Should we draft Michael Barlow?

GoodFootyNorth

Interesting to see this guy plays for Werribee and won the Fothergill-Round medal for best young player in the VFL. Said to be 190cm and fast.

http://www.theage.com.au/news/rfnew...-stellar-season/2009/09/04/1252001247357.html

Midfielder Michael Barlow has every chance of following in the footsteps last year's Fothergill-Round medallist Robin Nahas after claiming the prestigious award for the best young talent in the competition this week.

Standing at 190 centimetres, the 21-year-old is seen as the hottest property in the VFL given his pace and athleticism in the midfield with an ability to play forward or back.
I haven't seen any VFL this year. What are the views of those who have?

i havent seen him play either but it sounds like he dominates every single week for werribee

i thought he was a bit older like 22-23

i would definitely not be against it

btw im not sure he is fast i have heard him described as slow actually

if you don't, someone else will. would love him at sydney.

if, as heaps of journos are talking about, afl clubs are going to start to 'raid' the vfl ranks, this guy is the best available.

I would strongly consider Barlow from Werribee and Sewell from North Ballarat.

It depends on who the other choices are when our picks come up.

Sewell is older but will win North Ballarat's B&F.

If this draft is really as shallow as touted, these guys would both be far better than w weak pick.

Get him with the third rounder I reckon. As jschwag said, Sewell from NB is another option.

I went to school with him. He was always a ball magnet but he was really skinny at school and his skills weren't brilliant, so he didn't get drafted. To his credit though he has worked on his game and his disposal is much better, continues to rack up the ball and perform as he goes up in standard. He has a big engine and is a good size. Would be worth a rookie at least IMO, he is a good bloke too.

That seals it. /thread!

Played very well 2 weeks in a row now, slotted well into the highest level, I like him.
But he's only played against 2 of the bottom 4 sides, let's see how he goes against better opposition next week.
Honestly good on him for seemingly taking the opportunity so far but I swear to god I was shocked to see he led the disposals. I didn't notice him as being in the top 10 players on the ground. May be the new Sam Power. 20 plus touches with no real impact.

He is no Sam Power, he knows how to use the ball. Good footy brain for a young kid. I would be surprised if he is not elevated from the rookie list soon.

Great to see him taking the opportunity with both hands and see him prove to everyone just how talented he is as a footballer.

Happily watched him play another consistent game in the midfield with 27 disposals and 7 marks, would have loved to see him a kick a goal after missing his opportunity to do so last week.

Loved it when he saw me in my Weribee gear after the game and shook my hand, looked like there were quite a few people that had come down from Shepp to watch him play.

Hopefully, he gets homesick:)

I think I beat you to the punch.

2007, when he was still playing country footy, before he was even scouted by Werribee.

Pykie said:
Alot of the best young players dont play TAC cup.

They may play the "draftable" ones, but not the "best".
They play alot of skinny guys, with exceptional parts to their game, as you often see alot of players come out of the AGS/APS leagues and go into the metro and country and do well, even though they were never picked for TAC Cup. Il sight one example. Michael Barlow is on track to becoming the youngest player to win the Morrison Medal (League Best and fairest of the GVFL) arguably the strongest country league in Australia, yet he never played for the Cannon's and won the Assumption B&F in a premiership year packed with TAC players, and draftee's. He also got BOG going head-to-head with Xavier Ellis in the combined AGS/APS game. And there are examples like this everywhere in those leagues, where the best players, whom would walk all over most of the players in the TAC arnt picked.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=8071098&postcount=28