Some Perspective Please !

It's been interesting to sit back and digest the review from many Cats supporters but I think we should all keep things in perspective ... Bomber did'nt exactly look gutted and I suspect that whilst we saw close to the full repetoire from StK the Cats definately held back some cards. Here's my take on how it all unfolded - just an opinion.

(1) Check out the first qtr - we started with Ablett and Bartel outside the centre square and Mumford in the ruck and by the 15min mark we're 5 goals down. I'm recalling @ 25min mark was the first time Ablett and Bartel went in for extended periods.

(2) SJ was a big loss - as some media outlets have reported, if the brownlow was'nt built around weight of posessions he'd propably be leading the count right now. His absence was one thing but what it allowed StK to do was have both Fisher and Gilbert not be as accountable (as either would have taken SJ) and they both had 25+ touches. Next time they have to sit one on SJ's clacker all day in a defensive mindset.

Make no mistake - Geelong and ever other club knows to beat StK you must limit the free run and carry from Fisher ... next time they'll need to use Gilbert as a negater against SJ and you can almost guarantee that Max Rooke will have a serious 'take out' job planned for Fisher ..... but why reveal your plans for Fisher in a Rd 14 game.

My sources tell me that SJ would have played if it was a final and quote ..."really no serious reason he did't play today other than giving him a week of that strangely coincided with a big game" ... it's called "keeping the powder dry".

(3) Next time Ottens will be fit and don't tell me for one minute that Gardner will be the difference and kick 4. More importantly he gives us another option (which we currently lack) of pushing a big bloke forward.

(4) I reckon Geelong showed their hand (or lack of) at selection by not bringing in Gamble ..... he's got a bit of x-factor and whilst they were propably tempted to play him I'd say they see him as another ace up the sleeve.

(5) For those of you turning the heat onto Hawkins - take a few minutes and think it through. His best football in recent weeks has been playing the lead up role and then quick movement inside 50m .... they pushed him wide yesterday (almost as a decoy) and hardly had him playing a lead up role. Come September I still think he has a big role to play.

(6) On a lighter note - by the time we play them in a GF (hopefully) I'm tipping that umpire Chamberlain might have received some training on the 'play on - advantage' rule and not bend us over onto 'all fours' and perform un-natural farm animal acts on us. He might also realise that in the same passage of play that it's dangerous for Ablett if his head is rammed 2 metres below the surface with 95kg strapped to his back .... afterall coal miners at least take oxygen tanks when they go underground.

Sorry - had to get that off my chest.

(7) We saw glimpses of Ablett being rested down forward but certainly not for extended periods and I can't recall too many times him being 'one out' ... which leads me to think that this still remains a big ace in the deck and will surely be something we see more of come September. Same goes for Stokes - and whilst his form has dropped off a bit - it was a move that virtually won us the game V Doggies.

Finally, for those of you with an eye on stats ..... remember that in the last 7 years the eventual premier has lost it's previous encounter (H&A) with the side it beat on the last day in September. So it's far from doom and gloom.

It's been interesting to sit back and digest the review from many Cats supporters but I think we should all keep things in perspective ... Bomber did'nt exactly look gutted and I suspect that whilst we saw close to the full repetoire from StK the Cats definately held back some cards. Here's my take on how it all unfolded - just an opinion.

(1) Check out the first qtr - we started with Ablett and Bartel outside the centre square and Mumford in the ruck and by the 15min mark we're 5 goals down. I'm recalling @ 25min mark was the first time Ablett and Bartel went in for extended periods.

(2) SJ was a big loss - as some media outlets have reported, if the brownlow was'nt built around weight of posessions he'd propably be leading the count right now. His absence was one thing but what it allowed StK to do was have both Fisher and Gilbert not be as accountable (as either would have taken SJ) and they both had 25+ touches. Next time they have to sit one on SJ's clacker all day in a defensive mindset.

Make no mistake - Geelong and ever other club knows to beat StK you must limit the free run and carry from Fisher ... next time they'll need to use Gilbert as a negater against SJ and you can almost guarantee that Max Rooke will have a serious 'take out' job planned for Fisher ..... but why reveal your plans for Fisher in a Rd 14 game.

My sources tell me that SJ would have played if it was a final and quote ..."really no serious reason he did't play today other than giving him a week of that strangely coincided with a big game" ... it's called "keeping the powder dry".

(3) Next time Ottens will be fit and don't tell me for one minute that Gardner will be the difference and kick 4. More importantly he gives us another option (which we currently lack) of pushing a big bloke forward.

(4) I reckon Geelong showed their hand (or lack of) at selection by not bringing in Gamble ..... he's got a bit of x-factor and whilst they were propably tempted to play him I'd say they see him as another ace up the sleeve.

(5) For those of you turning the heat onto Hawkins - take a few minutes and think it through. His best football in recent weeks has been playing the lead up role and then quick movement inside 50m .... they pushed him wide yesterday (almost as a decoy) and hardly had him playing a lead up role. Come September I still think he has a big role to play.

(6) On a lighter note - by the time we play them in a GF (hopefully) I'm tipping that umpire Chamberlain might have received some training on the 'play on - advantage' rule and not bend us over onto 'all fours' and perform un-natural farm animal acts on us. He might also realise that in the same passage of play that it's dangerous for Ablett if his head is rammed 2 metres below the surface with 95kg strapped to his back .... afterall coal miners at least take oxygen tanks when they go underground.

Sorry - had to get that off my chest.

(7) We saw glimpses of Ablett being rested down forward but certainly not for extended periods and I can't recall too many times him being 'one out' ... which leads me to think that this still remains a big ace in the deck and will surely be something we see more of come September. Same goes for Stokes - and whilst his form has dropped off a bit - it was a move that virtually won us the game V Doggies.

Finally, for those of you with an eye on stats ..... remember that in the last 7 years the eventual premier has lost it's previous encounter (H&A) with the side it beat on the last day in September. So it's far from doom and gloom.

Well said Jumping Jack:thumbsu:;)

Good posting and agree with much of what you say.

However I think Hawkins is in trouble - as I noticed he does not yet read the play well. Either when to lead, where to lead, where to stand when a long bomb is imminent, how to use his body to out mark the opposition and to read the play in general (when to block or get into space when the ball is being contested on the ground).

Just does not seem to have a feel for the game yet. Yesterday was like playing one man short in the forward line and his efforts would not inspire Geelong's mid-field to kick long to him.

I reckon Gamble not getting selected yesterday said a lot - and it is not looking good for Gamble. Would you pick Hogan ahead of Gamble if SJ was out ? Surely you would pick Gamble in such a big game to see where he is at ?

Great post. This last stat caught me by surprise. Amazing. Lets hope the trend continues.

The other thing I noticed was the lack of support for Taylor against Reiwoldt. Normally Harley or Milburn (who did move forward grant you) would be leaving their man and chopping him out but they were happy for Taylor to play one-on-one for the whole game, which incidently I reckon he did pretty well. Could see Scarlett play on Riewoldt next time if he became an issue.

I reckon playing at the 'G will also be to our advantage. Saints will find it a lot harder to play the tight zone they do at Etihad on the bigger ground.

[
I reckon Gamble not getting selected yesterday said a lot - and it is not looking good for Gamble. Would you pick Hogan ahead of Gamble if SJ was out ? Surely you would pick Gamble in such a big game to see where he is at ?[/quote]

I reckon you're right ..... but as I said, Gamble has some x-factor and I think Bomber propably feels after last year with no back up plans that he's got one running around in the VFL who could have a real impact for us ... when the time is right.

There has been a touch of 'predictability' about Geelong this year ..... Ottens - Gamble - SJ come grand final day might be enough to cause the opposition more headaches than what we did yesterday.

I Think Blake is too immobile and should play some VFL when otto comes back. Perhaps even next week for Westy.

James Kelly is not a defender! I would prefer Wocjinski's russian roulette style footy over him. Perhaps it's only me, but he isn't as classy as he used to be.

Tom Hawkins isn't ready, but has been playing well recently.

Tom Harley struggled early, two bad clangers hurt us.

And this one is for ray.

ad·van·tage (ād-vān'tĭj)
n.
  1. A beneficial factor or combination of factors.
  2. Benefit or profit; gain: It is to your advantage to invest wisely.
  3. A relatively favorable position; superiority of means: A better education gave us the advantage.
  4. Sports
    1. The first point scored in tennis after deuce.
    2. The resulting score.
tr.v. ad·van·taged, ad·van·tag·ing, ad·van·tag·es
To afford profit or gain to; benefit.

I Think Blake is too immobile and should play some VFL when otto comes back. Perhaps even next week for Westy.

James Kelly is not a defender! I would prefer Wocjinski's russian roulette style footy over him. Perhaps it's only me, but he isn't as classy as he used to be.

Tom Hawkins isn't ready, but has been playing well recently.

Tom Harley struggled early, two bad clangers hurt us.

And this one is for ray.

ad·van·tage (ād-vān'tĭj)

n.
  1. A beneficial factor or combination of factors.
  2. Benefit or profit; gain: It is to your advantage to invest wisely.
  3. A relatively favorable position; superiority of means: A better education gave us the advantage.
  4. Sports
    1. The first point scored in tennis after deuce.
    2. The resulting score.
tr.v. ad·van·taged, ad·van·tag·ing, ad·van·tag·es
To afford profit or gain to; benefit.

This intrigued me. Are you suggesting kelly didn't do a good job yesterday/this year down back?

Personally, i thought kelly was one of our best yesterday, blanketed milne, but also won the hard ball and was generally very clean in his play.

I think the move down back has been great for him and yesterday was another ripper game from kel, but maybe im wrong?

Kelly had 22 disposals at 77% effectiveness - pretty good given the type of game and the forward line pressure everyone has been talking about. Milne had 9 disposals, 1 goal at 56% effectiveness.

Even considering the inclusion of SJ, we'll have to see improvement across the ground by finals. That's just the nature of the beast.

We also have to factor in the possibility that Ottens might not be back. If that's the case, well so be it. Blake and Mumford will just have to do the job (unless the coaches pull something out of the bag that we don't know about).

Well played Cats.
I think both of our teams will have learnt something about the other for our next clash.
From a Saints perspective, our players now "know" it is possible to beat the Cats so you have lost a small psychological advantage, but both sides know it won't be easy.

See you in September ( I hope ).

I think that Kelly did alright yesterday - as his opponent did little IMO - and that is the main criteria to be considered when judging a backman's performance. Still had a fair bit of the ball as well.

Kelly, IMO, is no natural backman - and is a good, hard mid-fielder as amply demonstrated a few weeks back when he played in the middle. Actually I think, because he is a naturally attacking player it would suit him better to play on the HF line - or at least get a rotation there and also some time in the middle. Ablett isolated at FF would be handful for any opponent (as a rotation) - and Kelly can take his spot in the middle for a few minutes each game. Worthy of consideration I believe - especially when Hunt comes back next year.

Well said Jumping Jack:thumbsu:;)

Gabstar, your quoting of really long opening posts in the 2nd post of threads is really starting to grind my gears.

Cease and desist!

Jack, good post. :thumbsu:

After last year's grand final, we were accused of not being flexible enough. I think so far this year, we have shown we're a lot more flexible than we were:

- Kelly started his career as a midfielder, played forward in 2007 and 2008, but this year has played back, and is doing a pretty good job back there in Hunt's absence.
- Corey and Bartel have played in defence a lot more this year, usually in the Tom Harley role, and have done it well.
- Mumford has been a ruckman, but has shown he can play as a key defender if need be.
- Ablett has spent longer stints in the forward line this year than he has previously.
- Chapman, Stokes and even SJ have spent stints on the ball.
- Milburn has been used as a pinch hitter in the forward line at times
- Rooke has been a run-with midfielder, key defender, and is now an important part of our forward line
- Varcoe and Byrnes have improved out of sight, and both can play forward or through the midfield.

That's a lot more flexibility than we had at this stage last year. :thumbsu:

Milburn being up front was good, and he did quite well. Wouldnt surprise me if this is something that happens alot more often now, especially with Kelly, Corey and Bartel tending to play alot more defensivily now. Also was it me or we were at our most damaging when Chappie was on the ball more?

Also was it me or we were at our most damaging when Chappie was on the ball more?

Yes we were and it is because Chapman is our most direct footballer, he kicks the ball and he generally kicks it long. Not wanting to sound like I am from the Tommy Hafey/Sam Newman ‘kick it long’ school of thought but I do wish more players at Geelong approached their football in the same manner Chapman does. For all of Selwood's wonderful and inspiring play, he really needs to improve his disposal, it is often poor. He appears beyond reproach here and in the media, but if he wants to be the best player in the league (which he can be) he needs to watch Chapman a bit more.

Chapman is a sensible straightforward footballer who is mentally robust and reliable.

Sadly we need him more in the forward line than the midfield but he really is a fantastic rover in his own right.