foxdog50

Australia (Cricket)
G'day Everyone
Just wondering, what do you guys think of Simon Hogan... I think he still has a lot to offer as a Footballer... Can you see him in our top 22 this year??? Be good to what other Cats Fans think.... Cheers...

He needs game time to settle in
His disposal is not the best but he will get plenty of the ball.
I think he will make it if given chances

I thought his disposal improved over the course of last night - early on looked really rushed, like he hadn't settled into the game. In the second game seemed a bit more composed with it in hand.

Frankly at time he drives me to frustration. He is an appalling kick and lacks to the type of in play disposal skill that so many of our guys have used to good effect. So often when rushed he just whacks the ball on he boot like the worse type of GDFL player.But it can not be ignored that he gets to where he gets the ball or the ball is going a lot. It can not be ignored that he is brave and with the limited game time he has had , we probably are not seeing him at his potential best.

I watched a replay of the Hawks game in 09 the other day.(Bartel after the siren). It was Hogans set shot that started the role in the last quarter. He can mark and he can play , the question is - is he worth a spot in a top4 best 22?

I don't know if my brain is being ruled by my heart but Id like to see him get a big slab of games. I look at West , who right from the start I wanted him to get his fair chance , the same chance for him that Blake got. Plenty scrubbed him and thru perseverance and luck we now have a guy ready to do the job for us.

Hogan will never be a Menzel or Duncan etc but mabye he just has to be a Hogan.If he can something to our side that we need and with time he will acclimatise and get better by foot.Well maybe not better but perhaps less errors. The issue is - there are others who will be coming for that position. Byrnes for one. Just last night we watched Motlop say"I want in". Let alone guys like Stringer etc that just want a go.

If we don't want to waste the time we have put into him , he must get games this year. If he wants to go further he has to make the most of them. Just like West did.

It looks like Taylor Hunt will be the preferred stopper. Hogan is naturally more of an outside player and with these types they need to have great foot skills.

Unfortunately I see him in the Kane Tenace basket where more disposals doesn't necessarily mean a better outcome for the team.

When he started getting games in the second half of 2009, he was great. Looking back on it, he was probably a bit stiff not to get a Rising Star nomination over that period and he even played in the qualifying final win. In 2010, I started to notice his habit of sometimes panicking with the ball when he was under pressure and it seemed he'd gone backwards a bit. Though 2011, from the outside, seemed to be a bit of a write-off, the steps he made in getting his life in order and even getting back for an AFL game (which he deserved, as he'd torn up the VFL since he returned) can not be underestimated.

I agree that he needs to work hard on his disposal under pressure, but I also think that he could be a great old-school tagger for us. He won't be another Ling, but he could provide us with fantastic service. And, as others have said, he will be given opportunities this year.

he got plenty of the ball last night, and knowing where to go to get the ball is obviously important.

his disposal was terrible, but most of the time he didn't seem to realise how much time he had. hopefully with more time at the top level his decision making will improve

thought he looked fine to be honest :thumbsu:

Looks solid through the legs and keeps his feet, has had 3 or 4 seasons in the gym now and I think he's going to make it. It was his 1st game for quite some time as well so nerves would have been electric inside of him and he did seem to calm down after a while.

Didn't get too many disposals but he was around the ball alot and his greatest attribute I believe is his impressive running ability in which Lingy was a freak of.

Hogan's a natural ball-magnet, even playing a defensive mid role he'll get a ton of possessions, and his delivery will improve with more game time.

I remember he got over 50 possessions inthe VFL a couple of years ago, and in the odd senior appearance I noticed he was beating Ablett to the ball and generally getting in the way.
Probably got dropped for that.

Was at the game last night and hogan looked fit and hungry great in tight but as said by others, disposal really lets him down. Was chatting to my brother and we reckon he's one of those players that only has one type of kick in his arsenal so if he's not balanced and running in a straight line it's gonna be a shocker. feel like he needs to practice kicks for all different scenarios to improve.

The question is whether it's the mechanics of his kicking or his composure. I haven't decided yet. It's not that difficult to become more composed under pressure as you get more games under your belt, but if your kicking is not much chop to begin with, that's more of a terminal problem.

I think his ball drop is awry thus he tends to kick the ball too high which tends to put his team mate under pressure as they have to wait to long for the ball to arrive.
His decision making is poor but that may improve with increased exposure and more experience. He seems ok at VFL level so there maybe something to work with.
At the moment i can't see him making the grade but i only see him on T.V so i may miss the bigger picture. He does have positives as mentioned with reading the play, ball winning ability and contested possessions. I may have been a bit harsh earlier and should of given him a legitimate chance with increased game time before being so negative. I might reserve judgement until his played a few more games i think.

Increased exposure might just be the key. He is good enough to find the pill and fit enough to go with the best, but just needs to practice under the ultimate pressure.

Will get games this year, but the rest is up to him.

I think there are a few Post a correct... I could really see him in Lings role... His hard at the ball, his prob as fit as anyone on the team, so he could run with the best all day...
Hogan = Ling

He is elite at finding the ball and getting involved that's for sure. However i'm afraid as soon as he gets it he looks like a VFL player and a pretty ordinary one at that.

Granted he has had his troubles but he has been on the list far too long to look this way. We had 18 and 19yo players that looked more composed last night.

He reminds me of Sean Simpson

I can see that, in more ways than one.

Hogan is a smart young man, and I hope and think that with more opportunities his confidence will increase, and we'll have a good mid/tagger. That game back in 09, vs Hawks, should give us hope, as his 2nd half was instrumental in us beating Hawks.

Lack of opportunities and injuries have hampered his progress, and this year is really his chance at a breakout year.

I honestly think of Hogan as the on-baller equivalent of Tom Lonergan. It will happen, and his kicking has not always been the issue.

We have to play him in my opinion.
He is a ball winner. It's pretty bloody hard to get the ball these days.

I think he looked to lack a bit of confidence on occasion the other night. But his disposal was nowhere near as bad as people are making out.

Put him into a full squad with Chapman, SJ, Corey, Bartel, Selwood, Enright, kelly all rotating through the middle with him.

He will get blocks, those players will make better position to receive the ball. He'll have more options on his outside. etc. etc. Confidence will lift massively with game time. Huge difference.

Hogan's a natural ball-magnet, even playing a defensive mid role he'll get a ton of possessions, and his delivery will improve with more game time.

I remember he got over 50 possessions inthe VFL a couple of years ago, and in the odd senior appearance I noticed he was beating Ablett to the ball and generally getting in the way.
Probably got dropped for that.

Easier said than done particularly under the intense pressure of AFL footy. It’s been one of Simon’s issues since he’s been a Cat.

Hitting targets is one of the non negotiables as turn overs are gold to opposition teams.

Agree that Simon should be given every opportunity as he showed a lot in other areas on Friday. However, until he improves his decision making and delivery methinks he’ll battle to become a top 22 player. Really hope it’s not too late as he brings other attributes to the table.

I reckon Ling had license to just win the ball and kick in hope to clear the area last year and back his team mates to make a contest up the ground.

That's an interesting comment. I was screaming for that late in 2010.
We were starting to be too predictable.
I wanted us to back in the class we had over the ground to win the contest.

And if you watch the saints final again (I wouldn't) there was a definite change after half time to do this. Which I think got us back into it.