SFL DIV3 2014

Will all depend on who Mick coaches. He is the type of coach you wanna play for and he will back his players all day long.
He has alot of respect with the playing group he built over the last 4 years. And I'm pretty sure the feeling is mutual from the players.

Just noticed on a couple of CPL Seniors post on Facebook about pre-season already... A sign that they're not getting suspended ala the rumours say?

Good player, but10 x better player then anyone else in this division??? Wow!

I'm not going to piss in his pocket any more than I have Turbo, but his playing record at higher levels exceeds everyone in this division by an absolute mile, if you think a season at Chelt turbo or years of seconds footy at Montrose is comparable to the St Bedes three peat and VAFA rep sides, you need your head checked. I'm not even going to mention his time at Chelsea Heights as the standard isn't really relevant to his time at SBMT, let alone div 3.

As much as I've enjoyed the circle jerk over the last month between a few on here, at the end of the day we are SFL Div 3 players ATM, there's thousands of footballers in Victoria alone that would piss all over us, I think a few of you need to acknowledge it at times.

I'm not going to piss in his pocket any more than I have Turbo, but his playing record at higher levels exceeds everyone in this division by an absolute mile, if you think a season at Chelt turbo or years of seconds footy at Montrose is comparable to the St Bedes three peat and VAFA rep sides, you need your head checked. I'm not even going to mention his time at Chelsea Heights as the standard isn't really relevant to his time at SBMT, let alone div 3.

As much as I've enjoyed the circle jerk over the last month between a few on here, at the end of the day we are SFL Div 3 players ATM, there's thousands of footballers in Victoria alone that would piss all over us, I think a few of you need to acknowledge it at times.

but he isn't that player anymore. maybe he used to be 10x the player but he's clearly lost whatever made him that special becauae yes it is div 3 and the person your describing we wouldn't need this discussion

Mate, I'm going by what I have seen whilst playing and watching from the sidelines. Good player and played higher footy. But I never for one moment sat back and was in awe of what he could do... he was serviceable in my opinion. Didn't win games of his own boot, didnt blow me away and for a guy with his pedigree and all the build up... I expected more. I thought Corrie Wilson was a much better player last year... guy actually knew how to finish too ;)
Previously he may have been that player... But he wasnt this year... I reakon a few of the boys will back me up on that...
Look, you'll have your opinions and everyone else will have theirs... Oh and I was at Chelt for 3 years...

;)
Previously he may have been that player... But he wasnt this year... I reakon a few of the boys will back me up on that...
Look, you'll have your opinions and everyone else will have theirs... Oh and I was at Chelt for 3 years...

but he isn't that player anymore. maybe he used to be 10x the player but he's clearly lost whatever made him that special becauae yes it is div 3 and the person your describing we wouldn't need this discussion

Yep clearly over the hill, lost the Chelsea Heights B&F last year by a vote, and third the year before when we lost the Div 1 GF by 5 points.

Streaked the CPL B&F this year. Should retire at 26 because he didn't poll well from Div 3 umpires.

Turbo maybe you should do a preseason at a VAFA club or even St Paul's or East Brighton? you might even learn a bit of humility.

Anyway, I'll leave it at that, and look forward to the upcoming deliberation of AFL Victoria.

Yep clearly over the hill, lost the Chelsea Heights B&F last year by a vote, and third the year before when we lost the Div 1 GF by 5 points.

Streaked the CPL B&F this year. Should retire at 26 because he didn't poll well from Div 3 umpires.

Turbo maybe you should do a preseason at a VAFA club or even St Paul's or East Brighton? you might even learn a bit of humility.

Anyway, I'll leave it at that, and look forward to the upcoming deliberation of AFL Victoria.

Don't can a bloke who puts his opinion out there under his name Pykie. I think you will find majority of people watching CPL this year would feel same about Mouritz so perhaps the umpires did get it right. He polled early against Sandown and Lyndale and then couple Dandenong (CPL didn't have him in their best) and EH which is nothing to write home about. Big difference is polled in 4 umpire voted games and 14 based on CPL votes (9 in best 3) so a clear dispute internal and external thoughts on him. Personally I have Barr, Lello, Dent and March who kicked 62 goals of ave 3 per game in front of Mouritz. But CPL voters obviously saw things the umpires and a lot of other people didn't.

Maybe he needs a higher division or league to play his best. For the like of me I still don't understand why a guy with so much talent as you say wants to play in a league obviously well below his capabilities, life is short he should be playing best footy in best comp.

Funny you should mention that...

Anyways in regard to Mouritz, im not taking a stab at him... I said he was a very good footballer, but In My Opinion (you have yours and I have mine) he didn't live up to the hype that surrounded him.
Some people tend to forget that playing in a lower division doesn't always mean someone will dominate... I'm sure the support he had at his previous clubs brought the most out of him also. I think this year may have just been an adjusting year for him. He may prove everything wrong next year. The person that stands out at CPL in my opinion is Lello... that guy has some serious class.

Spot on. Last years league B&F was won by a bloke who was 40+. Says it all. That being said, the more quality blokes that come back and finish their footy at this level, the better for the comp overall. I reckon Div 3 has come a long way in the last 2 or 3 years

Mate your getting a bit touchy over an honest opinion!
I played directly next to mouritz twice this year and watched the first final against Sandown. He obviously came with a certain reputation however
IN MY OPINION, he was just another mid who kicked a flashy goal or 2 on those occasions. Lello and Barr were the standouts in my experience THIS YEAR.
I hope you can accept that bud.

Mate your getting a bit touchy over an honest opinion!
I played directly next to mouritz twice this year and watched the first final against Sandown. He obviously came with a certain reputation however
IN MY OPINION, he was just another mid who kicked a flashy goal or 2 on those occasions. Lello and Barr were the standouts in my experience THIS YEAR.
I hope you can accept that bud.
Have to agree with you Willow. Just cause a guy has a big reputation doesn't mean he will automatically dominate a lower division. Sometimes it can be easier playing a higher level due to other players skills, game plan, etc.. You don't always get given the ball when in the right position! How often do you see an ex AFL player drop back to a local league and not dominate?

Maybe not "AFL players" but this is very true. Guys who play a higher level and know how to get their own footy, will dominate div 3. If you dominate higher levels by taking good grabs or as a running receiver, you will truly battle in div 3 because the grounds are smaller and your team mates are just less likely to get you the ball.

It works both ways. I've no doubt there are guys in div 3 just middle of the road that would be guns in higher divs.

Spot on boys, just because it's a lower division/ standard of footy there is a lot to adapt to. New teams, game plan, skill of your team mates, umpires, ground size/ quality etc.....
I found it a lot harder this year than I did playing at Montrose 1's or 2's. Div 3 SFL is a very physical and contested brand of footy which suits some but not me at all. I've played all my footy on the wing and would get plenty of the ball with my run and relying on team mates to dish out to me, bigger grounds in the EFL too so I found it easy. Coming back to Mount and being thrown into the midfield and having to win my own ball I was way out of my depth, especially against bigger bodies and more experienced inside mids like Mouritz, Tormey etc.. but on the flip side in this division everyone is a lot less fit and a lot more undisciplined, teams very rarely chase, run you down or run both ways. It's all one way footy. Which is where I would get most of the ball, just running my guts out until players/ teams blow up and then it's just easy footy. Space everywhere.

So really I think any quality player can dominate at this level but the key is to adapt and be smart about your footy.

Rumor has it that Hayden Fredericks (Hallam coach) is coaching Ashwood in 2015.

Turbo your most welcome at End Hills. Would be a good change to cheer you on instead of mouth off at you ;o)

Rumor has it that Hayden Fredericks (Hallam coach) is coaching Ashwood in 2015.

Turbo your most welcome at End Hills. Would be a good change to cheer you on instead of mouth off at you ;o)
I have a strong feeling that Hayden will not be the coach at ashwood...

I reakon the boys down at Barry Simon were probably the most vocal towards me in my time at Sandown, that's for sure. Lol. All in good fun of course.