Injury Sloane appendicitis

• Thread starter Thread starter Bob Neil

Will Sloane play and more importantly, pickles in burgers?

• Sloane - unstoppable like the Terminator

Votes: 45 62.5%
  • Sloane - even Batman had to get stitched up

Votes: 11 15.3%
  • Yes, burgers should have pickles, you monster

Votes: 33 45.8%
  • No, pickles are against all that is good and holy

Votes: 16 22.2%

Mine was more like eddie's I could barely move for over a week, wouldn't have played footy for a month. Maybe I'm soft?
If Sloane's didn't burst and they did keyhole surgery could be ok

Not trolling here - I had keyhole 2 yrs ago just before it was going to burst & missed 5 weeks of footy. Obviously this is a much different situation, i was surprised when Eddie lined up for the showdown, i'd be staggered if Sloane was fit enough in 9 days. He will likely be in hospital until Thursday and will be lucky to do much moving before Sat/Sunday

Love that some Power supporters are trying to take an angle on this along the lines of "I bet we don't hear anything but how brave Sloane is".

He's having surgery you derps! He's not playing it up !! We aren't putting our best player into hospital for a headline or motivation.

Last edited by a moderator:

Not trolling here - I had keyhole 2 yrs ago just before it was going to burst & missed 5 weeks of footy. Obviously this is a much different situation, i was surprised when Eddie lined up for the showdown, i'd be staggered if Sloane was fit enough in 9 days. He will likely be in hospital until Thursday and will be lucky to do much moving before Sat/Sunday
No problems mate, yeah would be a great effort by Sloaney to get up, given that Betts did it in 12-13 days and from the sound of it was worse, there is some hope. But I won't be planning on seeing him play

From what I recall, Betts was touch and go right up until the day of the game, so I wouldn't be too confident of Sloane being able to get up to play in only 9 days.

Has anyone had their appendix out? How long were you below 100% for?

Hard to picture him getting tackled by Mumford within 9 days. I once fell asleep on the remote control and needed a week off work.

Appendix is no biggie if it doesn't burst. Back on the running track/bike next day I reckon, and avoid doing anything that will blow out the stitches until it's started healing over. Surely he'll play next Thursday, would be half a chance of playing this weekend if it was a Sunday game.

Does anyone know if Eddie Betts had an Open Appendectomy or Laparoscopic Appendectomy,
I heard 3rd/4th hand it was Open Appendectomy,
And will/is/has Rory Sloane undergoing a Laparoscopic Appendectomy

Open appendectomy, a surgeon makes one incision in the lower right side of your abdomen. Your appendix is removed and the wound is closed with stiches. This procedure allows your doctor to clean the abdominal cavity if your appendix has burst

Laparoscopic appendectomy, a surgeon accesses the appendix through a few small incisions in your abdomen. A small, narrow tube called a cannula will then be inserted. The cannula is used to inflate your abdomen with carbon dioxide gas. This gas allows the surgeon to see your appendix more clearly

Laparoscopic appendectomy generally has a shorter recovery time.

I think you have to have open surgery if the appendix bursts - have to clear out diseased tissue and insert a drain amongst other things. Can't do all of this using keyhole surgery methods

Appendix is no biggie if it doesn't burst. Back on the running track/bike next day I reckon, and avoid doing anything that will blow out the stitches until it's started healing over. Surely he'll play next Thursday, would be half a chance of playing this weekend if it was a Sunday game.
Is this an informed opinion?

If Sloane does play, you'd imagine GWS will 'test out' his gut every opportunity

Will need protection from his teammates

It beggars belief that Port didn't seem to target Betts at all the other week

It's the way things work. Mackay was about to be squeezed out.

Clearly it is written by the Football Gods that that is not allowed to happen.

So this pops up.

This is why the crows go badly, can we not read the will of the gods, stop bagging mackay FFS! Start bowing down to him and we'll win the grandy, bookmark it!

If Sloane does play, you'd imagine GWS will 'test out' his gut every opportunity

Will need protection from his teammates

It beggars belief that Port didn't seem to target Betts at all the other week

That's because they couldn't lay a hand on him to try :D

You're not meant to exercise for 2 weeks after the surgery let alone play AFL football.
6 weeks to get near fully recovered.
Betts was right on the 2 week time period and they let him jump straight to playing.
9 days is asking a lot. It's easy for us to sit here saying it'll be fine.

Sloane though, I don't see him accepting missing the game.
What the doctors say will be the decider.

From what I recall, Betts was touch and go right up until the day of the game, so I wouldn't be too confident of Sloane being able to get up to play in only 9 days.
Betts burst his. From the sound of it sloane didnt. The surgery involved (amount of cutting) and the clean up (what comes out is extremely septic, can cause death, and all trace must be removed) is vastly different (from my limited knowledge)
But yeah, huge doubt anyway

and people wonder why I am so negative and doom and gloom.. its cos of crap like this!! unbelievable hey .. the crow curse strikes again!!!!!!!!
No Sloane no crows
Just so you know, some studies have shown that bad things happen at more than the baseline frequency to people who are pessimistic. Which is to say, you may be attracting these negative events to yourself and, more importantly, to the crows! Grrr.

He wasn't really. He'd done all the training that week and just had a strong competitive hit out on the Saturday morning. Also, Eddie had a burst appendix. If Sloane's wasn't burst, odds are he'll have the keyhole surgery.

I think he will play. Rowey had the same operation on a Monday and played on Saturday and Sloaney is without a doubt one of the toughest players I have ever seen.

Remember the theory that was kicking around after Phil died that we were watching an ESPN movie unfold in real time? The one that started with Phil and ended with Tex hoisting the cup?

We've got to be in the final act of that film now. Surely. The script always has hope seemingly lost before the miracle ending - so whatever happens, we are still going to win that flag.

Unless the real world is not like the movies. But it is. So there.