I totally agree with the 2nd paragraph. Can't really comment on the 1st

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Fair comment although I think that Mordy will improve once they settle back into their home ground.
How was the Mordialloc ground last week? I didn't know they were playing on it and didn't go.
Walked past it on Monday though, and it still looks bad.
Disappointing there is such a gulf between the top and bottom sides. Any competition doesn't need regular 100+ point floggings. This weeks game predictions
CH by 4 goals the Vampires cannot win down at the trailer park
I love it when people have a go at clubs that have put in a good admin so they can get the players to have a crack at winning the flag
Well I say goodluck to them and well done, to get a good admin together is very hard and a team will only be good for years to come with a good admin in place
Every other club should try to do the samething and get the people around there club on board
Yes it can be hard but every club can do it, so stop talking down the clubs that are trying to lift the standard. Have a go yourself to help the clubs at the bottom lift
Mordialloc (Look have had to do it hard so far this year as not having a ground would be very hard )
Dingley ( They look to be having a go, getting good coaches is a great start and over the coming years if they can keep them there they should be better )
East Brighton ( look to have a very strong side this year and they only look young so they be strong for years to come
St Kilda City ( they always have a good team, very good admin )
Cheltenham They look to be getting it going as well, getting a good coach to teach the kids will be good for the years ahead
Heatherton Look to have a lot of work to do and need some people around the area to get involved to help more
St Pauls Again a club that is well run and have lost a lot of players this year but are still up there
Tooronga Malvern In the same boat as Heatherton
Chelsea Heights A top team on the field and off it
Clayton Now this club is the one I cannot work out
They have a top setup at there ground have some good players and won a flag last year in D2 and knew that they need a few more players to run with the teams in D1.
I thought they would have been a lot better than they are.
Is there more to the story at Clayton???
So hoping the clubs that are down now can turn it around and make it a stronger comp in the coming years. All the lower teams should be starting to plan for next year now.
Mate if you can put your finger on it let us know ....![]()
This year there is a big difference between the top teams and the bottom few
Brown will be out for a few weeks with a hammy, but could be lucky, as the bye is next week so he might only miss one game
Im tipping after round 9 the ladder will read like this East Brighton , Chelsea Heights ,St Kilda City, St Pauls, Cheltenham
Dingley, Mordialloc, Heatherton, Tooronga Malvern ,Clayton
Tips for this week
Tooronga Malvern vs Cheltenham 8 goals
Clayton vs St Pauls 12 goals
Heatherton vs Mordialloc 2 goals
Dingley vs St Kilda City 5 goals
and the game of the round
Chelsea Heights vs East Brighton 2 goals
The winners in RED
5.4-34 Tooronga Malvern def. by Cheltenham 24.15-159
8.3-51 Clayton def. by St Pauls 20.11-131
7.15-57 Heatherton def. by Mordialloc 13.12-90
14.4-88 Dingley def. by St Kilda City 19.9-123
6.14-50 Chelsea Heights def. by East Brighton 7.11-53
Further to this Clayton is a highly multicultural suburb made up of people from different backgrounds. Many of which who would not follow footy.
Disappointing there is such a gulf between the top and bottom sides. Any competition doesn't need regular 100+ point floggings. This weeks game predictions
St Pauls by 20 goals
CH by 4 goals the Vampires cannot win down at the trailer park
Chelt by 10 goals
Heatherton by a kick given home ground advantage
StKilda by 10 goals
100% agree.
Living in Oakleigh South, no more than a 3 minute walk to Claytons ground I can tell you that in 5 years time they could even go under.
At the moment we're living in a block of 21 units, of these units there is 1 family with kids, they're always outside playing cricket or soccer. The rest seem to be a few older people or international students.
walking around the oakleigh/Clayton area you don't see what you would call "young football types" you have a huge number of international students, the odd youngish family who don't look like they would allow their kids to play aussie rules, bogans who only seem to care about their cars, drinking & smoking dope and older people. Its really an odd area.
From what I've seen there is no Auskick to be seen, Oakleigh Dist and Oakleigh are the only 2 clubs near by that offer a place for anyone under 18 to play.
I'm not too sure about who gives them the money, I know hosting finals gets them a fair slice, but thats not enough to live off season after season.
I would dare say that the SFL would be worried about them, they have been a powerhouse for so long in this comp.
Maybe even a move to the VAFA could be the go for them?
All though not having Juniors has hurt the Clays they haven't had U 18's for years and are running 3 senior sides any way.
The demographics have nothing to do with survival as other sides like Doveton Eagles,Dandenong,Ashwood,OD have never had a junior feeder club and have survived year in year out it all comes down to a good strong committee and a good network of players not necesary a coach brining players a network of mates who want to play at the one club and so on.
If you look at clubs in affluent areas like Highett,Chelt,East Brighton,Black Rock,Caulfield none of those Clubs are running any U 18's on there own due to the fact that the private school factor/Ammo's take over and they still survive quiet well due to good management.
Every Club has there issues no doubt but saying the Clays are struggling due to no juniors isn't right.
Ask your self were do most players live that are on each list and you will find the majority travel a fair distance to play at there chosen club.
Cleary from your above examples demographics had a lot to do with it. All of the aforementioned clubs are struggling and going nowhere. The fact that they don’t have junior feeders and can’t run U18s explains exactly why they are where they are. While they might be surviving they are not prospering and certainly not expanding or developing. Some interesting examples of what you describe as “Good strong committee” Doveton Eagles? Dandenong? I admire the work especially that Brendan Allan has done at Dandy but it must have been an incredibly difficult job. Clayton are fortunate to have a strong supporter base and some loyal sponsors as consequence of being so strong for so long. And while they may run 3 sides the argument is quantity V quality. At the moment their seniors and reserves are not 1st division quality and with no juniors or even a local affiliate they have no capacity to develop from within. You also mention Caulfield – How well are they going at the moment? A weekly battle to even get ressies on the Park.
The East Brighton argument is slightly different. I agree with some of what was said but at least it is an area that can sustain a 28-team junior club. Clayton is an area that could not sustain one team let alone 28. While most of the juniors at East Brighton are lost to private schools by Under 16s quite a few at least find there way back to the club down the track with several of the blokes running around in the seniors having played juniors at the club.
Dont be surprised if Keysborough start knocking on the door at SFL HO.
No Juniors, no Colts, 14 Players in the Ressies last week and the 1's havent won a game. They are on the skids. The Casey League has passed them by.