Geoff

Premium Platinum
East Fremantle
Nearing his final years at Brisbane. Not sure whether he signed on for a 1 or 2 year contract. Is he worth seeking out as an assistant once he hangs the boots up? He was part of one the best midfields ever seen and could bring heaps of experience. WA boy, ex east freo. I reckon he would be worth a go, anyone else care to comment?

I agree, but I heard during the calls of one of the lion's games that he intended to go on for another year. There is also the fact that he may have married into a Brissy family which may not make WA a natural choice.

Think he's pretty settled over there with his family moving over to be with him. Would love to get him as an assistant coach once he's done with playing though. Clever guy with great footy smarts.

When he's finished playing I don't think his location matters too much. Assistant coaches go everywhere!

But yeah, could be a good one for assistant.

How long does it take a player to make the transition to a good assistant coach?

Very keen for us to improve our midfield coaching which despite the injuries seems to have failed to have progressed this year. I am very concerned about the drift towards a giant midfield with Pavlich and now Clarke being looked at as a strategy. We already have big bodies available for midfield roles with Mundy, Lower, de Boer, Palmer.

In my mind I would prefer to see an assistant with some experience as an assistant come in. It is critical for us. Someone recruited for what they have shown they can do, and give us a strategic boost.

By all means grab Black, but give him a less important role for a season to see how he goes.

Yeah, I'd prefer an assistant coach with coaching experience who is looking to build his career.

Yeah I'm not so sure. I think if its someone like Black you could safely take the punt. He is a lock to be a quality coach if thats what he wants to do. Once they are experienced they're less inclined to move unless they think they are headed towards a head job(as only Harves could only say it).

Chris Scott's second job??