Adelaide/Sturt/Wingfield
You know.. Bata Scouts that left cool animal tracks as you walked.

Or who had a pair of Ripples...the black soft boot with the hard rubber sole that was rippled for maximum marking on body effect.

Rockers wore Ripples and Surfies wore sandshoes ... usually Dunlops

Or Ciaks..who remembers those soft shoes.Good for nightclubs etc.

I am trying to remember tha name of the boots I liked.Soft suede brown usually and comfy as. I think they started with an M... mountain boots?

i loved the Converse basketball sneaker that was about in 1993....the one with the cool green gel inside the heel.

PerthCrow said:
Or Ciaks..who remembers those soft shoes.Good for nightclubs etc.
I am trying to remember tha name of the boots I liked.Soft suede brown usually and comfy as. I think they started with an M... mountain boots?
Ahh yes I remember Ciaks, very big in the mid 80's as I recall.
Another one that was popular - well they were here anyway - were Desert Boots.
Just about every young bloke in North Hobart or West Hobart where I grew up wore desert boots in the early 80's.

Kingpin said:
Ahh yes I remember Ciaks, very big in the mid 80's as I recall.
Another one that was popular - well they were here anyway - were Desert Boots.Just about every young bloke in North Hobart or West Hobart where I grew up wore desert boots in the early 80's.
Thats the one desert boots. Brown suede or something very nice very comfortable

PerthCrow said:
Thats the one desert boots. Brown suede or something very nice very comfortable

Yeah they were. I remember it was the kids that were most looked up to around here, usually the toughest kids that wore them.
All those "big 12 year olds" who smoked, rode BMX's and said F__ or C___ and were on the CB radio's, and hung around at the servo usually wore them.

Got my pair when I was 8, I felt like I'd graduated to big school :D

Desert boots were part of our high school uniform in the early 80's. The choice was either desert boots or black shoes, no ciaks.
Also remember the bouncers on the doors at so called classy Melbourne night spots werent big fans of Ciaks.

Tormented Tiger said:
Desert boots were part of our high school uniform in the early 80's. The choice was either desert boots or black shoes, no ciaks.
Also remember the bouncers on the doors at so called classy Melbourne night spots werent big fans of Ciaks.

A.K.A. Kayaks.:)

When I was a young I used to wear Winkle pickers after 3 ingrown toe nails I had to stop wearing them.

Desert boots were my favourites in the 80's. They had 'crepe' soles. Very comfy.

Adidas Romes were pretty popular as well around that time (white with blue stripes).

PowerKat said:
Desert boots were my favourites in the 80's. They had 'crepe' soles. Very comfy.

Adidas Romes were pretty popular as well around that time (white with blue stripes).

Release your inner bogan! :thumbsu:

152243A.jpg

They re-made Jordan 1's, I had a pair, they lasted me a couple of seasons. I wish I could get another pair!

Reebok Pumps and Puma Discs - shoes with a gimmick in the late 80's or early 90's that were essentially useless.

But cannot go past the Dunlop volleys

Swifty_446 said:
152243A.jpg

They re-made Jordan 1's, I had a pair, they lasted me a couple of seasons. I wish I could get another pair!

nice, but those are jordan II... my faves are IV and XI... its a shame they are so bloody expensive... :(

speaking of old school shoes... anyone had a pair of rollers ? (black suede, rippled sole)

Does anyone remember "Levis for feet"(circa 76 or 77)? Now there was a serious fashion statement. Fake demin shoes with a Levi tab.

PowerKat said:
lol, and I didn't even mention knee-high lace up Ugg Boots! :eek:

Apparently they're back in fashion.... I just knew that if I held on to them long enough, I'd morph from an out of touch dag to a trendsetter!

Now, to bring back the mocco!

Leaping Lindner said:
Does anyone remember "Levis for feet"(circa 76 or 77)? Now there was a serious fashion statement. Fake demin shoes with a Levi tab.

Yes. And if i could post my primary school cricket photo, you'd see me wearing a pair.

Also, JAWS sneakers. A bit like the Levi's ones but with a red ripple sole. :thumbsu:

*Edit: You'd also see former Collingwood player, Tony Francis in the same photo.