DidaksLeftFoot

Oct 5, 2004
Save Didak. Drink water.
Everton, NY Knicks, MVFC
Watched him like a hawk from the stands, the boy is officially special. Must have set up, by my count at least 6 goals directly by hand or foot. Was physical towards the ball and the man, his skills are so silky it gives me that 'funny feeling' downunder.

yeh he was great to watch, even though didnt get a goal, his work rate was probably worth quite a few. Had most goal assists and I think he had the most tackles for the pies too. Very very impressed.

M42 he gets tagged every game and pretty heavily. He was pretty quiet possesion wise and struggled forward without the likes of Tarrant and T.Cloke aruond. His move in the midfield was a great coaching move. His work in the centre square pretty much launched our turnaround.
His 16 possesions were worth more than Black's 27.

jabso said:
M42 he gets tagged every game and pretty heavily. He was pretty quiet possesion wise and struggled forward without the likes of Tarrant and T.Cloke aruond. His move in the midfield was a great coaching move. His work in the centre square pretty much launched our turnaround.
His 16 possesions were worth more than Black's 27.
i know he gets tagged every week, but i said good tag. There are games where he does very little because he is to preoccupied with dualing with his tagger etc. I think (not 100% sure tho) that the west coast game was an example of this. I do however agree that he doesnt need many possesions to hurt the oposition. Having said that, true champions (ie buckley) make there own space and do there own things with out the aid of tarrant and t.cloke etc, if didak is ever going to be held in as high regard as daicos he is going to have to improve in this regard.
DOnt get me wrong he is one of our better players but hasnt hit his full potential just yet!

There's not many defenders that play as tight as one of the most hated players in the competition in Robert Copeland, Dids pulled his pants down last night!

Some of his passes to leading forwards were ridiculous!

Went into the middle in the last quarter when the game was up for grab and provided the team with a real spark.

Didak was brilliant last night, he directly gave buckley 3 of his 6 goals, my count was 6 goal assists plus he hit buckley lace out when the skipper fluffed his kick on goal!!

great game for dids, after buckley he was the pies best last night IMO

doppleganger said:
Didak was brilliant last night, he directly gave buckley 3 of his 6 goals, my count was 6 goal assists plus he hit buckley lace out when the skipper fluffed his kick on goal!!

great game for dids, after buckley he was the pies best last night IMO

Didak is brilliant, most definately more of a player than Nick Stevens

BTW, that Buckley kick... WTF haha. More than made up for it with an overhead mark! :eek: Neither mattered, I was laughing by then

Very crabby beforehand though!

The last quarter when Didak, Burns and Davis were pitted at the centre bounces against Voss, Akermanis and Black was a delight. To see us dominate the clearances against Brisbane's Hall of Fame trio was our season in a nutshell.

I was very disappointed to not see Didak and Burns get more publicity for their performances on Saturday night. Besides Buckley, they were the most influential players on the field probably along with Aker.

Thongdam said:
Yeah Aker was good, but didn't you just love watching Leon give him the runaround in the first Q?

Loved Leon's work in the first quarter....especially the one where he held Aker off the contest so that (I think it was Brodie) we could run in to an open goal.

Unlike most Pies supporters I am an Aker fan (as long as I don't have to listen to him speak)....love the way he goes about his football.

Collingwoodrow said:
Unlike most Pies supporters I am an Aker fan (as long as I don't have to listen to him speak)....love the way he goes about his football.

I'm with you on this one. However, I'm sure you also you prefer it when we get the better of him.:thumbsu:

Very valuable player but very much a poor man's Daicos. I hate the comparisons basically because of the gulf between them.

A (regular) good day for Daicos as a forward was 6 goals and a very good day was, well ask John Gastev. A good day for Daicos as a midfielder was 30 possessions under heavy tag as the main midfield target for the opposition.

A good day for Didak is 4 or 5 goals but they are few and far between. A good day for Didak as a midfielder is 20 or so with pretty much no tag. By Didak's age Daicos was already far and away ahead of where we hope Didak can get to. Daicos won 2 Copelands as a midfielder and kicked 97 goals as a forward in 1990 all after Mathews told him footy had passed him by after knee and stress fracture injuries took care of two years or so of his footy.

If Buckley is our greatest modern player he'd be beating Daicos to the tag and it wouldn't be certain that he does. I saw all of Daicos’ career from his start in the reserves and much of it at close quarters from the pocket at the Yarra Falls end of Vic. Park. The bloke was simply amazing. He was unfairly classed as inconsistent for much of his career. He played much of that time as a half forward flanker which was the definitive inconsistent position. They used to call it starvation corner. The amount of times I saw him “fluke” 3, 4 or 5 in a quarter or a half to turn a game I lost count of.

That said, I am very glad we have Didak and not Nick Stevens and I love to watch him use his magic and give a bit of cheek. As many great moments as Daicos provided, those 2 late goals of Didak's and the hand to the ear at the crowd v Brisbane in the QF of 2003 rank right up there with anything bar the 1990 flag (or Daicos breaking the ice that day to send us on our way).

Daicos played his best football at the end of his career.. If Didak has a consistent two years, there is no reason why he can't be compared to Peter Daicos. The Macedonian Marvel said Didak could be an absolute superstar by the time he turns 27, with the extra experience and knowledge. I agree with Daicos.

IMO, Didak is a better defensive player than Daicos. I don't remember Daicos doing much defensive work when he was up forward, not as much as Dids anyway!

Mark, Daicos is better than Didak, but Didak is 23!

Daicos was born in 1961.

By the time he turned 23 (the end of the ’84 season) he had already led the goal kicking twice: 1981 (76), 1982 (58) and won a Copeland (1982). He won his second Copeland in 1988 after his come back from stress fractures and knee injury. He then led the goal kicking a further 3 times: 1990 (97), 1991 (75), 1992 (57).

I am a fan of Didak but Daicos was an all time Collingwood great and looked every inch of that from a very early age. To put 1990 into perspective, he sits with Mathews as a small forward to get close to the ton.

I have doubts Didak will retire with a Copleland and a 76 goal season let alone match Daicos' post 23 career. People think Daicos was a forward. He won 2 B&Fs as a midfielder. It is unlikely we will see another to match him (or Buckley).

MarkT said:
To put 1990 into perspective, he sits with Mathews as a small forward to get close to the ton.

...and Jeffrey Farmer.

Daicos was much better than Didak is, or probably will be. Doesn't make Didak a bad player though, there are heaps of guys that won't ever be as good as Daicos. this comparison is way out of line though, Didak rightly says he feels embarrassed by it.

rick James said:
...and Jeffrey Farmer.
Farmer’s best was 76 goals in 2000. That’s not close to the century. Daicos kicked that many as a 19 year old and then kicked 75 in 1991 as a 29 year old when Collingwood barely won a game.

MarkT said:
Farmer’s best was 76 goals in 2000. That’s not close to the century. Daicos kicked that many as a 19 year old and then kicked 75 in 1991 as a 29 year old when Collingwood barely won a game.

it's close-ish

rick James said:
it's close-ish
Like 6th is close-ish to a flag. You can see it from there but you can’t touch it and it fades into obscurity sooner than a snow bunny's virginity on goat sacrifice night in the Longroom.

The Longroom sucks ass.

Anyway, I was thinking a bit about who didak reminded me of today, it certainly isn't Daicos.

but the more I see Didak mature the more he resembles a young Adem Yze I reckon. Deadly one on one with a loose ball around, Deadly on the wing, Deadly in front of goals - excellent skills, freakish awareness, excellent pace.

Yep, I reckon he's more Yze than Daicos.

MarkT said:
And both a bit soft for my liking.

It's one way of looking at it, but when you've got guys like Licuria, Burns etc. it's always good to have a class act like didak around to finish off.

Sir Alan Didaicos