Showdown12

• Thread starter Thread starter kirky

Originally posted by ok.crows
Macca:

Looked to me like it was Bickleys shoulder.

That's because you haven't seen the incident, it was clearly the elbow

In either case though, shoulder or elbow, it can't be called "late" now, can it?

yes it can, Waeklin did not have the ball when Bickley hit him, but not actually seeing the incident you wouldn't know.

Wakelin had the ball. Bickleys arm was past Wakelin before contact was made.

Waeklin did not have the ball. Bickley missed with the fist and then followed through with the elbow.

Defies any definition of "late".

Once again you haven't seen the incident (obviously because of your inaccuracies) so why are you commenting???

Reckles, yes. Dirty, or late? No.

It wasn't reckless, you obviously don't know the meaning of reckless. It was very late 1-2 seconds after Waeklin had disposed of the ball, if a deliberate, behind the play incident which puts a player out for 6 of the most important weeks of his life isn't dirty then what is?

Bugoyne was late.

Yes he was but the umpire was right there and didn't even pay a 50 meter penalty, obviously McGregor was trying to milk it. Burgoyne wasn't dangerous or vindictive and most probably won't be reported.

Why can't you Port supporters go back to your own board. We don't want you here. Especially you Macca. We don't need you to write an essay analysing every single thread we post, having an answer for everything we write. You have a board for your supporters. And as for you all saying Wakelin didn't even get a free-kick for that thing, he did it was just to advantage so stop saying this as you have absolutely no idea.

And Macca, how can you keep rebutting all of our excuses and then say "Port were only playing at 75%". That is the most uneducated comment anyone has ever written on this board.

Also, Montgomery did make contact with Burton, that's why he couldn't open his eye for the rest of the game. For the rest of us Crows supporters, let's get excited because the next time we play them we'll be getting 3 Premiership players back, dual All-Australians and half of our leadership group - things that Port can't say they'll have because they haven't won a final let alone a Grand Final.

Bring on the finals!

It would have been good for Crows to have won, but it will probably not affect their finishing position now they have lost.

Also, I thought Crows did enough to show they can beat Power. Crows didn't play that well, making more errors than normal. Crows were unlucky on numerous occassions - Edward's mark not paid, Burton's mark not paid, McGregor not paid 50m, Carr goaled after being paid a dropped mark, Stevens with 3.5 which should have been 5.3.

Just a bit of that luck turns our way, a tiny improvement in disposal and/or decision making ... and Crows win that game by four or five goals IMO.

Hopefully that is the way it will turn out when it really counts in September.

You have not seen the incident have you?

Originally posted by PAfolwr

Can you describe the play from just before the ball went into Wakelin's area to after it left there?
Where did it come from, where did it go from there, when did he get hit, that sort of thing. Just curious that's all.
This question was directed to Pride of SA, perhaps you can answer it.
Bickley should go for heaps if the tribunal does it's job properly.

Porthos, that's been done that on the AFL board, not here.

You're slowly learning.

I haven't seen the incident yet but he'll be back in our side come the qualifying final at the earliest.

What I can't work out is why people are so narky over this one incident, I'd like to see the other parts where there were reckless acts out there.

These are Showdowns, not netball games.

Originally posted by snakebite01
Why can't you Port supporters go back to your own board. We don't want you here. Especially you Macca. We don't need you to write an essay analysing every single thread we post, having an answer for everything we write. You have a board for your supporters. And as for you all saying Wakelin didn't even get a free-kick for that thing, he did it was just to advantage so stop saying this as you have absolutely no idea.

And Macca, how can you keep rebutting all of our excuses and then say "Port were only playing at 75%". That is the most uneducated comment anyone has ever written on this board.

Also,

Gday QT!!!!!!! Long time no see!!!!! :D

Originally posted by Leigh
Porthos, that's been done that on the AFL board, not here.

You're slowly learning.

I haven't seen the incident yet but he'll be back in our side come the qualifying final at the earliest.

How the hell can you have an opinion on something you havent even seen!!!!!

What I can't work out is why people are so narky over this one incident, I'd like to see the other parts where there were reckless acts out there.

How bout you wait till you see it before commenting...then youd realise why the Port fans are so narky over it!

Originally posted by PAfolwr

Can you describe the play from just before the ball went into Wakelin's area to after it left there?
Where did it come from, where did it go from there, when did he get hit, that sort of thing. Just curious that's all.

i can....this is from teh first replay they show that im watching in slow motion now:

Wakelin handballs the ball - Bickley is not in screen yet.
Bickley enters the screen from the left, eyes on wakelin he starts to swing his arm around after the ball has been handballed. When his forearm hits Wakelin, Bickleys forearm is at his head level. Bickleys eyes are entrenched on Wakelin. He strikes Wakelin with his forearm very close to the elbow - but not the actual elbow itself...maybe two inches up his forearm.

He probably meant to collect Wakelin half way up his arm and misjudged - but that is no excuse.

Originally posted by Macca19

i can....this is from teh first replay they show that im watching in slow motion now:

Wakelin handballs the ball - Bickley is not in screen yet.
Bickley enters the screen from the left, eyes on wakelin he starts to swing his arm around after the ball has been handballed. When his forearm hits Wakelin, Bickleys forearm is at his head level. Bickleys eyes are entrenched on Wakelin. He strikes Wakelin with his forearm very close to the elbow - but not the actual elbow itself...maybe two inches up his forearm.

He probably meant to collect Wakelin half way up his arm and misjudged - but that is no excuse.

Pretty accurate description Macca, from slow motion replay. Fair enough call and quite different to what I had thought it was from recollection (which of course was full speed).

Originally posted by dbcrow

Crows had a lot to play for yesterday, despite what other people have said on this board. A chance to prove themselves as a worthy top four side. The only side in the top four they have beaten is Brisbane, having lost to Port Adelaide twice, Collingwood, Melbourne, Kangaroos and West Coast. They also had a chance to cement their position in the top three with Collingwood losing on Saturday night. Chances are now that we'll finish fourth.

Cheers

I actually hope we finish 4th.....we struggle the week after playing a WA team in round 22 (gotten flogged twice in first week of finals in 1998 and last year).....would probably lose first week anyway to Power if we finish 3rd, and we could potentially play Bris at the Gabba in a prelim....better we get Brissie outta the way first, hopefully recover and win at home in week 2, then hopefully play Port at G in a prelim!

Of course, so many other things come into play here.....Port could finish top....Pies could upset Port....or Brissie.....so really it's a moot point.....I think I'll end this pointless post now :o

Pretty accurate description Macca, from slow motion replay. Fair enough call and quite different to what I had thought it was from recollection (which of course was full speed).

That is why the question.
From what some people have been saying you would think it was a marking contest and Bickley had his arms near Wakelin's head because the ball was there as well.
Even going as far as comparing it to McLeod's and Burgoyne's incidents.
This was late enough to consider it to be behind play, nothing reckless or "late" about it.

Re: Re: Showdown12

Riccuito was All Australian nearly three seasons ago. I hardly see the relevance. As for Goodwin - hasnt been near as good as he was last year and wont be All Australian this year. Stevens and Kingsley (well apparently in Kingsleys case) are in the running for All Australian THIS year....Hardwick should definatly be in the AA side this year. Schofield has also been one of our best midfielders this season.

Subjective really isnt it.

Err...teams usually go out on the park to win. Trying to beat a side that you are most likely going to meet in the finals and that have the wood on you is a start.

Mcgregor got up straight away from Burgoynes bump. No different to Mcleods really...yet every Crow fan thinks Mcleod was an innocent little bunny protecting himself when he bumped into Lloyd....yet here Burgoyne is seen as a big villian!!! Go figure! As for Monty - probably get a week. Burton rammed into Monty and Monty retalliated, stupidly mind you. Burton got up and kept playing. Wakelin did not antagonise or ram into Bickley...he simply got rid of the ball and Bickley clobbered him. Reckless...maybe. Intentional...maybe, maybe not - who knows...point is whether intentional or not - Bickley forcefully hit someone with a forearm to the face which has now cost that player the rest of his season - possibly a premiership medal too. Given how Ports Stevens' got two weeks for their incidents, youd think Bickley would get 4.

We got plenty of room for improvement. You just choose not to see it! Schofield, Kingsley, Hardwick and Stevens would all be in our best 10 players this season. Now losing Wakelin as well who has also been in our best ten players...thats just as hefty as the outs that the Crows had. I honestly couldnt care if Riccuito was an All Australian 3 seasons ago....the relevance to todays game and this year (where Roo has been exceptionally poor up until the last 6 or so weeks) is minimal.

1. Yes, it is and thats your opinion. One would say Smart would also be in contention, look at the players he has quitened this year. Look outside and smell the roses!!!

2. Sorry, me forget we have been shell-lacked the last three times and all by 8 points (thats one goal two points for the uninformed). Hardly the stuff that makes one quiver at the prospect at finals time - remember you had possible the best 4 players on the field and STILL ONLY WON BY 8 POINTS. What don't you understand!!!

3. And the point is, if you are equating it with McLeod, the same penalty should apply. Out for one week. End of story.

Burton was already in midflight, now correct me if I am wrong but I am not sure that the scientific community has found a way of stopping in midflight and dropping like a dead duck.

4. Now let me repeat for the genuis amongst us. You had the best ruckman, best runon player, best two forwards and yet still only win by 8 points. You can't get any better even with those in because our inclusions would match or even exceed yours.

Bring on the finals because they will produce another step and I know that the Crows will be up to it. Port, I would not want it to be close because that choker chain will be pulling extremely tight.

Re: Re: Re: Showdown12

Originally posted by kirky

1. Yes, it is and thats your opinion. One would say Smart would also be in contention, look at the players he has quitened this year. Look outside and smell the roses!!!

2. Sorry, me forget we have been shell-lacked the last three times and all by 8 points (thats one goal two points for the uninformed). Hardly the stuff that makes one quiver at the prospect at finals time - remember you had possible the best 4 players on the field and STILL ONLY WON BY 8 POINTS. What don't you understand!!!

3. And the point is, if you are equating it with McLeod, the same penalty should apply. Out for one week. End of story.

Burton was already in midflight, now correct me if I am wrong but I am not sure that the scientific community has found a way of stopping in midflight and dropping like a dead duck.

4. Now let me repeat for the genuis amongst us. You had the best ruckman, best runon player, best two forwards and yet still only win by 8 points. You can't get any better even with those in because our inclusions would match or even exceed yours.

Bring on the finals because they will produce another step and I know that the Crows will be up to it. Port, I would not want it to be close because that choker chain will be pulling extremely tight.

I think you are dead right with everything here! Good work!

Re: Re: Re: Showdown12

Originally posted by kirky

One could say that. But then again...what is your point?? Where did the mentioning of Smart come from? He also played if you can recall correctly - Hardwick, Kingsley and Stevens (three players in AA contention this year) did not.

So you agree with the idiot that said you had no incentive to win?? Yes we had the 4 best players on the ground. The scoreline falttered the Crows. We did enough to win the game and do it fairly easily. Sure we only won by 8 points, but the result was rarely in doubt after 1/4 time...Port seemingly always had control of the match. We did enough to win and that is that.

Not at all...a blind fool could see that Burgoynes bump wasnt half as forceful as Mcleods bump.

Now let me repeat for the braindead among us. Port were in control for much of the game. They did enough to win the game - which was playing well for about 10 minutes a quarter. We probably should of won by more. Yes we had the two best forwards on the park but our forward line was average i thought. May sound strange but look at where Cornes and Tredrea did the majoriity of their work. Tredrea had two scoring oppurtunities the whole game...i dont think Cornes had 1....most of their work coming up the field. We wasted many oppurtunities in the last half when going forward. Doesnt matter if we won by 8 or 80 points, everytime we raised the pace of the game Adelaide couldnt cope...everytime we lifted the pedal, Adelaide came back. Yes Port played well...but not very well, and not near our best form. If you think that Port have no room for improvement then i believe it is Adelaide who will get the shock in the Showdown Final.

Its not that hard to analyse it really. The Crows played poor because Port made them look poor. The majority of the Crows mistakes came from the pressure Port put on them. Yeah the Crows have a lot of improvement based on yesterdays game - but dont expect them to if Port put that much pressure on their midfielders and defence again - the result will be the same. And its not like Port played a faultless game either - they squandered a number of oppurtunities - especially in the third quarter.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Showdown12

One could say that. But then again...what is your point?? Where did the mentioning of Smart come from? He also played if you can recall correctly - Hardwick, Kingsley and Stevens (three players in AA contention this year) did not.

So you agree with the idiot that said you had no incentive to win?? Yes we had the 4 best players on the ground. The scoreline falttered the Crows. We did enough to win the game and do it fairly easily. Sure we only won by 8 points, but the result was rarely in doubt after 1/4 time...Port seemingly always had control of the match. We did enough to win and that is that.

Not at all...a blind fool could see that Burgoynes bump wasnt half as forceful as Mcleods bump.

Now let me repeat for the braindead among us. Port were in control for much of the game. They did enough to win the game - which was playing well for about 10 minutes a quarter. We probably should of won by more. Yes we had the two best forwards on the park but our forward line was average i thought. May sound strange but look at where Cornes and Tredrea did the majoriity of their work. Tredrea had two scoring oppurtunities the whole game...i dont think Cornes had 1....most of their work coming up the field. We wasted many oppurtunities in the last half when going forward. Doesnt matter if we won by 8 or 80 points, everytime we raised the pace of the game Adelaide couldnt cope...everytime we lifted the pedal, Adelaide came back. Yes Port played well...but not very well, and not near our best form. If you think that Port have no room for improvement then i believe it is Adelaide who will get the shock in the Showdown Final.

Its not that hard to analyse it really. The Crows played poor because Port made them look poor. The majority of the Crows mistakes came from the pressure Port put on them. Yeah the Crows have a lot of improvement based on yesterdays game - but dont expect them to if Port put that much pressure on their midfielders and defence again - the result will be the same. And its not like Port played a faultless game either - they squandered a number of oppurtunities - especially in the third quarter.

For port being in control they certainly failed to capitalise on their opportunities. The score was never 19 points apart. That's a waste of the ball seeming that Port was in control since quarter time!

Originally posted by Zombie
Macca19 posts: 8000+
Snakebite01 posts: 1

Another Crows bandwagoner come finals time.

More likely one of the other cowies who is too gutless to have a go a Macca in person and instaed decides to "hide" behind another persona. A Gutless wonder whoever it was.

Should we feel flattered to see Port Power supporters reading our Board?

I, for one, couldn't be bothered in the slightest going any where near theirs.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Showdown12

Umm, I've kept out of this till now, but honestly, are you implying that Port didn't try, or only played in bursts so that the Crows seemed to have a chance all game?! That Port could have wiped the Crows by 80 points had it deemed fit to do so!? Come on mate!

All the cr*p from both sets of supporters about ins and outs, umpiring decisions, injuries, unfair strikes, etc etc aside. Port were the better team on the day. By one goal. That's it. See you in the finals.