Hawk Sale

Word has is that he has had some sort of breakdown (emotional) since being delisted by the saints and his immediate football career post AFL might have to be put on hold.Apparently hospitalisation was required.I hope all goes well ,i've had the good fortune to meet the guy on a couple of occasions and he is a genuine ,nice young bloke. Just highlights the type of pressure these guys put themselves under to succeed i guess.

Thats really bad news. Is it in the media anywhere?

If that's true then I certainly hope the AFLPA & the club are helping him with his problems.

Exactly - should never have been delisted either IMO. It's also a shame no other club tried to get him to nominate for the draft. He'd get a game in Melbourne's, Freo's and Essendon's (just off the top of my head) starting 22 at least. Would have been a great depth player for free for any other club

If that's true then I certainly hope the AFLPA & the club are helping him with his problems.

That is sad news,Birrsy if you read these articles get well soon,head up and move on you might'nt think,but there is more to life than footy:thumbsu: Get well soon mate:thumbsu:

Also heard the St Kilda FC are taking care of him in that way which is first class on their behalf if that is the case.

Thanks for the feedback.

I'm pleased to hear that is the case.

Hopefully it all works out well for him as I share the thoughts of others on this thread.

I tend to agree. McQualter "seems" to have been doing a decent job of tagging, but in reality a tackle by a Birss or a Jones or a Leigh Fisher will belt you around a lot more than a tackle by McQualter who is the lightest non-" Rookie or Eljay" on the list.

Also heard the St Kilda FC are taking care of him in that way which is first class on their behalf if that is the case.
Hope so. We offered to trade him anywhere he wanted for almost nothing, as he was still respected by the Bulldogs due to his attitude on the track and what he gave when he could. He chose the Saints as the club he supported as a kid.

Really sad case on a guy who is realistically an AFL standard inside mid/tagger and would get senior gametime at a few clubs.

TBH, I reckon his case is a classic example of why the AFL needs free agency.

If a team in the early part of the season is struggling with injuries, why not allow someone like Shane to be picked up to cover for that loss? Provided a team is under the cap and places someone on the LTI list I don't see the issue.

This obsession the AFL has with trying to turn league football into an under-21 comp has me stuffed. Sure some kids are up to it at 18, most aren't. I reckon more careers are being wrecked from being exposed too early than the opposite.

Too many players like Birss too are being needlessly lost from the sport and being thrown on the scrapheap too early.

The AFLPA really are a pathetic representative body.

If a team in the early part of the season is struggling with injuries, why not allow someone like Shane to be picked up to cover for that loss? Provided a team is under the cap and places someone on the LTI list I don't see the issue.

Makes sense dunnit

If true I can't blame him, if I worked as hard as he did and played as well as he did and was delisted I'd probably have an emotional breakdown too. Good to hear the club is doing it's part though, but I really feel for the guy.

Still absolutely spewing we delisted him, I would take him over 3 McQualters not to mention guys like Fish and Eddy he should have been ahead. Would make the best 22 of a lot of the sides below us as well but I guess he was too old for most of them to consider.

I dont know where the original poster got his/her info from but I have just read an article in the Adelaide Advertiser that Shane Birss has been made vice captain of the West Adelaide Football Club. I really think that if Birss had had a breakdown then he would not have been made vice captain...do you? He said he was dissapointed to be de-listed by the Saints but had moved on and was really looking forward to helping "westies" get off the bottom of the ladder. Dont know what the OP was trying to do :rolleyes:

I have the article right in front of me with a pic of Birssy in a west adelaide guernsey. Mods I think the OP should be at least yellow carded for an absolute B/S thread. I tried to find the article on the internet but im not good at that stuff so if anyone could find it and post link i would appreciate it ...Thanx:)

The only article I could find is from 14th Jan

WEST Adelaide has bolstered its midfield with the signature of delisted St Kilda utility Shane Birss.
Birss, who began his AFL career with the Western Bulldogs, was axed by the Saints in October after tallying 71 games in seven seasons at elite level.

"We're really excited to get him - he's the right age," Bloods operations manager Shane Birss said of the 25-year-old.

"He's a quality person and a very, very good footballer so he's a great package."

http://www.news.com.au/adelaidenow/sport/afl/story/0,26547,24909723-21546,00.html

I presume you're talking about something in a more recent article?

Pretty funny that you take this OP's posts as fact but if someone posted

"Shane Birss delighted to have been delisted (not quite but close enough)" you would take it as fact.

I am not writing off the OP but i will not take it as fact as of yet.

As far as i know he could be in china having the time of his life

Dunno if your having a dig at me RE and dont really care. From what i have read today Birssy is alive and kicking and looking forward to the challenge of being vice captain of a SANFL club. He said in the article that "he wanted to get out of Melbourne so its good to come over and play SANFL. He also said he wanted to have a good year with West. He also said "The SANFL is a very good competition of a high standard with a good supporter base.

Notable players that play in the AFL that have come through West Adelaide are:Sam Fisher , Adam Cooney and recently retired M Riccuito.

Even though I dont support West Adelaide I really hope that "birssy" can have a great year at West (except when he plays the mighty panthers) :)