SFL Division One - 2011

• Thread starter Thread starter PoMaggys

Big game this week Vampires vs Chelsea Heights (Vampires x 12pts)
So we will see how good the Vampires are as Chelsea Heights did push them the first time they played
Is Mcglede going to do a match report about this game ?
Any news on the new coaches for Mordy ,Clayton or TM for next year?
Damian Adkins WILL coach T.M's next year

No fair SuperFreak. I posted those sentiments back in the first half of the season - don't rain on my parade!! ;-)

For those Clayton boys who got a bit precious last week, a bit of an update after seeing TM for a quarter of the magoos and all bar the last five minutes of the seniors.

I don't think there's any doubt that TM probably do, if the list on the day was anything to go by, drop down to Division Two, however, if they satisfy the criterion to stay in Division One, then they should be allowed to do so.

Personally, I think they just didn't have the cattle to compete with CH after the first three minutes. Their twos had 16-17 (I think one or two CH boys were in TM jerseys from what I could see - did TM have injuries earlier in the game?) and they just didn't present like a Division One club (in my opinion) should.

No doubt TM will reassess at the end of the year. Won't be an easy time for them but I am sure they will bounce back, regardless of their division.

Will miss the CH-Clayton clash this weekend, and I don't think I will be able to make any games until Preliminary Final weekend if my work schedule reads right, but as of now, if TM can beat Clayton, one can only shudder at what the score could be in the Clayton match this weekend.

Hope I am wrong though. Those results don't do anyone any good.

That's why I was asking

Yeah King. Apparently resigned from Ferntree Gully after him and his family were intimidated by a bunch of thug supporters. Then decided to see out the year sfter they got rid of the troublemakers. Must have done a pretty good job. Made a GF last year (albeit a losing one) and have them sitting second coming into finals. Doubt he would continue there next year after the turmoil of the last few weeks. Might be a good fit for Clayton as I'm pretty sure he'd drag a few players with him

Cheers for that... I actually played with him at the Gully, geez, 15 years ago. Ripper fella. Was hard as too for a little fella. I hope they can finally get out of 4th Divi! Been there for far too long.

[quote=forwardpress;21950130]Does anybody know if the Vampires and the Heights have full lists for this match? Should be a cracking match if they do. Rumour has it Clayton are interested in outgoing Ferntree Gully coach from Div 4 Eastern league[/quote]

East will be missing 5 top liners ( All expected back next week or week 1 of finals ). Don't know about Chelsea but probably missing some too.

footballs_great missing in action today...

Normally very quick to pump up the Vampires on here and on Facebook after each win but no where to be seen after a loss.

Seems they had a few out but that is a big win by the Heighters proving that the flag isn't a fate-accompli and the finals series will be more open that any in recent memory. Great for the SFL.

footballs_great missing in action today...

Normally very quick to pump up the Vampires on here and on Facebook after each win but no where to be seen after a loss.

Seems they had a few out but that is a big win by the Heighters proving that the flag isn't a fate-accompli and the finals series will be more open that any in recent memory. Great for the SFL.
Can only go with what is available. Chelsea too good on the day but an expensive win. Flack gone for the year, hamstrings and calves gone another 4 probably won't see any footy for the rest of the year. St Pauls to kick the Heighters to 4th and an elimination final against Chelt. Cannot win it from 4th or 5th

Was just having a sly dig! McGlede has copped it for the same thing. Flack is a rubber man, not matter the injury he always seems to come up the following week. Saw him do a calf in a PM then played us the next week and dominated. Great healing powers!

I agree footballs great should get on after a loss.Any news on flack?
Good win by Chelsea as they were missing players as well
Will be a great finals series as any of top4 could win. Sorry
super cant see chelt coming from5th especially without
Brown

Good win to Chelsea Heights and both sides had players out, plus both sides loss players in the game ....But Easts are still the minor premiers and are still the team to beat for the last Sunday in September

So I do hope all sides have there full sides for the finals

It is good to see Super (and others) have waited 16 weeks to ask about when Im going come on here LOL

I don't think there are any problems at the Vampires and all players will be back for the finals
Yes it is going to be a top finals series with some great football to be played but my tip is still the Vampires :thumbsu:

Super always look forward to what you have to say but I do think you only have two weeks left for this year :):):)

Good win to Chelsea Heights and both sides had players out, plus both sides loss players in the game ....But Easts are still the minor premiers and are still the team to beat for the last Sunday in September

It is good to see Super (and others) have waited 16 weeks to ask about when Im going come on here LOL

I don't think there are any problems at the Vampires and all players will be back for the finals
Yes it is going to be a top finals series with some great football to be played but my tip is still the Vampires :thumbsu:

Super always look forward to what you have to say but I do think you only have two weeks left for this year :):):)

Look out for The Dingoes FG, stiff yesterday against City, determined to take a scalp before hanging up the boots for the season.

Yeh Mahalo sounds like the dingoes had a good one, bad luck they didn't play like that when it counted, and not when the season is over for them.

As for next week this should be an even game, if you have your best team in and with all the players out for the Vampires, so goodluck :) you will need it

Hope there are not to many sleepless nights in the Vampire camp thinking about the big game against the DINGOES

straight sets coming up for the vampires.....bang ****en bang....lollllll

Is that prediction based on their loss on Saturday? Very good win by the sounds of things from Chelsea. I hear they battled on with a number of injuries. Sounds like EB had a lot of players out too. Wouldn't discouint the Vampires based on that loss. They had little to play for other than bragging rights. Chelsea had everything to play for. Chelsea might struggle from fourth with the injuries they now have. I would say city will struggle on the big grounds in finals considering they got overran by EB (for the second time) who had their top players out. Fell across the line over Dingley. Their fitness may be an issue on the open expanses. As usual the premiership will be probably be won by the team with the healthiest list

Always good to look at the records of the Top 5 against each other for the year...

I reckon it is as open as it has been for 10 years.

East Brighton 6-2 (lost to STP and CH)
St Pauls 4-3 (lost to C, EB and STK, play CH this week)
Chelsea Heights 3-4 (lost to STK, EB, STP, STK, play STP this week)
St Kilda City 4-4 (lost to C, EB, EB, STP)
Cheltenham 2-6 (beat STP, STK)

Is that prediction based on their loss on Saturday? Very good win by the sounds of things from Chelsea. I hear they battled on with a number of injuries. Sounds like EB had a lot of players out too. Wouldn't discouint the Vampires based on that loss. They had little to play for other than bragging rights. Chelsea had everything to play for. Chelsea might struggle from fourth with the injuries they now have. I would say city will struggle on the big grounds in finals considering they got overran by EB (for the second time) who had their top players out. Fell across the line over Dingley. Their fitness may be an issue on the open expanses. As usual the premiership will be probably be won by the team with the healthiest list

No mention of stpauls? Ask Chelsea what it means to finish on top....nothing to play for they got beat by a team they could meet in finals on their on soil, a team that has experienced 2 grand finals

No news is good news! Not much mention about St. Paul's because not much coming out of the St. Pauls camp. From what I have heard they have no significant injuries and may have the healthies list of all the top 4 sides. Therefore based on my prediction that the side with the healthiest list should win the premiership then I think St. Paul's may well be best placed. With regard to Chelsea's win over EB I expect that it would have been a great confidence boost for Chelsea. I'm sure EB would have preferred to win but considering their injuries they went in with I don't think they would be totally shattered with the loss. Did City's loss to EB take a lot out of them? A close loss to Dingley would suggest so. Did City have many inuries too or are Dingley the real deal?

Close win to city
I would say the city ebrighton game may have taken a bit out of both teams it was a pretty hard contest

No doubt City's failure will be down to your lack of input supercoach! It's amazing that someone with your undoubted ability to impart your strategic knowledge on the playing group was overlooked to get a gig anywhere

Close win to city
I would say the city ebrighton game may have taken a bit out of both teams it was a pretty hard contest
Sorry meant close win to city. Did they play Dingley with a full list? Surprising result if they did. Maybe it was an extraordinarily tough game against EB and that accounts for both sides below par performances. Any news on how St. Pauls are travelling personell wise? Are they worthy of favourite tags for the premiership? I suppose how they handle Chelsea this week will let us know more. Sounds like Dingley v EB might be a bit closer with the EB injuries and Dingley's apparent good form. I still find it hard to believe they got that close to City. Sounds like City need a 'soft' game this week against one of the bottom sides to get some confidence back into the group