v Pendlebury

Clark v Sandilands

ROK v Didak
Aker v Fev
Porpz v Buddy
Roo v Pav

I took a 3 point lead after we both had 7 last night.

Leaves it as

Fisher, Newman, Rich, Clark, Porpz, Riewoldt, ROK + 3
v
Houlihan, Pendlebury, Sandilands, Didak, Buddy, Fev, Pav

Going to be hard. Really rests on what Buddy and Fev turn up. Be it the ******s that can't get a kick and give away 1000 FA, then I could be a chance. Houlihan can spud it up quite well too

That didn't turn out too well for you mate.

Me vs. He

Me: Montagna, Pendles, Jolly, H-Mac, O'Keefe, Pav.

Him: Lockyer, Gilbert, Beams, Blake, Harvey + 5 points.