SFL 2009 Division 1 Official Thread

He 'played' AFL. Doesn't anymore. That doesn't automatically make him a superstar 'NOW'.

Being from a neighbouring team to St Pauls in a different comp, i've noticed constant 100+ point victories and Travis Ridgeway kicking bags of 10 weekly. As good as he is he shouldn't be getting 10 shots at goal a week.

Surely this makes for a pretty boring season unless St Pauls and St Kilda play eachother. Now that teams such as Balwyn and Noble Park have moved on to bigger and better things, is there even a point of playing a full season when everybody knows who the grand finalists will be every year?

Its surprising that St Kilda City feel the need to splash so much money around considering that lack of competition most weeks.

Is that why your club is seeking to return the SFL BZ?

If you think the standard in Div 1 is bad, you won't enjoy going into Div 2, but I guess that is even a step up from D3! ;)

I think you will find that the top 5 teams only have a few goals separating them. Forget the ladder where City are 13-0, any of those 4 other sides are capable on their day of beating the Saints.

I actually think that this season has been a lot closer than most before it where the top four were streets ahead of the rest.

Well done SF I am glad someone stepped up to the challenge and put their balls on the line. J22 is stiff not to get a gig, and as you said there are another 20-30 that could easily be in there, but at least there's been some good footy debate.
Cousin Tiger is right, Ridgeway has improved out of site so unless people have seen him play this season, comments are largely invalid. New coach must have managed to find something extra there.

Is that why your club is seeking to return the SFL BZ?

If you think the standard in Div 1 is bad, you won't enjoy going into Div 2, but I guess that is even a step up from D3! ;)

I think you will find that the top 5 teams only have a few goals separating them. Forget the ladder where City are 13-0, any of those 4 other sides are capable on their day of beating the Saints.

I actually think that this season has been a lot closer than most before it where the top four were streets ahead of the rest.

There is no way my club want back in the SFL. The last time we were there we ran up a huge debt that is STILL being paid off. I am not claiming my team to be of a higher standard than any Southern sides. We very well may be, but there is no way to tell.

But lets face it, the SFL is a lot like the EPL. There are only 2-3 teams that can realistically win it. Would your club prefer a Div 1 SFL Premiership or a Div 1 EFL Premiership?

SnomeD let me tell you that if you club were to be in the SFL you would only be around middle of the table in Div 2. You have been beaten over the past 2 years in practice matches by Heatherton. Before you say it was only a practice match and we didn't have all our players in etc, please remember there are 2 sides and the same situation more than likely happened at the Tunners.
Admittingly the SFL isn't a powerhouse competition compared to the EFL or top grade Ammo's but it is a fair way above D3!

Finals dates have been set. Interesting to see that Div. 1 will now play Saturday and Sunday the first two weeks. No doubt that will affect crowd numbers with other divisions play at the same time.

I would have thought though that the Second Semi would have been played on the Sunday to maximise exposure....

On a side note, I'm sure that one club in particular will be somewhat happy with the partial move back to Saturday's after talking about boycotting finals if they remained on a Sunday.
I agree that it isn't ideal for bar takings on a Sunday night or for organising functions on a Saturday night, as this club pointed to, but Sunday finals were fantastic for the exposure of the SFL and most players that I know actually liked them more.
At the end of the day it is the same for all clubs not just one.

SFL Finals 2009 (Venue TBD)
Division 1 Seniors, Reserves and Colts

Saturday 29th August
Qualifying Final: 2 v 3
Sunday 30th August
Elimination final: 4 v 5

Saturday 5th September
Second Semi final: 1 v winner of Qualifying final
Sunday 6th September
First semi final: Loser of Qualifying final v winner of Elimination final

Sunday 13th September
Preliminary final: Loser of Second Semi final v Winner of First Semi final

Sunday 20th September
Grand final: Winner of Second Semi final v winner of Preliminary final

Finals dates have been set. Interesting to see that Div. 1 will now play Saturday and Sunday the first two weeks. No doubt that will affect crowd numbers with other divisions play at the same time.

I would have thought though that the Second Semi would have been played on the Sunday to maximise exposure....

On a side note, I'm sure that one club in particular will be somewhat happy with the partial move back to Saturday's after talking about boycotting finals if they remained on a Sunday.
I agree that it isn't ideal for bar takings on a Sunday night or for organising functions on a Saturday night, as this club pointed to, but Sunday finals were fantastic for the exposure of the SFL and most players that I know actually liked them more.

SFL Finals 2009 (Venue TBD)
Division 1 Seniors, Reserves and Colts

Saturday 29th August
Qualifying Final: 2 v 3
Sunday 30th August
Elimination final: 4 v 5

Saturday 5th September
Second Semi final: 1 v winner of Qualifying final
Sunday 6th September
First semi final: Loser of Qualifying final v winner of Elimination final

Sunday 13th September
Preliminary final: Loser of Second Semi final v Winner of First Semi final

Sunday 20th September

Another Sunday Grand Final? What a joke... There goes a couple of thousand dollars in lost revenue for the two teams that play off in it... I've heard crowds prefer a Sunday but I know that all supporters at my club want a Saturday game. What do other clubs think?

Sunday 20th September
Grand final: Winner of Second Semi final v winner of Preliminary final[/quote]

Itsa joke to play on Sundays, local footy supporters and there lives are more conjucive to watching on Saturdays, there was no difference in crowd last year or previous years, we average 3500-4500 to divvy one.
The weather will usually determine the crowd.:thumbsdown:

The bullshit you here about Divvy2/3 clubs being able to watch the Divvy1 grand final is crap, most of them are hungover from the day before.:cool:

If the league were serious about showcasing the Divvy one GF , start the other divisions a week earlier and play it on a Saturday.:)

As far as exposure thats crap, other leagues are already playing on Sundays, there is no reason to play on a Sunday in my opinion:confused:

Also clubs that make gfs should only comment on this issue, income is huge on Saturday vs Sunday, our figures showed a 60% difference ie $2k vs 6k.:mad:

When you get billed in October, finals income makes a huge diffference.:eek:

Sunday 20th September

Itsa joke to play on Sundays, local footy supporters and there lives are more conjucive to watching on Saturdays, there was no difference in crowd last year or previous years, we average 3500-4500 to divvy one.

The bullshit you here about Divvy2/3 clubs being able to watch the Divvy1 grand final is crap, most of them are hungover from the day before.:cool:

If the league were serious about showcasing the Divvy one GF , start the other divisions a week earlier and play it on a Saturday.:)

As far as exposure thats crap, other leagues are already playing on Sundays, there is no reason to play on a Sunday in my opinion:confused:

Also clubs that make gfs should only comment on this issue, income is huge on Saturday vs Sunday, our figures showed a 60% difference ie $2k vs 6k.:mad:

When you get billed in October, finals income makes a huge diffference.:eek:[/quote]

If you had a decent president, and some loyal patrons, you club wouldn't rely on finals revenue.

Stop your sooking, in 2 years when you are down the bottom of the ladder cause your businessman sponsor has up and left for another challenge, you wont care what day the finals are played on.

If you had a decent president, and some loyal patrons, you club wouldn't rely on finals revenue.

Stop your sooking, in 2 years when you are down the bottom of the ladder cause your businessman sponsor has up and left for another challenge, you wont care what day the finals are played on.[/quote]

Why don't you wait until you're actually in the top 5 to have an opinion, goose? The league made a top 5 to help you guys out and you still stuffed up... Losers!

Stop your sooking, in 2 years when you are down the bottom of the ladder cause your businessman sponsor has up and left for another challenge, you wont care what day the finals are played on.[/quote]

You would be surprised as to what sponsors we have and what sponsors we are negotiating with as we speak. Our businessman sponsor has downsized his contribution dramatically this year.
We do generate plenty of funds and have a great president and patrons but everyone needs a bit more.
Your only a bottom club in Divvy 1 fighting out of your weight range, see how you go if you make the top 3 or 4????????
Just to let you know it ain't easy.
Our aim is to finish top 5 for the next 5 years and behond, with undefeated 18's and 16's the future looks bright.

I feel sorry for you as the leagues litttle plan of getting the dingoes into the finals with there rabid following has exploded like a volcano.
What a shame probably the best thing thats happened,even they overrated you, its probably karma, because your president has a big mouth and stuck his head where it wasnt warranted.

Enjoy WATCHING the finals and have a great summer:)

Enjoy your summer:)

Stop your sooking, in 2 years when you are down the bottom of the ladder cause your businessman sponsor has up and left for another challenge, you wont care what day the finals are played on.

You would be surprised as to what sponsors we have and what sponsors we are negotiating with as we speak. Our businessman sponsor has downsized his contribution dramatically this year.
We do generate plenty of funds and have a great president and patrons but everyone needs a bit more.
Your only a bottom club in Divvy 1 fighting out of your weight range, see how you go if you make the top 3 or 4????????
Our aim is to finish top 5 for the next 5 years and behond, with undefeated 18's and 16's the future looks bright.

I feel sorry for you as the leagues litttle plan of getting the dingoes into the finals with there rabid following has exploded like a volcano.
What a shame probably the best thing thats happened,even they overrated you, its probably karma, because your president has a big mouth and stuck his head where it wasnt warranted.

Enjoy your summer:)[/quote]

Gotta admit I had a good laugh seeing all the "Pro-Dingley" articles in the Standard, saying how they will go close to the flag..............now it looks like the only finals they will be playing is their reserves.

Enjoy your summer:)[/quote]

Will this come back to bite you on the B...m?????:rolleyes:
You havent won jack yet:thumbsdown: City

Enjoy your summer:)

You havent won jack yet:thumbsdown: City[/quote]
No matter how many times i read this i still can't see where its mentioned that he say's city are gonna win the flag !! another muppet board room ?
Speaking of muppets, Whippet the only thing you need to worry about in September mate will be if you still post any crap on here coz ya wont be a part of the finals in Seniors!! :D:D:eek:

Another Sunday Grand Final? What a joke... There goes a couple of thousand dollars in lost revenue for the two teams that play off in it... I've heard crowds prefer a Sunday but I know that all supporters at my club want a Saturday game. What do other clubs think?

Always has been a bad idea, Saturday is the day for footy, always has been always will be. Typical Sfl have the blinkers on and don't listen to people. If they were serious they would play Divvy 2 and 3 on Sunday and have the best Division showcased on the Saturday, or Play divvy 2 and 3 the week before.:rolleyes::rolleyes::thumbsdown:

No matter how many times i read this i still can't see where its mentioned that he say's city are gonna win the flag !! another muppet board room ?
Speaking of muppets, Whippet the only thing you need to worry about in September mate will be if you still post any crap on here coz ya wont be a part of the finals in Seniors!! :D:D:eek:[/quote]

Muppet where did you get that from ? too much Sen buddy.
Most of the complaints come from Stkilda City people on here they assume they will be playing in the Grand Final.
Its not over until that day comes and goes anything can happen.
Remember last year History has a habit of repeating Back to Back;)

Speaking of muppets, Whippet the only thing you need to worry about in September mate will be if you still post any crap on here coz ya wont be a part of the finals in Seniors!! :D:D:eek:

Muppet where did you get that from ? too much Sen buddy.
Most of the complaints come from Stkilda City people on here they assume they will be playing in the Grand Final.
Its not over until that day comes and goes anything can happen.
Remember last year History has a habit of repeating Back to Back;)[/quote]

Yeah history does mate, and history shows the last two years St Kilda City and St Pauls have played off in the grand final... So going with your point why shouldn't we assume?

If we don't make the Grand Final I'm the first to admit it would be a bloody huge waste of a year for everyone involved, we're sitting at 13-0, I'm pretty sure any other side sitting in the same position would be planning on playing off on that second last SUNDAY in September!

St Pauls have played in most Grand Finals in recent times, both on Saturdays and Sundays, what is their opinion? We might be fighting for ourselves now but if you all get your wish and we are back down the bottom in a couple of years (or even in div2 playing finals on a Saturday) it will be your clubs that cop the Sunday Grand Final money loss.

Speaking of muppets, Whippet the only thing you need to worry about in September mate will be if you still post any crap on here coz ya wont be a part of the finals in Seniors!! :D:D:eek:[/quote]

Homer, could you please refrain from using the division 1 forum, and get used to using the division 2 forum where you belong, and will be in a few more weeks.

see ya

Homer, could you please refrain from using the division 1 forum, and get used to using the division 2 forum where you belong, and will be in a few more weeks.

see ya[/quote]

Wippet, I would disappear for a while because you have been exposed as the dill you are, also there are rumors circulating your club should put:thumbsu: more time into its football club, rather than your swingers club:):):)

see ya

Wippet, I would disappear for a while because you have been exposed as the dill you are, also there are rumors circulating your club should put:thumbsu: more time into its football club, rather than your swingers club:):):)[/quote]

Are you a bit jealous that people actually get along at our club.

You guys have tried everything to entice people to your club, comunal showers top the list though. Have to admit, our players are looking forward to seeing if that is actually true.

Wippet, I would disappear for a while because you have been exposed as the dill you are, also there are rumors circulating your club should put:thumbsu: more time into its football club, rather than your swingers club:):):)

You guys have tried everything to entice people to your club, comunal showers top the list though. Have to admit, our players are looking forward to seeing if that is actually true.[/quote]

Wippet, what is the obsession with the communal showers??? We all get it, you're a deviant and I'm pretty sure if you were man enough to own up to who you actually are both City and Dingley players wouldn't be going anywhere near the showers while you're lurking.

You guys have tried everything to entice people to your club, comunal showers top the list though. Have to admit, our players are looking forward to seeing if that is actually true.

Wippet, what is the obsession with the communal showers??? We all get it, you're a deviant and I'm pretty sure if you were man enough to own up to who you actually are both City and Dingley players wouldn't be going anywhere near the showers while you're lurking.[/quote]

Thanks for the insight Trinity.

Wippet, what is the obsession with the communal showers??? We all get it, you're a deviant and I'm pretty sure if you were man enough to own up to who you actually are both City and Dingley players wouldn't be going anywhere near the showers while you're lurking.

Thanks for the insight Trinity.[/quote]

Perfectly alright, but I'd prefer President Ballis from you, thanks mate!

Tips for this round:

Cheltenham vs Dingley - Cheltenham by 4 - 5 goals

Clayton vs Mordialloc - Mordialloc by 10 - 12 goals

Tooronga Malvern vs East Brighton - East Brighton by 4 - 6 goals

St Pauls East Bentleigh vs Chelsea Heights - St Pauls by 4 - 6 goals

Springvale Districts vs St Kilda City - St Kilda City by lots

Tips for Rd 14:

Chelt by 7 goals
Mordi by 9 goals
East Brigthon by 3 goals
St Pauls by 7 goals
St Kilda by 20 goals