Toast Shane Edwards

• Thread starter Thread starter sante

What a fantastic season he had. Played all 22 games.

Top 5 in Kicks
Top 5 in Handballs
Top 5 in Disposals
Top 5 in Tackles
Top 5 in Inside 50s
6th in Rebound 50s

My guess is Top 5 in B&F this year. Looks to be a good addition to our midfield in years to come and seems to have fixed his disposal/decision making too. :thumbsu:

Seems to have divided the Tiger BF Board though... some reckon he needs punting whilst others predict eliteness.
I'm sitting halfway... is far better and has more potential than some think but will not be elite... will be a quality member of our 22 for another 8 years or so I would say.

He has some neat moves and skills in tight & if he could just stop trying to be too cute with it sometimes, all will be well.

Is very creative, and don't want him to lose that. BUT, he needs to learn how to NOT turn the ball over. Once he gets into that position where he is vulnerable, needs to learn how to kill the ball or whatever. At the moment, you just often get that feeling that if what he's trying doesn't come off, then a rebound goal will result. Certainly had a good year, and if he continues to improve will be a valuable player. If he plateaus off now, which I think is unlikely, he may slip off the radar.

I think his disposal (or lack of stuff up really) has improved. More-so I was surprised he stopped getting caught with the ball so much.

The primary reason our guys get caught and turn back into trouble is lack of options in front of them. They are told not to turn the ball over easily so they look for options ad infinitum. Its improving and will get better when our better as our forward line develops with a few faces back in the side.

Great work by Shane!! a very good year. I remember reading an article by Andrew Jarman (he was coaching in the SANFL) after edwards was drafted and he rated him really highly and though the Tigers got a bargin with pick 26

What a fantastic season he had. Played all 22 games.

Top 5 in Kicks
Top 5 in Handballs
Top 5 in Disposals
Top 5 in Tackles
Top 5 in Inside 50s
6th in Rebound 50s

My guess is Top 5 in B&F this year. Looks to be a good addition to our midfield in years to come and seems to have fixed his disposal/decision making too. :thumbsu:

Add to that number one for smothers.

He has had a cracker of a year. Before he was drafted his Nth Adelaide Coach Andrew Jarman said if he wasnt so tiny he would be a first round pick. Still only 21 and he is starting to look every bit of it.

Yep, great year:thumbsu:

Hey guys, he'd obviously had a good year. Would you say he is untouchable? If not, what would the tigers reasonably expect in a trade? Regardless of contract status.

Is very creative, and don't want him to lose that. BUT, he needs to learn how to NOT turn the ball over. Once he gets into that position where he is vulnerable, needs to learn how to kill the ball or whatever. At the moment, you just often get that feeling that if what he's trying doesn't come off, then a rebound goal will result. Certainly had a good year, and if he continues to improve will be a valuable player. If he plateaus off now, which I think is unlikely, he may slip off the radar.

Agree with the guts of that post...especially the part about about learning to kill the ball...the one aspect of both his and Jackson's games that get's on my **** the most. Personally I'll think we'll only truly have a good list when blokes of Edwards' caliber are merely depth players.

lunacy said:
Hey guys, he'd obviously had a good year. Would you say he is untouchable? If not, what would the tigers reasonably expect in a trade? Regardless of contract status.

Straight swap for Knights.:thumbsu:

Won't get any attention either. Not with Foley, Cotchin and Martin all likely to get tags before him

Exactly. If we get our midfielders all out there at once, he will be very, very damaging to opposition clubs. It's scary to think that both Morton and Edwards (after the games they played on the weekend) still have plenty of development and should get better. In addition, their attention should decrease as players like Martin, Cotch, Pick 6 :) start to develop...I really believe we are creating a Geelong 07/Brisbane 02/WCE 06 midfield!

Thing I like about Edwards the most is his ability to thread a handball through in heavy traffic. Looks for options that some players wouldn't dare to take and that gets him into trouble a bit, and we hurt on the rebound. Agree that sometimes he needs to wind in his enthusiasm a bit and take a tackle or knock the ball over the line.

Think his disposal and his smarts have improved ten fold and I love watching him caress the ball around by foot.

Have really liked watching Edwards develop over this year. Love the way he is prepared to take the game on. Sure it got him into trouble at times as he tried to do more than he should but once he realised his limitations those turnovers occured less frequently.

His biggest problem is he is a step ahead of most of the side when it comes taking the game on. Edwards, to me, plays the Geelong style of kamikaze footy where you just continue to take the game on. When the rest of the side catches up we'll see the best of Edwards, until then we'll still see him run himself into trouble every now and then.

Have really liked watching Edwards develop over this year. Love the way he is prepared to take the game on. Sure it got him into trouble at times as he tried to do more than he should but once he realised his limitations those turnovers occured less frequently.

His biggest problem is he is a step ahead of most of the side when it comes taking the game on. Edwards, to me, plays the Geelong style of kamikaze footy where you just continue to take the game on. When the rest of the side catches up we'll see the best of Edwards, until then we'll still see him run himself into trouble every now and then.

Nailed it RT. He will be a real weapon as we develop.

Thing I like about Edwards the most is his ability to thread a handball through in heavy traffic. Looks for options that some players wouldn't dare to take and that gets him into trouble a bit, and we hurt on the rebound. Agree that sometimes he needs to wind in his enthusiasm a bit and take a tackle or knock the ball over the line.

Think his disposal and his smarts have improved ten fold and I love watching him caress the ball around by foot.

I've noticed that recently when he has been playing on ball. He's always had brilliant evasive ability and that was obvious, but until recently I had never noticed his ability to thread super creative and accurate handpasses through holes that by rights no handball should be getting through. In the second half of the Port game this was one of the things that got us going. Only Cotchin has a similar ability to thread the eye of a needle by hand, with Foley not far behind.

Add to that his quick step, two step moves when corralled hard up the boundary line. I would say he is the best in the game at doing that.

Cant believe those who want him traded. :confused:

After a few drinks last night me and a mate got into a conversation at about 5am about shane edwards. We both think he will be one of our best players...... that is all.

Should be a gun of the future. Needs another 3 or 4kg over this preseason though

Madtig whatever you do for a living you should pack it up and just become a weights coach as along with the RFC putting on muscle seems to be your major passion.

I agree though:thumbsu: He's 1180cm so maybe just another couple of kgs. Wouldn't want him to lose his agility. Probably his best assett.