Roast Shit Tacklers

Do we really need another thread on our tackling? There are plenty already.
Do we really need another BACCS post telling us what we should and should not do?

But further to your post, can you please bump the last thread on tackling? I'd be very curious to know how long ago that was.

Thommo is our top tackler, but he gets nailed for ITB too often. We gave up tackling (as a team) .... well my impression anyway from 2 things. Neil Craigs game plan, all those UP's and Neil Crags aversion to "unsociable football" we were giving away too many frees so we stopped tackling rather than changing technique.

I could be wrong, but that's the impression I get.

Do we really need another thread on our tackling? There are plenty already.

There are?

I guess I've failed to read any of them.

I guess with David Parkin and Sando quoting the poor tackling, and making it an issue, BACCS can not paint a positive picture.

But further to your post, can you please bump the last thread on tackling? I'd be very curious to know how long ago that was.

There are?

I guess I've failed to read any of them.

There's not one on the first 10 pages of this forum, but that's when I stopped looking so they're probably all on page 11.

Worst part is it's been an obvious problem of ours for years now, each year we hear the same crap about us focusing on learning how to tackle, heck, that's all we heard about this pre season and we showed no improvement at all. No surprise we've had a disappointing season, our main focus in the off season wasn't improved at all, it's no wonder everything else was even worse.

Back on topic, I just can't understand how for a club that apparently spends so much time on it how we are so bad.

There seems to be two areas of concern:

1) Intent to tackle. The players just don't seem to have the desire to be manic tacklers despite all the talk. This is purely attitude and a indicment on our coaches.
2) Technique. FFS get someone who can teach them properly.

Read this today...wow the Crows are bad tacklers??? Really what insight.:rolleyes:
This is my favourite soap box along with goal kicking. We have been crapola at both for too long and it is costing us games that we should have won this year.
Reading the article it seems they do heaps at training, so I guess our players are just shite at tackling and not skillful enough to learn how to do it properly. Start making it a key KPI and if they aren't meeting it drop them for it and find some players who can tackle...preferably ones that can actually kick straight and think clearly. Its the same ones each week that miss tackles. Smack is hopeless, VB can stick them, but goes for the waist, Thommo just falls on them every single time, Smith and Otto are bad as well. Any others? Should make a good and bad list. I just can't be shagged atm.

But yeah, they keep telling us tackling and goal kicking are high on the agenda for practice so it's pretty disappointing to see no improvement over YEARS AND YEARS.

Then it has to come down to either the coaches or the players. Mine is on the players.

McKernan being brushed off by Hartlett just shows how terrible we are at this.

To be fair, Smack is actually one of our better tacklers in the team and brings the guys to ground almost as often as Pigdog, in fact just get Pigdog to teach them all

When our pressure is up, our tackling is ok.

When our pressure drops off, and teams get more time and space to move around, our tackling looks poor.

I reckon that this would be the case for every side.

I reckon some of those tackling stats flatter our players. What constitutes as a tackle? Laying your hands on the player with the ball? I don't think those stats take into account what I would call "effective" tackles, whereby you actually stop or dispossess the ball carrier.

Honestly how hard is it

It's all about attitude and desire, going hard at the body and pinning at least one arm so they can't release the ball

The majority of our list have played footy all the way through their junior days, tackling should be instinctive by now

It's all about attitude

Umpiring having one rule for us and another for our opponent effects players confidence levels and commitment...

I may be completely incorrect here (not the first time!), but isn't tackling the hips the wrong move to make? It seems when I watch the majority of the Crows, they tackle around the hips, leaving the players arms/hands free to handball/kick the ball away, or they can twist out of it fairly easily, especially when the player has outstretched arms when tackling. One of the few who I've seen do it the way I like is Callinan who tackled, but made sure that he pinned the guys arms as he was doing it and he got the HTB call.