Re: Div 1 2011
He was always pretty welcoming with the young blokes back then and didn't mind a few of us joining in training. The young blokes obviously idolised him. He was probably one of the most talented players i've ever seen but obviously his activities outside footy stopped him from reaching his potential at a higher level.
Having said that on his day he was absolutely unstoppable, loved a scrap, could take a hanger and a gem of a kick. Saw him bomb goals regularly from set shots well outside fifty and lost count of how many times he kicked double figures.
I've caught up with him a couple of times over the last 6 or 7 years when he's been down to Moe for re-unions etc. and he's certainly put in a few big day's with the boy's.
All I could say about his coaching is during 94,95 Moe had on paper some of the most talented players ever to play in our competition with Ken at the helm and quite a few other Port Melbourne players and yes Paul Bryce did play I think it was the year after he was delisted by the Swans, we also had Brad Sparks for a season as well and we were a flop in the finals. He just couldn't bring that group of blokes together to achieve success.
Think he wen't to Tassie (Launceston or Sth Launceston) in 96.
How did you find him?
I was U/16's and 18's back then and never played 1's till after he left, did train with them a few times though. So was never coached by him.Very amusing read Wildy. It would be a great idea for a book I reckon, a lot of country towns/clubs would have an anecdote like this particularly going back when AFL/VFL lists weren't formalised as they are now.
This guy certainly hasn't done anything of note in the SFL in the last 7-8 years, haven't heard of him.
He was always pretty welcoming with the young blokes back then and didn't mind a few of us joining in training. The young blokes obviously idolised him. He was probably one of the most talented players i've ever seen but obviously his activities outside footy stopped him from reaching his potential at a higher level.
Having said that on his day he was absolutely unstoppable, loved a scrap, could take a hanger and a gem of a kick. Saw him bomb goals regularly from set shots well outside fifty and lost count of how many times he kicked double figures.
I've caught up with him a couple of times over the last 6 or 7 years when he's been down to Moe for re-unions etc. and he's certainly put in a few big day's with the boy's.
All I could say about his coaching is during 94,95 Moe had on paper some of the most talented players ever to play in our competition with Ken at the helm and quite a few other Port Melbourne players and yes Paul Bryce did play I think it was the year after he was delisted by the Swans, we also had Brad Sparks for a season as well and we were a flop in the finals. He just couldn't bring that group of blokes together to achieve success.
Think he wen't to Tassie (Launceston or Sth Launceston) in 96.
How did you find him?