Skilled Stadium standing room

• Thread starter Thread starter catattack

I have a seat (just near the opp supporters cheer squad on the terrace) but often end up in standing room when I go with friends. You hear and see some funny stuff there. A highlight this round were a north supporter saying "When are they going to do this bloody ground up?" Obviously given the state of Arden st he'd never seen a stand under construction before (and he also missed the fact that Brayshaw would give his firstborn for a ground like Skilled). The other highlight was the bloke in footy shorts and jumper wearing a blond wig - now that's commitment.

joined.
awesome.
whether it's rain, hail or shine, i stand every week so this group fits me like a glove...

The other highlight was the bloke in footy shorts and jumper wearing a blond wig - now that's commitment.

I saw this bloke too when i went on a beer run before the game started, very impressed!

My highlight of the standing room on the weekend was the not-so-sober lady who said, and i don't exaggerate, 150 times during the match - "Kangaroos can't swim"

Now what that had to do with footy i'm not so sure, but she was very insistent that Kangaroos can't swim...

Done. I love the standing room.

Standing there with a beer in each hand freezing my arse off is great.

Selwood_14;14538092]I saw this bloke too when i went on a beer run before the game started, very impressed!

My highlight of the standing room on the weekend was the not-so-sober lady who said, and i don't exaggerate, 150 times during the match - "Kangaroos can't swim"

Now what that had to do with footy i'm not so sure, but she was very insistent that Kangaroos can't swim...

I must have been right near ya mate, I believe she said that once for every can she'd sunk....

Did anyone else see Tim Rogers in the outer at the weekend?

Massive Roos fan, just standing in the thick of it with the punters.

I saw him.
He was standing about 8 metres to my left...
He loves those Aviators...

Actually kangaroos can swim. :)

Tim was there with a friend of a friend. God it's a small world.

Did anyone else see Tim Rogers in the outer at the weekend?

Massive Roos fan, just standing in the thick of it with the punters.

Saw him then later casually told my mate. He went nuts and spent the rest of the arvo trying to spot him as he is a massive fan.

Standing room rocks!

An avid sports fan since childhood, Rogers has been known to enjoy a game of Australian rules football, most recently playing in the Community Cup charity match for the Annual Sacred Heart Mission, Melbourne in 2005. He is also a very vocal supporter of the North Melbourne Football Club, joining in the fight against the Australian Football League's push to relocate the club to the Gold Coast, Queensland, including hosting a benefit concert called 'Roo-sistence', featuring You Am I, T'N'T as well as many other popular Australian rock bands
from wiki

haha i spotted tim rogers and he was standing a few rows in front of me, it was funny seeing other people stare at this tall, slanky rocker dude with huge aviators, leather jacket and hat on haha

And to think that Jet started off as a You Am I cover band! Their only redeeming feature is that fact that bass player is a Cat. Not sure on the other three...

Makes you wonder about Magic Dirt actually..they're from Geelong.

i wish there was more standing room, i grew up with that.. city end should go back further with standing room. also when they say sell out, in the standing room area no way is it full.i remember going in the early 90's and back then they packed em in

And to think that Jet started off as a You Am I cover band! Their only redeeming feature is that fact that bass player is a Cat. Not sure on the other three...

Makes you wonder about Magic Dirt actually..they're from Geelong.
2 of the people in jet are both from geelong and barrack for geelong

i wish there was more standing room, i grew up with that.. city end should go back further with standing room. also when they say sell out, in the standing room area no way is it full.i remember going in the early 90's and back then they packed em in

I remember the last time we played Essendon down at Skilled late in 1993, they were asking people to bunch up in the outer to let more people in. Think they had over 35,000 in that day. :thumbsu: