dezzie#14

Jul 21, 2003
Vic
essendon, Pistons
A mate of mine said that Solomon and Jacobs have refused two contract offers, and i heard it was in the paper. Does anyone know anymore on the matter?

It is true :(
Negotiations have been put on hold untill the seasons end.
If we lose Jacobs, then Henneman will have to play :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: !
If it is awkward then we could definately get something good for Solomon!

Ha

Yea its true my friend told me 2day but he is full of it so i thought he was trying to get me mad but now seing this it looks like its true. But i reckon both of them will re-sign like Brent Harvey

Position Vacant

Backline KPP

An up and coming team that has a young and exciting midfield awaits you. Excellent facilites abound this proud club. We offer excellent remuneration and genuine premiership chances.

The successful candidate will be young but must have completed their apprenticeship with excellent results. They also must be able to hold down a KPP for a number of years.

If your initials aren't DJ, please don't waste your time applying.

contact John Worsfold at WCEFC

I don't know what the club would want to give up, but plenty of Eagles supporters rate Jacobs.

Maybe 1st round pick (about 15th)? Maybe a player as well - say a Adkins, Lynch, Read, Morrison etc?

It also depends on whether or not Jaobs wants to leave (most likely he'll stay). If Jacobs wanted to leave, Essendon's bargaining power could be diminished.

What do you guys think he's worth?

I couldn't stand losing another of our good players to the salary cap.

I reckon Joey will be the one to miss out.

But Hypothetically - Kerr for Jacobs? You have a healthy midfield already, need KPP.

i hope that they resign i am not sure how much weight they would hold in a trade, most teams would take either of them as they are versitile to play most positions. I rate both highly and would not really want to give them away for draft picks as we have a young side and more youngsters will make it harder for the generational change happening at the moment

I don't think losing one established player a year is a bad thing.

What it allows you to do is improve your position in the draft. Like last year when we had two first round picks. You really only need two or three blokes that you draft to stand up for your club over a long period, the others (by nature of number of players on a list being limited) are expendable.

So if you look at the players born in 1980... Solomon, Jacobs, Ramanauskas, Henneman. So one of these players could be moved on without too many concerns.

Last year gives you an indication of what can happen if you trade a player. Our selection of players born in 1984 Winderlich, Walsh, Layc ock, O'Keefe. That is an excellent set of players... 1 KPP, 2 midfielders and 1 ruckman.

So I don't mind if we trade a KPP and try to pick up another 1st round draft pick. Plus improving our picks if McVeigh and Harvey want to move on. We could add some players to our list born in 1985 to complement young Watson. Let them all develop, keep the best and trade the rest.

Can I also state that it is better for the club to trade an established player rather than a kid showing potential. However this only applies if we have a young fella ready to take the spot. For example, trade Solomon, who is an excellent player with excellent market value. Will be a loss, but at present isn't required in the backline and we have good young specialised midfielders coming through to replace him. Rather than Henneman, who hasn't had as much chance to develop and market value is zilch, but may (like McPhee) prove to be a real winner in the future.

Originally posted by Rogue Bomber

What it allows you to do is improve your position in the draft. Like last year when we had two first round picks. You really only need two or three blokes that you draft to stand up for your club over a long period, the others (by nature of number of players on a list being limited) are expendable.

So if you look at the players born in 1980... Solomon, Jacobs, Ramanauskas, Henneman. So one of these players could be moved on without too many concerns.

Last year gives you an indication of what can happen if you trade a player. Our selection of players born in 1984 Winderlich, Walsh, Layc ock, O'Keefe. That is an excellent set of players... 1 KPP, 2 midfielders and 1 ruckman.

So I don't mind if we trade a KPP and try to pick up another 1st round draft pick. Plus improving our picks if McVeigh and Harvey want to move on. We could add some players to our list born in 1985 to complement young Watson. Let them all develop, keep the best and trade the rest.

Can I also state that it is better for the club to trade an established player rather than a kid showing potential. However this only applies if we have a young fella ready to take the spot. For example, trade Solomon, who is an excellent player with excellent market value. Will be a loss, but at present isn't required in the backline and we have good young specialised midfielders coming through to replace him. Rather than Henneman, who hasn't had as much chance to develop and market value is zilch, but may (like McPhee) prove to be a real winner in the future.

How about NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Why is there this necessity to trade - Jacobs and Solomon should be untouchable - really unless they wanted to leave. Banking on youth is good - but by that philosiphy we have to have 1-2 young players step up each year as a minimum - not to mention offsetting any retirements. Essendon has bled enough - The list is good enough - but we can;t rely on unproven talent stepping up - look how long Bolton took!!!!

but by that philosiphy we have to have 1-2 young players step up each year as a minimum - not to mention offsetting any retirements.

This is exactly what EFC have done for the last few years.

You retire 1-2 players a year
You trade 1-2 players a year
You delist 1-2 players a year
You reduce the time 1 senior player is getting in the squad to reduce the loss of his retirement and blood his replacement
You earmark 1-2 young kids to come into the line-up for the entire season
You draft the best 5-6 young kids that you can

If you don't do this you will never know how good your young kids can be (because they need to know they have a shot at senior footy).

This year the young guys given the opportunity permanently were Welsh and Hille (IMO)

Next year the young guys to step up for a permanent spot from game one of the season could be Henneman, Bullen, Richards, Harvey, Winderlich, Walsh, Watson, Layc ock, O'keefe... etc.

If you don't make the room in the senior list, than these blokes won't get the regular spot that they deserve. And you end up with 4-5 guys retireing in the one year.

Heck, why do you think that it was Caracella, Heffernan and Blumfield that got moved on last year. One of the reasons is that they were all born 1977-1979. So were Lucas, JJ, MJ, Lloydy, Rioli, Bolton, McGrath. Can you imagine the impact on the club if we let all of those guys grow old and retire together.... you simply cannot afford to do it under the current system and maintain the competiveness of the club (as Sheeds has so brilliantly done).

Look, I know it sucks.... really sucks... but this is not a local league. It has a draft and a salary cap. Them's are the rules and the EFC plays by them better than anyone.

Please look back over what the club has done the last 3-4 years during the off-season and tell me that this isn't why the club's future is still looking so good after 6 years in the top 8.

Selective trading - it need not be done every season. Look at our list 1999-2001 barely changed - only fringe players were traded. We can still do the same - guys like Jacobs/Solomon are too important to just trade at the drop of a hat. You have to remember that players are also friends and if you ruthlessly offload teammates it creates dissension in the ranks.

You retire 1-2 players a year

Barnard, Alessio

You trade 1-2 players a year

Any of Henneman, Harvey, Forster-Knight, McGrath, McVeigh, Jacobs, Solomon

You delist 1-2 players a year

Davies, Bannister, Howard, Hall

You reduce the time 1 senior player is getting in the squad to reduce the loss of his retirement and blood his replacement

Misiti, Mercuri

You earmark 1-2 young kids to come into the line-up for the entire season

Bullen, Haynes, Richards

You draft the best 5-6 young kids that you can

To be determined.

soloman and jacobs are only in their early 20's! trading them would be mad.
as would rioli, although we're still waiting on his consistancy he has a definate touch of class.
lucas is essential at CHB now.
the only players that we should be looking to trade are:
- McVeigh - handy player but of the current list of offcontract is the most expendible.
- McGrath - doesn't get any game time anyway
- Forster-Knight - if anyone wants him, otherwise delist
- Harvey - not much game time, great player would be great to keep but what is the use if he's being wasted in the VFL.

Misiti will be resigned on a diminished contract, he wouldn't want to leave after playing for 10 years now.
Hird goes on the veterans list, freeing up a lot of cash.
Mercuri will (or should) take at least a 50% pay cut, i doubt it'll be that much but he will take one (hopefully)

hopefully that gives enough to resign the majority of the off-contract players, may be one extra player may need to be traded (more if misiti retains his current contract value and mercuri doesn't take a pay cut.
Haynes will remain on the senior list.

The players I would consider delisting/trading/retiring:

Definately
- Barnard: he has gone missing. Has no position in the side.
- McGrath, Harvey: this was their last year to step up in my opinion and the other young guys (Richards, Haynes, Bullen, Reynolds, Bannister, RFK) did better.

Maybe
- Misiti: only if salary cap demands it. We've had a good ten years together but we need the younger group of players to stay together if we are going to improve next year.
- Alessio: would be getting paid very little and is our only experienced ruckman. Other than Hille our other ruckmen are still teenagers.

Wouldn't be surprised if Hird and Mercs are getting almost $2million between em next year (only half counted) - so it will have no real impact on easing the cap from this year to next.

Want to keep Harvey and all those (apart from Henneman) who are in the 22.

Others like RFK/McGrath are expendable.

The players I would consider delisting/trading/retiring:

Definately
- Barnard: he has gone missing. Has no position in the side.
- McGrath, Harvey: this was their last year to step up in my opinion and the other young guys (Richards, Haynes, Bullen, Reynolds, Bannister, RFK) did better.

Harvey ?????? definately, you have got to be kidding. :confused:

The only reason to move Harvey on is if he definately wants to go. Otherwise you have just delisted a future good player.

This is only his second year on the list. During this year he has spent the majority of time in the VFL. During that time he has been named in the best on ground numerous times. This is the way that EFC develop most of their players. Only a few are considered good enough to skip this time of development (A Welsh for example).

You need to compare him to RFK who has been on the list 4 years. And what about Davies (3 years for bugger all games and bugger all best of's in the VFL). And even Bannister is a year older and hasn't shown much more... He would go IMO before we delivered Harvey on a platter to another club.

Sorry, But unless your comment is based on him wanting to leave the club than I reckon it is a pretty poor call.

Logic, common sense and not sucked in by emotion.

One of the best posts I've seen on BigFooty all year.

If you could stick to this you would never miss the finals, never be over the cap and would be in contention for a flag practically every year.

The key point is you must move on good players. No-one wants too, but if Welsh could do the same job as Solomon, cost less and you can get a draft pick upgrade for him, it makes good sense.

Sorry, But unless your comment is based on him wanting to leave the club than I reckon it is a pretty poor call.

It's more based on the fact that sheedy doesn't seem to want to play him as much as he does the other players and he would get a better opporrtunity at other clubs. I didn't realise this was only his second year so I was a little harsh.

As for the other players you mentioned:

Davies - would not notice if he was delisted. I would have put him in the gone list if I had of remembered him.

RFK - not a superstar but still contributes to the side when played. He is good to have on the list when the injuries start to stack up. As a small backman he allows MJ to be played in the middle.

Bannister - not sure about his future but always looks like he is trying his hardest. Like RFK can fill in when we get injuries.

IMO, Smokin' Joe has had his day (sorry Joey) & so has Mercs (again apologies). Barnard and Alessio have also be loyal servants but are no longer required. Unless they want out, no team in their right mind would trade Jacobs or Solomon, as they both still have many great years ahead of them ,and make up possibly the best backline in the competition.
RFK,Bannister,Davies are the "fringe" players mentioned in this thread, as is McGrath although I'd hate to see him go 'cos I think given game time, he has so much potential as does Harvey. Richards ,Bullen , Haynes ,Reynolds are part of a bright future for our Bombers (does anyone else in the competition have foot skills as good as Haynes?)
Mc Veigh (as much as I like him ) could be traded & I'm not much of a fan of Henneman.
Just my two cents...

Solomon and Jacobs