Shield Final - venue dispute

I said who suggested to you any of these umpteen grounds were given as an option to cricket victoria?

By the rules none of them should be- Cricket Victoria have failed to come up with a ground and thus by the rules Western Australia now gets to provide the stadium.

Those umpteen grounds are first class standard - so they provide a good comparison for the type of ground Victoria needed to find.

And apparently Cricket Victoria can't find a ground as good as Wagga Wagga's stadium

WA don't deserve the home final, I don't have a problem with that.

However the move to play the game in Tasmania is "shonky" at best.
I think most Victorian would begrudgingly agree that this as its not a ideal outcome and the decision to move the game to Tasmania is posturing and is a political stunt.

I don't believe that a WACA final would be in the spirit of the game and likewise neither do I believe that the game is going to be played in Tasmania is in the spirit of the game either.

I cant believe that there in NO ground in the state of Victoria that is up to standard. For a State that brags and tells everyone that Victoria and Melbourne are the sporting capital of Australia, I find the notion that no other ground being up to standard is simply not plausible.
WA are more than happy to play the game in the State of Victoria , its just CV that does not want the game played in its home State.

Its a pretty sad indictment on the state of Victoria's infrastructure that it doesn't have a suitable ground.

What's the point of having playing conditions and rules if at the last moment they are not enforced?

Don't disagree but both the matador cup and BBL final were at least known upfront and the same for every single state if they happened to win the right to host

This was known upfront as well. The rule hasn't just popped into existence, and CV have had years to prepare for the eventuality of not being able to host a Shield final at the MCG because of the World Cup.

Their failure to prepare properly should not be rewarded, and the rules should not be ignored because of 'special circumstances' which they already knew would happen.

Whether the rule should exist is a separate issue. CA have broken their own rule on a rare occasion they have to enforce it, just to placate CV.

You don't come top you don't deserve to host it, the rule is stupid.

Fair point.

Of course WA teams came top in the other 2 domestic comps this year and hosted neither final.

Because of the rules.

Now they don't seem to apply ....

WA don't deserve the home final, I don't have a problem with that.

However the move to play the game in Tasmania is "shonky" at best.
I think most Victorian would begrudgingly agree that this as its not a ideal outcome and the decision to move the game to Tasmania is posturing and is a political stunt.

I don't believe that a WACA final would be in the spirit of the game and likewise neither do I believe that the game is going to be played in Tasmania is in the spirit of the game either.

I cant believe that there in NO ground in the state of Victoria that is up to standard.

What's the point of having playing conditions and rules if at the last moment they are not enforced?

All jokes aside the whole situation is a farce.

I not sure why it is not being played SOMEWHERE in Victoria. Would love to hear the full explanation from Cricket Australia. I doubt there is no other ground up to standard. I'm sure there are a few district club grounds good enough or venues in Bendigo, Ballarat, Wangaratta, Shepparton, Warrnambool or some bloody location within the state that could be fit to play cricket on. However grounds like Carlton's probably controlled by football club for practice match games by them or other clubs too. I'm sure in past there was one or two Shield games played at Princes Park but for some reason now at this time of year cricket is either locked out of a ground or the other way around and does not seem to be some common sense approach to these situations.

There might be 100 people in Tassie that will goto the final for novelty factor but I'm sure if it was played in a regional place in Victoria it would be passionately embraced just as much as Carlton and Collingwood match was in Bendigo on weekend. If a game can be played in Alice Springs surely a game can be played in Horsham or somewhere and local cricket association would be more than happy to move a local game to host it at the best cricket ground there.

Cannot wait to find out the full reason it is going to Tassie.

So the Junction Oval is okay to host a World Cup warm up game between Afghanistan and UAE just over a month ago but they can't host a five-day Sheffield Shield final there? What a load of shit.

http://www.espncricinfo.com/icc-cricket-world-cup-2015/engine/match/806141.html

As the rules state, the right to host the final falls to the second placed team if the home side (the team that finished first) cannot provide a venue to host the game. So the match should be the WACA, it's as clear as day. CA are just pulling their normal bullshit as usual.

So the Junction Oval is okay to host a World Cup warm up game between Afghanistan and UAE just over a month ago but they can't host a five-day Sheffield Shield final there? What a load of shit.
The Shield final goes for much longer and is far more important, to be fair.

All jokes aside the whole situation is a farce.

I not sure why it is not being played SOMEWHERE in Victoria. Would love to hear the full explanation from Cricket Australia. I doubt there is no other ground up to standard. I'm sure there are a few district club grounds good enough or venues in Bendigo, Ballarat, Wangaratta, Shepparton, Warrnambool or some bloody location within the state that could be fit to play cricket on. However grounds like Carlton's probably controlled by football club for practice match games by them or other clubs too. I'm sure in past there was one or two Shield games played at Princes Park but for some reason now at this time of year cricket is either locked out of a ground or the other way around and does not seem to be some common sense approach to these situations.

There might be 100 people in Tassie that will goto the final for novelty factor but I'm sure if it was played in a regional place in Victoria it would be passionately embraced just as much as Carlton and Collingwood match was in Bendigo on weekend. If a game can be played in Alice Springs surely a game can be played in Horsham or somewhere and local cricket association would be more than happy to move a local game to host it at the best cricket ground there.

Cannot wait to find out the full reason it is going to Tassie.

Because according to Cricket Victoria- the MCG is the only first class standard ground in Victoria.

Define first class standard ?
How is Alice Springs first class standard and no venue in Victoria ?
Really would love to hear that one because I find it near impossible to buy as being true.
I could believe grounds not being available as some possibility but not that none are better than Alice Springs.

Really would love to hear that one because I find it near impossible to buy as being true.
I could believe grounds not being available as some possibility but not that none are better than Alice Springs.

Exactly my point in this thread.

I hope we got some decent journalists that are going to ask the right questions about this because this is actually beyond a joke the Cricket Australia and state cricket associations could allow this nonsense to go on. They need to ask how can a game in Alice Springs be any more suitable than other venues in Victoria for first class cricket and Shield Final. If they are not asking such questions they are not doing their job.

Play in in Hobart...
Its not like any team from Victoria ever plays within the rules anyway..

In my opinion this is nothing but a political move by CV. Vic Spirit (female team) have been playing out at the Junction Oval and complained that the off field facilities didn't cater for women (showers + toilets etc). CV have been pushing the agenda that it's not a first-class standard venue to gain government funding and would be quite hypercritical if they allowed for the final to be played here. There's nothing wrong with the playing surface, pitch, practice wickets etc. Since the MCG has been in lockdown for the World Cup, the bushrangers have been based at the junction oval and use it as their training facility. The 2nd XI also play games here.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/junction-oval-and-st-kildas-potential-relocation.1057547/

Thread on the Junction Oval from the 'stadiums board'. Few articles in there regarding the state of the venue.

IMO CV have let the standard of the ground run down and used that to gain govt funding.
all of the other old football grounds are run down also, they re only slowly being started to be brought up to scratch due to the VFL games.
it is up to local councils & state government to chip in & keep it up to a standard & keeps its heritage. it is dont up in NSW & they have many older smaller suburban venues in top notch.

Yep, I would have thought if Glenelg Oval was suitable for Sheffield Shield, there'd be several grounds in Victoria that would fit the bill.

all of the other old football grounds are run down also, they re only slowly being started to be brought up to scratch due to the VFL games.
it is up to local councils & state government to chip in & keep it up to a standard & keeps its heritage. it is dont up in NSW & they have many older smaller suburban venues in top notch.

How's Moorabbin Oval looking these days?

I could understand the uproar from WA fans if the decision was an unfair one. But playing a final on a neutral ground when you don't finish on top, well it doesn't get any fairer then that.

One could quite easily argue that playing against the rules is unfair

I wonder from a legal point of view could they challenge it and would they win ? (not suggesting they should just pointing out in this case fairness is subjective)

Personally i'm fine with it being played in Hobart. Hoping for decent weather and a good game.

I could understand the uproar from WA fans if the decision was an unfair one. But playing a final on a neutral ground when you don't finish on top, well it doesn't get any fairer then that.

Mate, twice this year, in both other domestic comps, we've finished top and not got a home final - because the playing conditions said so. We pointed out that this seemed unfair and the CA response was "but the playing conditions (i.e the rules)..."

Now the playing conditions are clear. If the team on top doesn't have a venue in their state, the team that's second gets to host it.

Suddenly the playing conditions, that were so fixed in the other comps are now able to be ignored on a whim.

That's completely and utterly unreasonable.