So many talls!!!!!! (who will be traded)

TheClokes

Apr 7, 2005
In Berlin, by the wall
Lord Auch
Tristan Walker
Tom Davidson
Anthony Rocca
Brent Hall
Josh Fraser
David Fanning
Travis Cloke
Simon Prestigiacomo
Guy Richards
Jason Cloke
Chris Tarrant
Bill Morrison
Cameron Cloke
Shane Wakelin​

Having a lot of talls is not a bad thing.
A good tall is better than a good mid (IMO)
Having said that I could reduce it by three by trading or delisting, and possibly pick up a couple of 3rd or 4th round picks in the process

These 3 could go easily
Walker
Morrison
Hall

None likely this year. Billy Morrison could get traded or delisted.

At the end of 2006 the talls will be under a lot more scrutiny than they will be at the end of this year, as they will be at a stage of their careers where their value will be better known.

hotpie said:
None likely this year. Billy Morrison could get traded or delisted.

At the end of 2006 the talls will be under a lot more scrutiny than they will be at the end of this year, as they will be at a stage of their careers where their value will be better known.

That would put Walker into year 7.
Only 3 more for long service and he will still be 15 games short of 50

Murray said:
That would put Walker into year 7.

Must have been a gun recruit when we drafted him at age 14.

He'll be just 21 years old at the start of season 2006.

Idiot

hotpie said:
Must have been a gun recruit when we drafted him at age 14.

He'll be just 21 years old at the start of season 2006.

Idiot

Sorry out by 1 year.
By the end of 06 he will be entering into year 6 (2007) not entering into year 7 as I said.

2001 - Drafted
2002 =1
2003 =2
2004 =3
2005 =4
2006 =5
2007 =6

So he will be 4 years away from long service and still be under 50 games.
Birth date 11 April 1984. He will be 23 April 07

Arse wipe

At the start of 2006 he will be 21.

Wipe your own arse, idiot.

If he still underperforms by the end of 2006 he's up for review.

Murray said:
Sorry out by 1 year.
So he will be 4 years away from long service and still be under 50 games.
Birth date 11 April 1984. He will be 23 April 07
What does he go back a few days each birthday?
Clown

TheClokes said:
Tristan Walker
Tom Davidson
Anthony Rocca
Brent Hall
Josh Fraser
David Fanning
Travis Cloke
Simon Prestigiacomo
Guy Richards
Jason Cloke
Chris Tarrant
Bill Morrison
Cameron Cloke
Shane Wakelin​
How long have Brent Hall and Morrison been on our list for?? If 3 or more years time to go I would say. Jason and Cameron need to go IMO. Apart from that everyone else there should stay except if we can snap up a star CHF or CHB in the pre season.

I remember reading after we beat WCE (who, by the way, are on top of the AFL ladder), that Brent Hall will be in the mix for a senior game this year.

He sounds like an impressive package - 198 cms, 98kgs. He apparently is vey good on the deck and is pretty aggressive. Doesn't mean he can get the ball though.

Morrison is a worry though. I know he is considered young, but he has shown no real signs of developing. He was taken with pick 17, although there wasn't much after him.

Can't beleive we got Rowe at pick 60 that year.

TheClokes said:
Tristan Walker
Tom Davidson
Anthony Rocca
Brent Hall
Josh Fraser
David Fanning
Travis Cloke
Simon Prestigiacomo
Guy Richards
Jason Cloke
Chris Tarrant
Bill Morrison
Cameron Cloke
Shane Wakelin​

Out of all these billy morrison will be delisted at the end of the year.

He shows absolutely nothing.

Keep the rest, some of them ? over them though.

Ill wait and see this weekend's willy game to see what hall is like, thats if he is selected in the seniors.

Tristan Walker - To Be determined.. still young can improve and be very very good.. 1 more year after this
Tom Davidson - Has the potential and everything else, a good run with injury would help.. this might be his last
Anthony Rocca - its anthony permanent
Brent Hall - looks good with his physical attributes.. havent seen to much of him.. Two after this
Josh Fraser - permanent in side
David Fanning - could be good or bad.. 1 after this
Travis Cloke - looks the goods - permanent
Simon Prestigiacomo - 'd say he'd only have at the maz three years left
Guy Richards - looks good when goin - permanent
Jason Cloke - dumped after this year i say
Chris Tarrant - permanent
Bill Morrison - 1 after this.. still young enough
Cameron Cloke - 1 after this if no improvement
Shane Wakelin - last on e or maybe one more.. too old but still good

As you see we dont have many top line forwards but some nice looking ones who could be anything. Most are unproven and doubtful..

sebastien said:
don't think anyone will go this year

Maybe one out of Fanning and Hall will go in the future

I reckon Collingwood will put the older clokes on the table. C Cloke would be a pickup, I reckon the Hawks would have him in a second.

I'm sure Malthouse is pulling his hair out waiting for one of your young big blokes to start to really show something (I'm not counting T Cloke because all the clokes seem to have had their best year in their first year).

Might be time to start the StKilda, Geel, Rich and Hawthorn, process of rebuilding.

Flog off Tarrant (sorry haven't heard if they're in contract), Fraser (always hurt) Clokes, Didak, Walker, and anyone else older than 27 that you can get a top 20 pick for. You'd could end up with 4 picks in the top ten, 7 picks in the top 20 and Dal Santo (a 10 year player). I reckon you guys are going to have some money to throw around at the end of this year and pick up some quality young players. Please no Hawks!

It wouldn't take long before the pies would be back in the sky.
2 years tops. And in the meantime it's bloody exciting to watch.

I don't want to offend anyone by adding my thoughts to Collingwoods site, just thoughts.

Good luck this weekend, I hope it's a ripper.

FIGJAM said:
Take it easy on Hally. He's a better prospect IMO than everyone thinks.

Still plenty to learn, but he's got some serious attributes!

I agree FIGJAM he is only 19 leave him alone I see BIG things for Brent.

you guys are ********in kiddin me arent you?

chopping players before they get to 22/24..... look at gaspar at the eagles. all the potential in the world and a horror run but when you can put the guy on a base contract and save money whilst still holdin onto a good player (potentially) so other clubs cant touch them then youre doin the right thing.

lets remember one m. tuck played a 100? games of reserves people. not everyone is a chris judd play afl rd 2 and win a brownlow in 2yrs time

lighten up!

some good talls to come soon too so we may even get more :eek:

Delist Bill Morrison. He just doesn't look to have anything. Projects are one thing but rebuilds are out of the question. Cut our losses.

Trade Walker. He's had long enough to show signs of being able to read the game and he's shown none. He's a good size and decent athlete so he would get some sort of price.

Jason Cloke (is he a tall?) should be kept for depth but he should mostly play for Willi.

Hall gets another assessment year. I keep hearing he has attributes but when I've seen at Willi he hasn't shown anything. We can take account of circumstances for now though.

Fanning is a problem. I'd like to keep working on him but his 2 rookie years are up and he'd have to be listed. If we risked re-rookie listing him he'd be snapped up in the draft.

Richards is the tough one. If he can't get fit he's a liability because he takes a tall spot and makes it less likely we will recruit a ruckman which we desperately need. Depending on offers we should consider a trade but it would have to be a decent deal because he has "potential". Gotta give to get though - ask your missus/partner about it.

Davidson gets another year due to big upside but another injury and he has to go.

If anyone thinks we should offload Cameron Cloke I'll shoot 'em. He adds some grunt to the embarrassingly meekest Collingwood side I’ve ever seen. Give him a good 2 years at CHF to learn how to use his frame, which should be stronger by then. Move Ant to FF and play Cameron at CHF with Travis on a flank and up the ground swapping with Tarrant and we will have a flexible and dangerous forward line when you throw in Fraser, Caracella and Didak.

The rest are all givens except that I remain open to Tarrant offers if they can snare what we most need - Judd/Dal Santo etc.

Short term I'm sure we have room for both Fanning and Richards. Eventually one may have to go, but if we get rid of one now its guaranteed to be the wrong one. They'll be both very valuable trading value at the end of 2006.

We're screaming for talls players, with Rocca out and Tarrant playing injured, not to mention three of the skinniest ruckmen I've ever seen. Geez you could stickytape Fanning Fraser and Richards together and they'd still weigh less than McKee.

Remember Stunning Steve was able to make an impression as a ruckman because he refused to give ground (goodness knows he wasn't there forn speed, skills or brains). There is value in a big man's bigness.

Presti has had a rare injury, and although Wakes is playing fine footy (he has improved almost every year at Collingwood, a fine recruit) he is past 30, so we need an apprentice.

All the youngsters should stay until they definitely prove they can't play. If Billy Morrison's number is up, so be it. All the Clokes must stay for at least another year: Cam is the mean streak we need (too true MarkT), and Jason is a finals performer (just not at CHF).

Cripes if we could only have swiped Fraser Gehrig and Spider way back, we'd be 10 places higher on the ladder and maybe a flag or two richer.

I don't think we need to reduce our tall timber, we may need one or two more extras just in case.

So many talls!!!!!! (who will be traded)