Shocking commentators

• Thread starter Thread starter greg62

Originally posted by Generalissimo
On the ABC, Phil Cleary is a moron who thinks it's okay to decapitate a player as long as that player doesn't play for a traditional VFL team. Watch the 2002 finals, Paul Chapman in particular, if you don't believe me.

Drew Morfett is okay, but hardly ever gets a word in over the Bearded Burbler.

Very true, which is why I hardly watch ABC's coverage of the games. Andy Bennett is the same with the ABC Tasmania team, he decides that he needs to bring in a 3rd team during every game that doesn't involve the team he used to coach (North Hobart)

The problem these days is that because there is so much coverage and there are so many commentators, they can't all be champs. If they seemed better in the old days, it was because there was only a few of them so you got the very best.

Silvagni is certainly the worst special comments man at the moment.

Drew Morphett is a biased w@nker. 1997 Preliminary Final (ADEL vs WB) in the last quarter he couldn't stop crapping on about the fairytale grand final next week between the Saints and the Dogs - and then sounded genuinely disappointed when the Crows came back to win.

All well and good if the coverage was only going to Footscray, but considering it was a national broadcast he could've at least tried to sound even-handed.

Anyway, whatever happened to Mick "I can't feel my groin!" McGuane?

Originally posted by dyertribe
Drew Morphett is a biased w@nker. 1997 Preliminary Final (ADEL vs WB) in the last quarter he couldn't stop crapping on about the fairytale grand final next week between the Saints and the Dogs - and then sounded genuinely disappointed when the Crows came back to win.
I remember one time late in the afternoon at Subiaco when he mused, "Oh, they do have lights here". He seems to think that footy outside Victoria isn't worthy. I thought he was great on The Winners, but when the competition expanded he turned ugly.

Shockiing Commentators.

Originally posted by Lockyer24
I wish my old favourite Sandy Roberts would make a comeback. I may be biased as he called the 90 GF I think.
You MUST be Joking,he's a Bigger Idiot then Dermott.

Sandy Roberts and Denis Cometti sound very alike.
I'm not a fan of Jason Benett's and Matthew Campbell's commentary. Clinton Grybas is ok - but not up there with the best.

Brereton by a mile, 5 miles infact.

And Sandy Roberts was a gem. I'd rather here calls like "They jump for the aerial biscut" than "Look at this zone here. Jusssst so defensive."

Originally posted by kaysee
I don't mind most of Channel 9s commentators but Channel 10s are really giving me the Shyts this year... especially when Port are always given Chris McDermott, Mark Aiston and that other little dweeb (name escapes me at the moment, but he looks similar to Mark Aiston).
To be pedantic, McDermott and Aiston (I'm not sure who the 'dweeb' you refer to is) are actually fox footy commentators. Although I understand the confusion as these guys only do SA matches, which would all be shown on channel 10 in Adelaide (but they are fox footy produced). And I agree they are ordinary.

Originally posted by dyertribe
Anyway, whatever happened to Mick "I can't feel my groin!" McGuane?

They got rid of him because no one could understand a ****ing word he was speaking. Most of the dribble he came up with was actually made up words.

Speaking of bad commentators....ABC got rid of a very ordinary one after a few weeks, Dave Lennon (God knows where they found this tool) only knew the AFL listed players.

Originally posted by MarkT
Lou Richards was unique but he has had his day. Anyway, he couldn't see the game to call it these days. I wonder if old Lou was actually any less biased than Eddie is. A work mate of mine who emigrated from NZ in the 80's hated Collingwood because of Lou Richards. The more things change the more they stay the same.

If I could sum what I think the general consensus on BF is, it seems Commetti is great, Lane is ok and no other commentator deserves a gig. What exactly do people want from a commentator? I find them all ok and much of a muchness.

Indeed, Richards was very much a commentator of his time (just describing the play with few frills), but I quite liked the unpretentious, simple and direct style of commentary that was the style amongst the Ch. 7 commentators in the early to mid 1980s. Could do with some of that today.

Having said that like Mark T, I generally don't have a problem with any of the commentators I hear on TV these days. As inept as a special comments man like Stephen Silvagni is, he's bland and inoffensive enough to at least be tolerable

Originally posted by Hoggy
Speaking of bad commentators....ABC got rid of a very ordinary one after a few weeks, Dave Lennon (God knows where they found this tool) only knew the AFL listed players.

Now this was a commentator that irritated me no end. Genuinely incompetent, at least the commentators at AFL level at least have a certain professional standard.

Bring back the great Wally May. (some Sth Aussies would remember) Oh to hear on the ol' Sunday Footy show "comment Wally May"

Shocking Commentators.

Originally posted by TheSheik
It was at a Melbourne Cup presentation, he introduced Leanne D1ck as Leanne Co(k !!
As long as he doesnt have Penis envy.

Robert Walls is the worst commentator.

Originally posted by MarkT
Just out of interest, which is BT's team?
He's a Geelong supporter.

Bring back Peter Landy and Drew Morphett. Hey they were biased, but is there are a current commentator that is impartial? And in their final days on Ch7, they actually admitted their bias, which isn't so bad. I reckon Graham Cornes isn't so bad considering:eek: ...

Did anyone see the ratings of the commentators in Inside Footy

Commetti A+
Eddie A
Quarterbrain A
Tim Lane B+
Anthony Hudson B
Dwaynepipe Russell B
Brian Taylor B
Jason Bennett C
Matthew Campbell C
Clinton Grybus C
Sos F