Setanta O'hAilpin - struggling

After our second win in almost a year, probably too early to be looking at negatives, but I thought one of our glaring weaknesses was Setanta O'hAilpin. There's no room for him in defence, with Waite, Jamieson, Bower and Thornton all performing well at the moment and have gone past him. He played ruck last year, but he is serviceable at best when he's played there.

But for me, the biggest concern is playing him at CHF. He simply cannot play the position. One aspect of his game that has always been a weakness is his marking. For someone playing at CHF, he drops consistently drops marks that you'd expect your CHF to take. And once the ball hits the deck, he's basically out of the contest. When Kreuzer was moved forward, the difference was instantly recognizable. Kreuzer has a presence which Setanta does not - he looks like he'll have an impact, and for a big man, he's as good as any tall once the ball is on the ground.

Although it hurts to say so, it appears that the Irish experiment has failed. I wouldn't go as far as to delist him - he'd be a handy backup if one of our defenders went down with injury (and you'd expect him to continue to improve given he is still learning) - but he is not in our best 22, and Hartlett would be much more serviceable in the side at the moment.

- he looks like he'll have an impact, and for a big man, he's as good as any tall once the ball is on the ground.

Although it hurts to say so, it appears that the Irish experiment has failed.

You have to be joking. He was awesome last year and has been crook as!
Give the bloke a chance
Loved it when he jumped in to help Fev take on the world.Had 3 guys in a second.
He is getting his fitness and touch back.
After rnd 1 similar threads said to trade Fev - and where are those posters now?
Setanta is an experiment and he has come on in leaps and bounds. He will be fine.
Anybody else we should get rid of?
Judd did not kick 20 goals today. Should be dump him?

Give the bloke a chance
Loved it when he jumped in to help Fev take on the world.Had 3 guys in a second.
After rnd 1 similar threads said to trade Fev - and where are those posters now?
Setanta is an experiment and he has come on in leaps and bounds. He will be fine.

Sorry mate - I understand how you feel, but you've got to look past your navy blue goggles. Comparing Setanta to Fev and Judd? :confused: Setanta at his absolute best would struggle to match Judd or Fev on a half decent day. We've seen what Fev can do - hence why many disagree with trading him. Setanta's best would not get him a game in a number of clubs in the competition.

And I'm pretty sure someone mentioned the rumours of Setanta being severely sick were incorrect and that the weight loss was intentional.

Setanta isn't moving as well as he did last year. He looks unusually slow, which we all know he isn't. Whatever the reason I don't think he's right for senior footy at the moment. Let him work his way into form at Preston and then bring him back. Edwards did nothing yesterday, but I thought Hartlett presented well and a hard working, lead-up CHF is what we need.

With 2 people on fev most of the day I thought setanta worked hard to provide another option for us. His work rate and effort in the forward line was great.
he is not having the year he had last year but is being played very differently - haven't seen anything from Hartlett that says he is any better

Hate to say it but I think the Irish experiment may have failed.

Carlos has lost too much size to play KP downback and Jamo has overtaken him already IMO. He simply doesn't have the footy smarts to play CHF either. We don't need him in the ruck.

Hate to say it but I think Kreuz may have taken Carlos' spot.

I think he will be our CHF next yr or maybe later in the yr. But right now it aint working. He clearly isnt at his best, in a position he is trying to learn. I think the ants for a couple of weeks. So he can get some feel there and possible get movin. However Harlett should not come in. I think Hamps, should. Cloke and Kruezer both have the ability to play forward. I think it is feasible to rotate Hamps, Krez and Cloke through the ruck, with Kreuz and Cloke going forward. I am not sure how Hamo will go up forward, but i think krez and hamo are our future 1 and 2. So he needs some time in the ruck. I know that it is a bit pie in the sky. The 3 big men running around. 1 would always have to be on the bench, there isnt room for the 3 on the ground. Is there?? But isnt this better than playing someone who is clearly a shadow of himself???

look i continue to support Setanta. Obviously he is struggling ATM and isnt playing anywhere near the standard he set last year. But we need to have patients for a bloke who can run like the wind and is nearly 200cm. Definatley should be dropped this week for Hartlett, but only to get some momentum and his hands on the footy.

I think Carlos is out of form and calls of failure are severly premature. How quickly we forget Carlos' glimpses of great footy and focus on the negatives. He looks out of it, slow and disinterested. With Fev in this sort of form and being triple-teamed we need another option up forward, cue Edwards/Hartlet. Edwards is an opportunistic forward and while he was in the side presented very well and will take alot of the pressure of Fevola.

Let Irish play himself into form at Preston and recapture some interest and passion, the book is still well and truly open on his success/failure.

If Setanta works on his basic skills, especially kicking, he will be an OK tall with some athleticism at best..But he is embarrassing at times and gets totally found out against quality opposition (like all crap players), and his role will be questioned over the next few weeks as other young tools with more 'innate' footy smarts press for selection.

After our second win in almost a year, probably too early to be looking at negatives, but I thought one of our glaring weaknesses was Setanta O'hAilpin. There's no room for him in defence, with Waite, Jamieson, Bower and Thornton all performing well at the moment and have gone past him. He played ruck last year, but he is serviceable at best when he's played there.

But for me, the biggest concern is playing him at CHF. He simply cannot play the position. One aspect of his game that has always been a weakness is his marking. For someone playing at CHF, he drops consistently drops marks that you'd expect your CHF to take. And once the ball hits the deck, he's basically out of the contest. When Kreuzer was moved forward, the difference was instantly recognizable. Kreuzer has a presence which Setanta does not - he looks like he'll have an impact, and for a big man, he's as good as any tall once the ball is on the ground.

Although it hurts to say so, it appears that the Irish experiment has failed. I wouldn't go as far as to delist him - he'd be a handy backup if one of our defenders went down with injury (and you'd expect him to continue to improve given he is still learning) - but he is not in our best 22, and Hartlett would be much more serviceable in the side at the moment.

couldn't agree with you more... good post... i was thinking this all game... he is just not clean enough when the ball hits the deck... he doesn't use his height well and can't pack mark... we have no depth so we have to keep him.... hartlett should come in for him next week...

- he looks like he'll have an impact, and for a big man, he's as good as any tall once the ball is on the ground.

Although it hurts to say so, it appears that the Irish experiment has failed.

Give the bloke a chance

would he play for any other team from the top 8... i don't think so... he is serviceable nothing more nothing less... i dont care how far he has come along... we don't owe him any favours...

by the way, i would kep judd....

With 2 people on fev most of the day I thought setanta worked hard to provide another option for us. His work rate and effort in the forward line was great.
he is not having the year he had last year but is being played very differently - haven't seen anything from Hartlett that says he is any better

Hartlett looked good preseason against both Freo and Bulldogs. Presented well and was kicking goals.

Dominated yesterday for the Bullants and must come in. Setanta has great passion but does not have a footy brain and his kicking is woeful - two things that are very hard to teach at this stage.

Our future is Hartlett and Edwards so we must play them.

Yeah after today they might have to seriously reconsider the setanta up forward experiment, although we're running out of positions to try him in. Hartlett has been ok the past fortnight, his first half vs Tassie especially was good. Gotta be a chance.

I think some of yous are prematurely writing him off completely tho.

He's had a shit pre-season cos of his illness or whatever it was that caused him to look like a bloody rake, he's only played the game the last few years so his development stage is more similar to someone a few years younger, plus talls always take longer to develop.

What does worry me is the development of his ball skills seems to have stagnated, so maybe some time in the bullants would be good for him and then we can see where he's at.

Like someone said too our depth is still thin so we'll need him on the list for a while yet regardless.

Normally I have not problems with him at CHF but he started this year many kgs light for some reason. If it was because of illness he won't play well at all this year. Won't have the strength he normally has. Have to live with what he has for much of this year, whether in the one's or two's. Showed last year he could play both ends and pinch hit in the ruck (even if success there was moderate) so he'll will be good for us going forward the next few years. Might have to be patient this year though.

Well he was a hurler, not a footballer. Was a big gamble, i think he should be back in the reserves and hartlett should be in.

He has just got to go back to the reserves and work on the little things in his game like marking over head and with out stretched arms. Should play FF/ CHF in the reserves for full games. If he's good enough he'll get back into the Blues.

If people can't see Setanta's potential, they are plain blind. For a start, he kicks the ball better than most in our team and hasn't been playing the game for long. Secondly, he is fast, athletic and gives more than 100%. His marking clearly needs improving but he is not far off being a top line player. I also like his second efforts

This board amazes me - people support guys like Thornton that are not only deficient but have no potential because of size and athletic limitations

Setanta O'hAilpin - struggling